We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful - serene - I will be back”
Review of Nan Tien Temple

Nan Tien Temple
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nan Tien is very different from most tourist attractions because there is so much to offer: the visual delights of grandeur architecture, art & culture including unique exhibitions & festivals, Buddhist festivals, vegetarian culinary delights, educational & healthy life style classes & retreats, accommodation, top class conference and auditorium facilities as well as beautiful gardens & walks. There is also the spiritual and religious experience that is unforgettable and even life changing for some.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful - serene - I will be back”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I always wanted to visit this temple, just made a special trip and was really glad I did. Make time and don't drive past as I had done so many times

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce018_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    234
    42
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We came across the temple randomly and decided to stop in and take a look. Firstly I have to say that it was amazingly beautiful. Secondly, the peace that you feel just being there is overwhelming. I have never felt anything like it before! It took my breath away. I loved it and highly recomend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hailsbails2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

nan Tien Temple is worth a visit with beautiful grounds and museum, the temples themselves are outstanding and I feel you will be in awe of your surroundings. There is also a vegetarian buffet which is good value and a descent tea shop should need refreshments.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As good as any temple in Asia!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Enormous temple, staff were friendly, easy to walk around. Plenty of eateries and clean toilets and only the cost of a donation!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank daveais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice and peaceful”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A beautiful and peaceful temple just 30 minutes off the city.
The drive is a nice experience too.
A calm place to meditate and with nice views around.
The architecture is simply breath taking.
Will definitely visit again if traveled to New South Wales.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IT-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nan Tien Temple also viewed

 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Nan Tien Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing