We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good facilities on site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western City Sands
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and good facilities on site”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was pleased to find on arrival that I had a one bedroom apartment with a generous separate lounge and kitchen area above the golf club. The kitchenette meant I could have breakfast in the apartment after a visit to the nearby Woolies to buy supplies. It was a great view over the golf course and out to the ocean from the balcony. The golf club on the floor below offers a good and affordable menu and drinks. I thought it was great value with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    104
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
107
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great service and the bed was very comfortable, enjoyed breakfast and leisurely morning before shopping which was close by. Rooms were spacious and clean - lovely bathroom - Close to WIN stadium where we were going to. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our week in the apartment, it was easy to go over to Aldi or Woolworths for provisions i.e. cereals, milk, bread which at least was enough to get started in the morning, the fridge was small and kept defrostng over the floor, cooking was not an option other than the microwave, but there was a toaster and kettle. We went to the clubhouse one evening but thought that was a bit average so only tried it once Much better idea is to buy a steak and cook it on one of the BBQ's which are dotted along the beach. The view from the balcony was stunning over the golf course and across the ocean and needless to say a brilliant blue sky. The location was excellent walking to the Mall or getting the shuttle, definately planning to visit again next winter. Shower was great aways plenty of hot water.

I must say reception was great, especially Barbara who I dealt with mostly couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Do try and get an apartment with ocean view you will not be disappointed, it is so nice not have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tintoretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was well appointed with a good sized balcony overlooking the gold course and the beach and we enjoyed the view very much. Beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed which, for a sofa bed wasn't bad! We found the restaurant at the clubhouse very convenient and had both dinner and breakfast there. Dinner was good but breakfast was ordinary. Staff were helpful too Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie991181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very generous sized room with king size bed. The shower would suit an adult up to 6 foot 7. Small fridge but spent most time around town and region. Easy walk to the beach and to the mall. In house restaurant (didn't use but handy) so very happy and money well spent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked 2x 1 bed apartments for 1 night. We requested one room to have twin beds(via booking agent). This would have been easy as they use king split beds. But when we arrived and confirmed this was the case, we were told that there is a sofa bed, made up in each room and to use that. Well this could be an option for one night but hardly comfortable and satisfactory if you were staying longer. Apartments have bedroom, living and bathroom with balconies off bed and living. Although I doubt the balconies are ever used as the screen door were difficult to open and needed maintenance. All is presented very clean. Bathroom and kitchenette look newish but furniture is dated and couch/sofa bed is too low. The air con is in living so had to run it at night so bedroom would cool down. This motel is attached to Wollongong Golf Club which has very nice restaurant at which we had nice breakfast overlooking golf course. It is less than 5 min walk to beach, Win Stadium and Entertainment Centre. Also some very good restaurants close by. The staff including restaurant are very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here in late December at the end of our Australia holiday en route to Sydney Airport. This place was a real surprise. It can be tricky to find as the Best Western sign is easy to miss. The hotel is an integral part of the impressive Wollongong Golf club right by the sea so find that & you've landed. Customer service was excellent with friendly helpful front desk staff who sorted a late check out for us next day at no extra cost & sorted onward directions out for us. The room was smart, clean & spacious with bedroom & lounge area, very comfortable, good kitchen & clean as a pin. Great view across the golf course to the sea from the balcony. Used the dining room in the evening ( you get members rates) - good uncomplicated food, excellent fish & chips. Ample parking. we have had some iffy stays at Best Western in the past but this was really good & terrific value ( booked via Booking.com). Wollongong itself is well worth a stop for a night despite its gritty reputation & industrial pedigree - great harbour & stunning coastline road via Bulli to the Royal National Park en route to Sydney. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea with balcony - good views of the golf !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debseleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Sands

Property: Best Western City Sands
Address: | Corner Of Bank And Corrimal Street, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western City Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club Hotel Wollongong
Best Western Wollongong
Wollongong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing