We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marketview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marketview
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
A TripAdvisor Member
“.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We has toasted sandwiches that took ages and we had to call and ask and were told they were ready, but i think someone forgot to call us and let us know they were ready as when we got them they had been there for time they looked like they'd been sitting there for a while and were a bit soggy, but it wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    102
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
89
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I was attending a wedding at midday and arrived at the hotel around 11.15am. I asked if it was possible to check in so I could leave my bag and head off to the wedding. The front desk representative did not even check if my room was available - I was told a flat "No" and then that check in time was after 2pm. A better customer service experience would have been for him to at least check if my room was available before flatly refusing my request

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I found the staff to be extremely helpful and pleasant. We had a really nice meal in the restaurant and the location of the hotel was well placed for shops, amenities and walking distance of the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Good value hotel. No great trimmings or extras but comfortable. Great location and good value. We have stayed twice and will definitely recommend for travel to Wollongong. Staff responded to any requests promptly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a day at Kambla Grange races and stayed at the Ibis Wollongong.
We found our stay really good.
The grab & go food was lovely.
We got help ASAP with putting a movie on in our room.
The drinks before we left were good and coffee in the morning was good after as well.
I would stay at the Ibis again no worries.
:-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.5 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketview

Property: Marketview
Address: Corner Market & Church Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marketview 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Wollongong. Guests will experience the friendly service at Marketview (previous IBIS Wollongong) while making the most of this central location and enjoying all that Wollongong CBD has to offer. Marketview is walking distance to the beach, great cafes and restaurants, cinemas, the main shopping precinct, WIN Entertainment Centre and cultural events. Accommodation provided is in double rooms and all of the hotel rooms have private ensuites, air conditioners, flat screen TV, internet access, and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marketview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketview Hotel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing