We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, great coffee”
Review of Austi Beach Cafe

Austi Beach Cafe
Ranked #12 of 14 Dessert in Wollongong
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, great coffee”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I had a great early morning breakfast here. Very courteous and efficient service, with waitresses taking a genuine interest in our satisfaction. This is somewhat lacking and rare in this part of the world. The coffee was very good along with the food. Courtesy newspapers are also available, I think. Located close to the main road and within a stone's throw of the beach, this is a slightly noisy, but nonetheless good location for a pleasant break in the day's activities or for a week day business meet. The prices are expensive, but better values than many other establishments along this coastline. Spotlessly clean and well run, this is a bit of a gem of a cafe.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David01160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    41
    20
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced but nice location”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Lunched here yesterday, location is great directly opposite beach. 3 of us ordered off the specials menu a veal schnitzel burger with jalepenos and sour cream. Burger came out without jalepenos but had sweet chilli sauce instead, 1 bit of veal, 1 lettuce leaf and drowned in sour cream, taste was fine but not worth $18. The kids fish & chips on the other hand was 3 times the size of our adult meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macheath1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poorly cooked food.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for lunch and we were seated straight away. Specials given verbally with menu. We chose fish and chips and spaghetti with prawns. The prawn dish was swimming in oil and the fish batter tasted like it was fried in old oil. Even the salad was not fresh. It was a very unsatisfactory and disappointing meal. We have both been here before and had good meals, but I'm wondering if the cafe is resting on its laurels.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1JOYFUL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, a little overpriced”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have eaten here on many ocassions. It is on a prime location, across the road from Austinmer Beach. They are always busy and benefit from a lot of Sydneysiders flocking to this beach on the weekends.
The food is good and the menu has dome great choices. I did find that they were just a little overpriced, but the view, the great food and atmosphere have been reason enough to return!!
The service is OK. Sometimes they could benefit from having a few more staff rostered on because they can be a little slow to take orders.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyNeTtE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The cafe is clean, service was excellent, staff were friendly and the food was great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CPD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austi Beach Cafe also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Thirroul, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Coledale, New South Wales
 

Been to Austi Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing