We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Nearby Hotels
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
$142
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
$93
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Wollongong(Wollongong)
$113
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Best Western City Sands(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
$110
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flinders Motel(Wollongong)
$96
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Quest Wollongong(Wollongong)
$123
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Beach Park Motel(Wollongong)
$93
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downtown Motel(Wollongong)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,166)
Filter reviews
2,166 results
Traveler rating
709
892
393
109
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
892
393
109
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood buffetlobby barwindjammers restaurantacross the roadocean viewbalcony roomstandard roomcafes and restaurantsfantastic locationsaturday nightcarlparkingaccorrefurbishmentconferencecoastlinelighthouse
Filter
Updating list...
2,121 - 2,126 of 2,166 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed overnight at the Novotel on our journey from Melbourne to Sydney. The views from the room over the beach were lovely. I think the price of $220 room only was a little steep considering we didn't arrive till 7pm.
There was not much to do around and we just stayed in and watched a movie.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We chose to stay at this hotel because it is supposedly the best in Wollongong and because it offered wheelchair accessible accommodation. We stayed for 3 unsatisfactory days and will not return. We have learned over the years that wheelchair access in hotels can be hit and miss and sadly a higher price is no guarantee that the facilities will meet the needs of the disabled traveller, so I guess we shouldn't have been surprised by the less than average room for a highly inflated price.

It is unfortunately the case that in most establishemnts the disabled traveller has no choice with regard to the standard of their accommodation. It's always a basic grade room, small, on a lower level, no views, etc. This one was spot on in that regard.

Our room was just about as far away from the lift as possible. This is a total pain for my hausband who finds pushing his wheelchair on carpet hard going and quite exhausting. They have made an effort with some features by lowering the light switches, providing lowered hanging space in the wardrobe and fitting a no hob shower and hand rails in the bathroom, but there is so much more that could be done to make the stay easier for someone who uses a wheelchair. A slight incline and small step at the bathroom door prevented my husband from getting in there independently and the placement of the furniture meant he couldn't move freely around the room . There was no door on the wardrobe and no easy chair or sofa, The air conditioning was ineffective and so with no balcony and not even a window that would open we were uncomfortably hot most of the time.

Even if we hadn't needed a disability friendly room we would have been dissappointed with our accommodation. What we had was no better than the average 3 star motel. The entire hotel needs refurbishing and the service they provide needs a shake up .

Finally, especially considering the price we paid for our stay, I resent having to collect a trolley and transport my own luggage to and from the car. I never once saw a doorman, porter or concierge. I completed the "We value your comments" card, but of course I haven't had a reply.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maxidiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Decided to get away for a couple of days south of Sydney and decided on the Novotel as it didn't demand a two night minimum.

The hotel itself is large and somewhat uninspiring - the interior is much as you would expect of a Novotel with relatively bland interiors but clean and spacious sized rooms.

We had booked and ocean room view and got a room on the 10th floor which had excellent views.

Ordered room service for one night and this is not to be advised as the hotel firstly forgot the order and when it arrived it was wrong. Alternative is an excellent restaurant over the road called the Beach House.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentfordSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed here on the weekend during summer. Ok its peak season but the Gong is hardly Monaco and the rate paid (std room), whilst not high, was terrible value as it would have bought rooms in quite a few 5 star hotel in the Sydney CBD during the same period. Ocean view rooms are advisable to avoid staring at the street or worse, the hotel roof.

The hotel looks run down and shows its age everywhere. The decor and condition of common areas are screaming for refurbishment, especially the lifts. The rooms are on the small side, are clean but again, show their age and were reminescent of an 80's motel. Bed and pillows have the texture of marshmallows. In short, it's comfortable and clean but old and run-down. Prices are ridiculous for what you get, and although the bedroom furnishings are new-ish, the tv is small, the bathroom old and the corridors etc do not reflect the prices being charged.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast decent. The hotel's saving grace is its location, which is right across from the beach. Parking is free too which is a bonus, although the garage is quite tight both in terms of spaces and manuverability.

There arent many choices around the area, but if you want modern facilities and a bit of luxury, which you would expect given the relatively exhorbitant rates being charged, you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatcatJunketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stay in an ocean view room in the 10th floor in December 2008. It is one of the best ocean view rooms we have stayed in. However, we did not find the beds to be comfortable as the mattress had a "saggy" feel to it-perhaps it has reached it use-by-date. The bath looks like it needs some refurbishment soon. The gym facilities are in urgent need for upgrade. The buffet breakfast was rather ordinary and overpriced. The hotel staff (like most Novotels) are friendly and eager to help. Our stay coincided with the staff Christmas party which started off with an awards ceremony held in the ground floor tennis court where the ocean views room faced. It was hard not to hear the award announcements and that interrupted what would have been a restful late afternoon snooze. All in all, the hotel is need for a major refurbishment pronto.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews