We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location by the beach”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The staff at the reception were nice and friendly, providing advice on where to go. The hotel is also within walking distance to the beaches. The only downside is the lack of complimentary wifi though there is a complimentary 30 min or 8 MB limit per day at the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank YeeKhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear YeeKhai,

Thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure for our staff to know they have provided our guests with great service.

We appreciate both your positive and constructive comments as this helps us to review the products and services that we offer.

We hope to see you again in the near future enjoying our fantastic location!

Kind regards,

Alana Quirke
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    802
    370
    94
    58
See reviews for
552
776
77
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I spend two nights here on recommendation. Great location, great view, staff were friendly enough. But, we were supposed to have a queen bed and had two doubles, Wi-Fi is $11 per hour or $24 per day. Parking $15 per night. Breakfasts were good but the evening meal was terrible. The meat was off and they took it back to the kitchen and cooked another piece and it was also bad. Best seafood restaurant just down the road. Stay there again? I don't think so.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your comments and have taken them on board. I passed the feedback you gave regarding the meals onto our Executive Chef for review.
I apologise for any disappointment or inconvenience you experience during your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss any further details regarding this stay on (02) 4224 3111
Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Were at the Novotel for 3 nights for friends wedding. They handled the function excellently, very professional and the staff were happy and made us feel our function was truly important to them.
Our room was large and comfortable with a nice bed and bath.
The food was probably a bit pricey but you expect that at these hotels.
All up a very good stay.
Would stay again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Give_Me_Latitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Give_Me_Lattitude,

It is such a pleasure to read feedback like yours and we thank you for taking the time to comment on your positive experience.

It is very encouraging for the staff to hear comments such as yours, as it reminds them that they are doing a great job and our guests do appreciate their hard work. .

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My room 921 had a stunning view. There was one major issue and that was that the toilet was unstable. I reported it to reception and followed it up the end of my first week of staying and they had it recorded in the system as the toilet 'seat' being fixed. The problem wasn't the seat, it was the whole toilet (which moved as you sat on it). The toilet hadn't been fixed in the whole 2 weeks of my stay.
In addition, one morning one of the staff in the kitchen was replacing some plates in the dining room and when I asked her for assistance, I noticed she was in tears (I think she had been upset by another staff member working there with an American accent).
There was also one day during my stay where my bed hadn't been made.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Jackie P

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Novotel Northbeach Wollongong.

It was disappointing to read that you had so many concerns during your stay. I am very sorry for any inconvenience or disappointment you experienced and I would like to discuss this with you personally. Please contact me directly at h1654-gm2@accor.com so we can look into your concerns further.

Your support is important to the hotel and we would like to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My partner and I decided as an early bday gift for me to hit up the gong for the weekend. We had a queen bedroom with ocean views...was nice and reasonably clean however the decor and the hotel itself really looks old school but not in a good way. The walls are chipped, bad paint work throughout the hotel and the outside is yellow... felt at many times like a motel with hotel prices. Many other new places around and we visit them due to the fact they spend money to justify the high prices unlike novetel north beach.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAceCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Brendan D

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate both the positive and the constructive comments as this helps us to review the products and services that we offer.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Plains, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

we stayed 2 nights at the motel. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. They have a lovely bar area for drinks which is open from 3.00pm. Breakfast in the Windjammer restaurant overlooking the beach was a very nice way to start the day. Over all a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Susan K

Thanks for the great review.
It was good to see that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and the amazing view we have right at our front door.
We look forward to making your next visit with us great.

Kind regards
Kirsten
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,529 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Property: Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wollongong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing