We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and service is brilliant. Food is good although over priced. It's more expensive here than the eastern suburbs and lowe”

Northbeach Pavilion
Ranked #3 of 432 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $82
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Northbeach Pavilion Pizza Restaurant, Bar & Kiosk is located in the iconic and Heritage Listed North Beach Bathers Pavilion on the beautiful North Wollongong Beach. The restaurant is a light filled space with a contemporary yet casual dining room and bar area with communal tables and outside seating. A local place, where you can drop in for a quick bite and drink for lunch and dinner, a special celebration with family or lazy Sunday afternoon spritz and stuzzicchini with friends.Northbeach Pavilion Pizza Restaurant, Bar & Kiosk showcases simple Italian cuisine where the quality produce speaks for itself. Our menu is designed for sharing and forms part of the social spirit of communal eating.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location and service is brilliant. Food is good although over priced. It's more expensive here than the eastern suburbs and lowe”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had the Man Mari pizza $25.00 mushroom, prawns and bocconcini - which said it has basil but did not arrive on the pizza. It was average I've certainly had a lot better. Saying this the King Prawns with quinoa salad was very good. At $35.00. Tea and coffee was good. Self serve water. Customer service is v good. Have been here three times now. Always good. It's much better now that you can book a table in advance rather than having to wait in line. Great place to take visiting friends with refreshing views on the beach. But not a place for its great food. Good for a large group to order the 1/2 long foot pizza.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillyt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPav, Owner at Northbeach Pavilion, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Lilly T
Thanks for the feedback. We are please overall that you liked your experience with us. All our food is authentic Italian and we are surprised that you did not like the Mare Monti pizza - our version of the surf and turf pizza but respect your comments.

Not sure which venues you are referring to in the Eastern suburbs but we would be more than happy to discuss with you as we know the area well having worked there and in the lower north shore of Sydney. By comparisons we are more than reasonably priced but again happy to chat when you have time. Please give us a call.

Thanks again and have a great day
The Team @ Northbeach Pavilion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    153
    57
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Food is good, but expensive
$27 for a pizza, yep they charged $1.50 for a teaspoon of chili oil.
No cold water ! You have to get up and get Luke warm tap water at a self service station.
The knives are blunt, it's a pizza place !!.,
Coffee is good
Staff are friendly
The views are magnificent... Could be so much!!
Ice water should be free considering the exorbitant prices
Won't be back at those prices....at least deliver ice water,...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPav, Owner at Northbeach Pavilion, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jakey888
Thanks very much for your comments. We have a number of pizzas on our menu that range from $19.50 for a 25cm to $67 for a metre pizza - that feeds unto 6 people. Depending on the topping, much of which is imported from Italy (bufala mozzarella, prosciutto etc) the prices will vary. Yes we do charge $1.50 for a generous serve chilli & oil and served in a sauce dish. We offer still or sparkling bottled water and offer tap water which is self serve by the two water fountains - these are topped up regularly. Indeed if the temperature was not cold enough then we would have been happy to add ice - no charge. Apologies that you found the knives blunt - this is the first time we have been advised of this. Were you able to advise any of the service team of this - certainly we would have replaced the knife with another or even with a steak knife.
We are pleased that you liked the food, coffee, service and view. We do hope that you come back and perhaps try our pasta and grill dishes.
Thanks again and have a great week
The Team @ Northbeach Pavilion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went to Wollongong during the last school holidays. Just loved the pizza in this restaurant with quite a selection to choose from. The price is reasonable. The staff are friendly. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pans-labyrinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPav, Owner at Northbeach Pavilion, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Pans-Labyrinth
Thanks for your comment. Glad you came to dine with us on your visit to Wollongong. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Have a great day
The Team @ Northbeach Pavilion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast and high quality”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I have been here on two occasions whilst in Wollongong with work, and on both occasions I can honestly say the food was fantastic. There are a few good places to dine in Wollongong, however this would have to be one of the better ones.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and genuinely seemed happy to be working- which made the experience all the much better.

The food was fresh and simple, and they did not overstate themselves.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeauRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPav, Owner at Northbeach Pavilion, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear BeauRG
Thank you very much for your feedback and accolade. It is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the quality of the food and our service. Hoping to welcome you back next time you're down in the Gong!
Have a great day
The Team @ Northbeach Pavilion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've been here quite a few times now & I've never been disappointed with the food. There's a great range to choose from. The pizza is beautiful & light. I had some beautiful whitebait with my son on another occasion. During my last visit, we had the opportunity to sit out on the classic outdoor chairs where I enjoyed a beautiful risotto & a few glasses of italian wine. The location is breathtaking and the service is cheerful & outstanding

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPav, Owner at Northbeach Pavilion, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Susan Wollongong
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your patronage and are pleased you enjoy our venue. Always a pleasure to welcome you back.
Have a great weekend
The Team @ Northbeach Pavilion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northbeach Pavilion also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Northbeach Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing