We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Good for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value - Good for families.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in a budget motel unit which had not long been renovated inside as everything was obviously new (& very clean). Open plan room with fully equipped kitchenette, dining table & 4 chairs, 1 set double bunks, good gas heater, ceiling fan, bedside lamps & tables, combined phone & clock radio. Good lighting & timber floor. Wall-mounted TV with some Foxtel channels.

Bathroom small but functional with a good shower. No hairdryer but one could be hired for a $10 deposit.

Our queen bed was comfortable & firm (as we prefer) but pillows were hard.

The reception staff were friendly, efficient & obliging. Basic general grocery items, hot pies etc available on site. Remotely controlled boom gates with guest parking outside.

A short walk to an unpatrolled beach with 2 other patrolled beaches walkable. The Towradgi Hotel, across the road, serves good meals we were told.

There is a large heated indoor pool (closed for training at times during school term); mini golf; bike hire; steam room & spa but we did not access any of these facilities.

We were pleasantly surprised at our unit & thought it was good value @ $85 per night. We stayed mid-week during a very quiet period but I think that there could be noise problems during busy times as sound seemed to transfer from adjoining units, especially footsteps on the timber floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdeg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    51
    27
    13
    12
See reviews for
70
22
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My sister, Mother and I travelled to the Towradgi Surf Leisure Resort on the 13th of September to stay for two nights as my Brothers 40th birthday was on the Saturday night. We left our Cabin on the Saturday night, after ensuring that we had locked everything up and put some valuables we did not want to carry away in our luggage, to head across the road for my brothers party, on our return we discovered that we had been violated. Our cabin door smashed in and our belongings stolen. Mobile phones, wallets, identity, jewellery. We were stunned and in complete shock. We contacted the police first and then the cabin park security. The security guard on duty was very understanding and helpful. We explained that we wanted to speak with the Manager. The security guard contacted the manager and by his conversation it was obvious he was not interested in coming down to our cabin. The security guard made a point that it would be a good idea as we were so distressed. The manager arrived and it was so very obvious he did not care at all, he skipped around the issues at hand as he was obviously very careful about what he said to us because we were never going to be offered any form of compensation. The door was smashed open and the police couldn't send anyone for finger prints until the following morning. We were told not to touch the door and we obviously did not feel safe in that cabin. The manager just shut the door and put a chuck under it and said "well you can sleep now".. No compassion, no sorry that this has happened, no moving us to a safer cabin. Obsolutely nothing. We could not sleep. Our identities stolen, we were left feeling scared and violated. This is completely unsatisfactory. We contacted the radio station 2GB because we felt so angry about the event. Here we received some understanding. The manager did not care that this had happened, he even admitted that this occurred but usually because people have left the doors open, it was very obvious we had locked up and there was forced entry.

If this Leisure Resort has this problem regulary, they should be advising people on check in and in the compendiums to not leave valuables in the cabin and to ensure that everything is locked up and curtains closed. Give decent people some warning. Dont just let them walk into a situation where they end up completely violated.

I am so disgusted about the weekend events, I will be contacting radio stations and televison stations to bring this problem into the spot light.

Our advice DO NOT STAY AT TOWRADGI SURF LEISURE RESORT! The police said it is an area where people who have no respect for others do this sort of crime to get money. We have been left distressed. We feel completely unsafe even in our own homes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorrae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had visited Wollongong University for some training. The university had arranged our stay in Surf Leisure Resort, Wollongong. Extremely convenient stay with a kitchenette and very comfortable bed. Every room had extra beds for children. One can cook food of one's choice in the room. Shopping was also close to the resort in Fairy Meadow. The city center was not far from the resort. Close to the resort was the Wollongong beach. We had visited in June so we could not venture into the sea which had very cold water. The beach was clean but because of winter there, crowd was not much.
The railway station was also close (Fairy Meadow) and one could get trains for Sydney, which was around one hour journey from Wollongong. It had tennis court and children can enjoy in sports activities. It had an indoor swimming pool too.
I would recommend this resort for family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pratnaparkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Thanks to our hosts we had a great stop over on our way north, the friendly staff were very helpful, the cabin itself was clean ,comfy and well equipped. put that with a great location and you can't go wrong.The indoor pool is a great asset and with the bottle mart across the road , and beach access right on your doorstep-we managed to bag a beautiful Salmon- it's the perfect spot. The grounds were spotless and people werer friendly and at night it was very quiet. Will definatly stay again -thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have used this park on a few occasions , choosing cabin accommodation. The kids love the indoor pool, convenient location for our needs. The immediate beach is rough, but you are advised on your arrival to swim at the flagged section 500 m away. The park is always clean, the cabins neat and tidy. Loved our upgrade this year, the villa style was huge, with everything that opened and closed. Nice short walk to a good feed across the road at the pub. Tennis court, mini golf, to much to do in the short amount of time

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I tend to be a happy traveller and look on the bright side, but I have to say we were disappointed with our site, the facilities, the amenities and the cost of this park.
We paid $75 per night for an unpowered site, which was a dry patch of grass in the full sun, in full view of the windows of the permanent residents. The pool was very strongly chlorinated and completely unsupervised, the jumping castle was deflated on the floor of the indoor tennis court, rendering both unusable!
Both the barbeques and hot showers cost money. Surely our $75 per night was enough to cover a hot shower each and use of the barbaeque?
The beach on which the resort is located was heavy surf, not suitable for swimming. We enjoyed the walk either way, to the north and south, to the patrolled beaches.
I have to say that the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_JaneR642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the campsite, the indoor pool was good. The weather didn't help (obviously not their fault) but the site was far away from the toilet, of which there only was one for a large campsite. The amenities were old, looked dirty and there was one sink with no soap for about 10 stalls. It was 10c for about 4mins of cold shower time. I know, it isn't much, however you'd expect that paying for the site would include the showers? We were there three days and called previously to book. On calling, they didn't inform us the pool area would be closed for two of the three days, which was a main reason for booking here. Nothing much by way of a town nearby. There was a restaurant/bar across the road called oscars which was the on,y option for eating as there was no store nearby. It was ok, busy as it was a Friday. I would not stay here again. Although the staff seemed pleasant enough we payed well over the odds for the amenities when we weren't told the pool etc were out of order. Bad vibe after a long drive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongong
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Corrimal Beach Tourist Park
1.7 mi away
Beach Park Motel
Beach Park Motel
#9 of 15 in Wollongong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort

Property: Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort
Address: 201 Pioneer Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2519, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Wollongong Surf Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing