We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value in Wollongong”
Review of Marketview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marketview
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed overnight in a single room (double bed). Comfortable, clean and fairly quiet. Advertised queen bed felt more like a double and aircon was a bit touchy. Plenty of free underground parking at check in time but returning after a wedding (midnight) parking was full. Luckily on street parking was free and untimed on weekends so not too much hassle. Handy location near to everything. BEST value, lowest price in Wollongong.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Marketview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 191 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a great place to stay!
We over nighted here in the middle of a long road trip. Arrived tired and a bit wrung out. Staff were really helpful, service was swift and good.
Rooms are tiny, but well fitted out, the hotel is close to everything and the staff were great.

Room Tip: Air con was noisy but not enough to keep me awake for long and it worked
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were in Wollongong for a friends wedding and stayed here for one night (Saturday night). The room was small, as others have mentioned, but it was very clean and the bed was comfy - and for $100 we thought it was excellent value. The rooms are well equipped (iron, ironing board, small fridge, window which opens for fresh air!) Secure underground parking is included in the price. I was also impressed by the customer service during check in and check out - some higher rated hotels could learn something from this place! Only negative would be that the cafe was not open on Sunday morning and we were starving as there is no other option for breakfast (we also found most of the local cafes closed, so had to hunt around for food). Overall, good stay - would stay here again if in Wollongong.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majainaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

perfection, i loved it, nice and clean, also modern ans stylish, bathroom was a perfect size and very clean nice to have a bar fridge as the weather was in the late 40's and coffee/tea facilities available were awsome

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Accommodation was basic but the room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to shops and restaurants, a little further from the waterfront.
Underground parking was included in the cost.
Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, bakery and fruit as the cafe is not yet fully operational.

Room Tip: We had a view over the Church on the Hill, very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel belongs to Wollongong University and used to be part of the IBIS chain of hotels. A friend and I stayed in a familiy room with two beds a couple of days.

The room was small, but modern and very clean.

Staff was friendly and the reception and common area look very fresh and friendly.
Seen the price and location I can only recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackwinterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ended up in Wollongong on an unplanned visit and found this hotel by chance. What a great find! It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, comfortable, close (walking distance) to everything and very reasonably priced. We checked in late and were welcomed by friendly staff. We had a queen and single bed and although the room was small, it was not cramped. The hotel caters for students during term time (owned and operated by Wollongong Uni) - but open to the public during vacations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketview

Address: Corner Market & Church Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range: $75 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marketview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong. Guests will experience the friendly service at Marketview (previous IBIS Wollongong) while making the most of this central location and enjoying all that Wollongong CBD has to offer. Marketview is walking distance to the beach, great cafes and restaurants, cinemas, the main shopping precinct, WIN Entertainment Centre and cultural events. Accommodation provided is in double rooms and all of the hotel rooms have private ensuites, air conditioners, flat screen TV, internet access, and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marketview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketview Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing