We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to uni and beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, close to uni and beaches”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visiting my daughter doing a semester at University of Wollongong. 2 minute drive from there. Right across the street from a beautiful beach with several quick food options. Short drive from the central area of Wollongong where basically all of the best restaurants are.
Room was spacious, had a small balcony with beach view, which was nice.
Bed was great, very comfy. Bathroom fine.
Did not use any of the restaurants.
Internet not free, fairly pricey, and given price, not superfast.
Car park was tight, space was, but standard for Australia. Car park also had a charge.
Staff was great, very helpful when I need something scanned for a plane ticket change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorrickdangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    789
    367
    94
    56
See reviews for
537
767
76
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed with my husband at Novotel Northbeach in December 2012. We have been there on 3 previous occasions and always enjoyed our stay.

We got a very good rate on a Wotif Mystery Hotel deal so they are always worth a look. My impression of Novotel Northbeach on this occasion was that it could do with a lot of updating. The room and the bathroom were looking a little dated and not what I would expect from a 4 star establishment. The most annoying thing was that a lift was out of service and the wait was often very lengthy. They did open up the service lift to guests which did help. Underground parking was an extra fee of I think $15 per night. We chose to park on the street nearby.

The location is still as good as ever and Wollongong really is a very nice place to have a short break. Novotel Nothbeach is about a 10 to 15 minute stroll from the cbd. We have always found shopping and dining at Wollongong to be reasonably priced.

Despite the hotel being in need of an update I would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Clare P for your review,

I am glad to see you got a great rate through the Wotif.com mystery hotel promotion.

Please accept my apologies for the lift being out of order. We have since fixed the problem & addressed our service agreement with the lift company to ensure there will be no repeat.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Novotel previously and really enjoy the atmosphere, the position and especially the outlook. There are plenty of places to eat. The food at the hotel is escellent. We have had very good deals for our stays.

We live in the 'Shire' and enjoy the quick and scenic trip down to Wollongong. We will be saying there again. That's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you nthbeach for your great review,

It is always encouraging to read about how much our guest's enjoyed their stay. We have some fantastic staff here that really do try their best to ensure our guests are well looked after.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well this was an unexpected stop, after it just seemed too much to drive back to the ACT in the dark on some interesting dirt roads.
Stayed here (arriving later in the evening) and found they don't accept the loyalty cards (Accor) which was interesting, however they were kind enough to offer a reasonable rate room. I could have done better elsewhere, but chose this place (for Le Club, bummer) but in the end it was okay.
Rooms were large and spacious, clean and the sleep was good. Windows are pretty yuk to see through tho, not much to see from our view - they said it didn't face the beach - yup, it didn't!

So as a place to crash for the nite, it was a bed... however price was pretty high still for a bed for the nite. next time - a motel would have been better (if I could have bothered to look... LOL!!!)

Room Tip: Um, unsure - the room we were in was okay, but price was high for a non-ocean view. Recommend ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaTTyRaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you RaTTyRaTT for your review,

Here at the Novotel we pride ourselves on giving our guests an experience when they stay with us. We offer a range of facilities for our guests to use complimentary e.g. pool, spa, gym & sauna. We also have a selection of shops in our arcade which include the Northbeach Boutique, the Mud Cat Cafe & the Indulgence Day Spa. We also offer 2 bars, a restaurant, 24 hours room service & a gaming room. I also must mention we are right across the road from stunning North Wollongong beach.
We see ourselves as a place to 'be' rather than just a place to stay & our guests would really need to spend some time here to benefit from everything we have to offer.

Thank you again for your review, I hope that we can welcome you back for a longer stay, perhaps in one of our ocean view rooms next time.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location, just across from the beach with beautiful views. Staff were welcoming and friendly but the place definitely needs some renovation. Chipped counters in the bathroom, and rather drab dated decor. There a several wonderful cafes on the beach close by and I recommend them over the hotel restaurant which was very expensive with average food in comparison. If this place were ever to get a true refurbishment, it would be a great place, it has the location that every hotel would like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you academic1 for your review,

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the fantastic views we have to offer.

Please know that I will share your feedback regarding the condition of your room with our Management team who will take the points raised into consideration when planning our next refurbishment.

Thank you again for your review, I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute booking on Friday afternoon for Saturday night. Most accommodation was booked out in Wollongong due to the triathalon and weddings. The Novotel had one room available (disabled). We were charged $299 and when questioned as to why that price was justified for a last minute booking when online prices range from $199, we were told in no uncertain terms "that's our price - take it or leave it". Isn't that called gauging? For a 4 star hotel it is lacking. Only 2 VERY slow lifts service the many levels of accommodation. The beds are too soft. The food is overpriced and breakfast isn't worth the cost. We travel extensively and were disappointed in this hotel and the attitude of the check-in staff.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay city side on the 6th floor. All you look out on is a concrete roof. A few lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandsurfOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelWollongong, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you sunandsurfOz for youre reveiw,

As you were aware there was a triathlon in the local area that saw an extra 2500 people come to Wollongong. Hotel rates are dynamic and do fluctuate with demand (similar to the airline industry). The rate you paid was a premium and the last rooms to go usually are the special access rooms. I can understand that you may feel as though you did not get great value for money, however if you are returning to Wollongong again in the future I would be happy to offer you a good deal to make up for the loss of your recent stay. Please feel free to contact me on the below details.

I am also quite concerned about the attitude of the staff that served you. Please know that I will address this personally.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope that we can welcome you back to the Novotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Oran Barraclough
Front Office Manager
H1654-FO@accor.com
02 4224 3169
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took my husband to the Novotel Wollongong Northbeach for his birthday. We were so impressed with the hotel that we have booked again to return for our Anniversary in June.
The room was great with an ocean view balcony. We did not have the seafood buffet but from what we could see it looked very good. We were a little disappointed with the a la carte menu as there was not many choices. Next time we will have the seafood.

All the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapa_beagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,358 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wollongong Northbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wollongong Northbeach

Property: Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Address: 2-14 Cliff Rd, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wollongong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wollongong Northbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one and a half hours south of Sydney in the beautiful Illawarra, Novotel Wollongong Northbeach is one of New South Wales’s most popular getaway and business venues. Situated opposite North Wollongong beach, the 4 1/2 star hotel boasts 204 accommodation rooms and spa suites featuring stunning ocean and mountain views. The hotel caters for both the leisure and business traveller, offering a range of facilities and services including a swimming pool, spa, sauna, fitness centre, day spa, restaurant and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Wollongong Northbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel Wollongong
Accor Wollongong Northbeach
Wollongong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing