We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfying experience.”

Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #179 of 420 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $33
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: At Au Lac we pride ourselves on our delicious and innovative dishes that are freshly made with very nutritious ingredients which are extremely good for you & your family’s health.The term Soy “Meat” Varieties or Vegetarian “Meat” provide more alternatives, convenience and delicious flavours that are similar to real “Meat”. Being a vegetarian does not have to mean you’re limited for choices.When you are planning your next party or event and want to have something fresh, healthy, and unique just give a call or send us an email and leave the rest to us. We will do our best to save you time, money and more importantly we will impress you and your guests with stunning tasty dishes as it is our mission is to spread deliciousness to the world.We are very proud of our Au Lac Vegetarian Products not only being 100% pure vegetarian, free of meat, seafood, onion, garlic, chives, leeks and spring onions, but they are also made of textured soy protein, wheat flour, konnyaku and mushrooms. Our delicious dishes are made with a vast perfected variety of products from the freshest local markets and premium-imported ingredients.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Satisfying experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I am not a vegetarian but I love vegetarian food. Most restaurants offer some vegetarian options but they are often afterthoughts at the end of the menu, so it is god to find a place where veg is top of the list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclair1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The quality of the food was outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to this restaurant and I will certainly go again the sevice is great there are lots of choices and the food is superb. Not only is it beautifully presented it is fresh and full of flavour. Serving sizes are great, for 2 courses I paid $18 which I thought was great value for money. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was very excited to try this restaurant only to be let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Being very fond of healthy eating options the idea of Au Lac greatly appealed to me.
I ordered steamed "chicken" and vegetables with a mushroom sauce.
The food itself was tasty however the portion size was so small i barely had time to enjoy it before it was all finished.
For the price of the food the portions MUST be increased

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This place is awesome on all levels. The food is delicious and caters to both Vegan and Vegetarians which is so hard to find in the Illawarra. The mock meat is surprisingly very similar to the real deal as well so I think most meat eaters wouldn't feel at all like they were missing out at all. The staff are friendly, helpful, warm and create a lovely dining atmosphere. Five stars from me!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great host but the food is over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Try this restaurant once with family. Good service, the owner very talkative... :)
However, it was just too expensive. I rather just to normal restaurant and order vegetarian meal instead of come to this specialty vegetarian...etc..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuLac, Public Relations Manager at Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Francis,

Thank you for your feedback at Au Lac Wollongong recently.

At Au Lac, we marked our price based on quality of our food and service either in Canberra or Wollongong. That is why we get our vegetable delivery fresh every morning and soy bean "meats" are made from high quality imported and local ingredients to make our dishes unique and delicious. Especially if you are a real vegetarian/vegan eater, Au Lac will be definitely a right place for you OR even if you are not, we believe that you will not be disappointed because of our exclusive dishes.

We fully understand your concern of eating healthy might be a bit higher. But like most of our regular customers, they come back again and again for delicious and healthy food that they could eat more of.

We value your feedback and hope to see you sometime at Au Lac.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Au Lac Royal Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing