We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, centre of town”
Review of Marketview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marketview
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Accommodation was basic but the room was comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to shops and restaurants, a little further from the waterfront.
Underground parking was included in the cost.
Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, bakery and fruit as the cafe is not yet fully operational.

Room Tip: We had a view over the Church on the Hill, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EK639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel belongs to Wollongong University and used to be part of the IBIS chain of hotels. A friend and I stayed in a familiy room with two beds a couple of days.

The room was small, but modern and very clean.

Staff was friendly and the reception and common area look very fresh and friendly.
Seen the price and location I can only recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackwinterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ended up in Wollongong on an unplanned visit and found this hotel by chance. What a great find! It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, comfortable, close (walking distance) to everything and very reasonably priced. We checked in late and were welcomed by friendly staff. We had a queen and single bed and although the room was small, it was not cramped. The hotel caters for students during term time (owned and operated by Wollongong Uni) - but open to the public during vacations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oztripper_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Marketview is located within easy walking distance of Wollongong train station, as well as of restaurants, cafes and the popular Crown St Mall and Wollongong Central shopping mall. It's also within easy walking distance of City Beach and, just a few minutes walk further up, North Beach. The location was perfect for us, being without a car - we didn't once have to catch a taxi to get around.

Another great plus of this hotel is its staff. Whoever we encountered at the front desk during our 2-night stay, they were all very friendly, attentive and happy to share their tips on places to go.

The room was small but sufficient for two people. It was clean and well-equipped, with fridge, A/C, TV, closet and desk.

All in all, I had a good experience at this hotel and would easily recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Wollongong.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyStar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Central location close to free Wollongong shuttle bus and restaurant strip. Stayed here on a weeknight outside university semester (hotel recently acquired by University of Wollongong). Efficient and cheerful staff. The room was small but well appointed with desk, linen cupboard, updated bathroom, carpet. One plus was that the window could be opened, and the room had a pleasant view of St Michael's, the old sandstone church and its green square. Also well located to restaurants although few were open on a Monday night. The major downside at my time of stay was that the wifi was not yet operational, and builders were still passing through with furniture etc in the hallways.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gyspy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here for an extended business trip. The restaurant food quality was outstanding and reasonably priced. Staff were at all time helpful, however some occasionally a little lacking in experience.
It is very well located in the centre of the city and only 30m from the shopping centre.
Undercover parking is available at additional cost.

Room Tip: A room away from the road will ensure a quiet night and avoid the hot afternoon sun in the window as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PidynTeithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
nth nowra
1
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Close to CBD in Wollongong .the room was clean and affordable .I will book a room at this motel when staying in Wollongong again .My Mum booked the room for me as a gift which was not a problem when it came to checking in .The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
1,693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wollongong Serviced Apartments
0.5 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketview

Address: Corner Market & Church Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range: $74 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marketview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong. Guests will experience the friendly service at Marketview (previous IBIS Wollongong) while making the most of this central location and enjoying all that Wollongong CBD has to offer. Marketview is walking distance to the beach, great cafes and restaurants, cinemas, the main shopping precinct, WIN Entertainment Centre and cultural events. Accommodation provided is in double rooms and all of the hotel rooms have private ensuites, air conditioners, flat screen TV, internet access, and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marketview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketview Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing