We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegans Delight”

Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #192 of 431 Restaurants in Wollongong
Price range: $4 - $33
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Au Lac we pride ourselves on our delicious and innovative dishes that are freshly made with very nutritious ingredients which are extremely good for you & your family’s health.The term Soy “Meat” Varieties or Vegetarian “Meat” provide more alternatives, convenience and delicious flavours that are similar to real “Meat”. Being a vegetarian does not have to mean you’re limited for choices.When you are planning your next party or event and want to have something fresh, healthy, and unique just give a call or send us an email and leave the rest to us. We will do our best to save you time, money and more importantly we will impress you and your guests with stunning tasty dishes as it is our mission is to spread deliciousness to the world.We are very proud of our Au Lac Vegetarian Products not only being 100% pure vegetarian, free of meat, seafood, onion, garlic, chives, leeks and spring onions, but they are also made of textured soy protein, wheat flour, konnyaku and mushrooms. Our delicious dishes are made with a vast perfected variety of products from the freshest local markets and premium-imported ingredients.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vegans Delight”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Being a strict vegetarian, this place is kind of like a dream come true. I can eat EVERYTHING on the menu, I don't have to discuss with the waitstaff (who then sometimes have to discuss with the chef, this can become a long process) if certain meals can be altered to suit my diet. I can pick something from the menu, and know it's going to be delicious. And it is delicious!
I've been here with some friends who love meat, and they thought everything we ate here was delicious, so this place is suitable for meat eater. The "meat" products they use here are full of flavour and really satisfying. And the laksa is moreish, and my favourite on the menu.
Au Lac also have a stall at the Friday Markets in the mall, with lots of premise salads and cold rolls for healthy and on the go lunch options.

(There's no outdoor seating, so ignore my rating of "terrible" for outdoor seating. I can't unclick it)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegan Menu for Everyone”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As all vegans are well aware the hardest part of dining out is having to question the staff as to the ingredients of individual dishes and even then one is never really comfortable if the food served is really vegan? Well, here you can dine in comfort and order whatever you like - everything on the menu is vegan! No need to ask any questions, just pick what you like and enjoy an equisite and healthy dinner at a reasonable price.

We have taken many non-vegetarians there for dinner and all without exception have enjoyed their meal, often commenting that they would not have guessed the food to be vegan.

What we like best is that we can order anything on the menu and know it is healthy and tasty without compromise. Only downside is that if you have not booked you may have to wait for a table.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was down in Wollongong on a trip with my partner and neither of us are vegatarians but we had heard good reviews about this restaurant. So we thought we would try it out, because we are trying to eat more healthier now. It was not what I was expecting as a vegetarian meal. It was so full of flavour and soo filling!! It is very good value for money and the staff are amazing here!! I will definately eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Satisfying experience.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I am not a vegetarian but I love vegetarian food. Most restaurants offer some vegetarian options but they are often afterthoughts at the end of the menu, so it is god to find a place where veg is top of the list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclair1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The quality of the food was outstanding”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to this restaurant and I will certainly go again the sevice is great there are lots of choices and the food is superb. Not only is it beautifully presented it is fresh and full of flavour. Serving sizes are great, for 2 courses I paid $18 which I thought was great value for money. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing