We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place. Worth a look.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nan Tien Temple

Nan Tien Temple
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nan Tien is very different from most tourist attractions because there is so much to offer: the visual delights of grandeur architecture, art & culture including unique exhibitions & festivals, Buddhist festivals, vegetarian culinary delights, educational & healthy life style classes & retreats, accommodation, top class conference and auditorium facilities as well as beautiful gardens & walks. There is also the spiritual and religious experience that is unforgettable and even life changing for some.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place. Worth a look.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Temples are great to visit. Very colourful. Relaxation and meditation is available. Great for conferences

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wazzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    226
    36
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been here many times with our family & friends & have taken a meditation course, it is a great place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank winifred711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't keep driving past!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Well worth a visit. Well kept grounds and peaceful to wander around and just chill out. I am not a vegetarian, but a nice tea shop sells a different and interesting selection of teas and light meals (no beer & pies here!)
A good spot to schedule a break if you are doing a long road trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorisTheMudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Buddhist Temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Definately worth a visit, quite interesting and beautifully designed. You need to show respect though, it is a quiet and serene place, not somewhere for noisy children

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kezzab57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nan Tien Temple by public transport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you want to move away from the busy life of Sydney and spend a day in complete peace and return with a calm mind,this is the place for you.Young folks - you may not find beer here but what you find is way better than the life we spend in weekends.This place pulls you.
Those who have car and GPS its an hour and half drive from Sydney.
But I decided to take public transport because I don't have a car.
I started late because I had no idea what this place is and first I thought its a weird idea to visit a temple.It was 11:30 AM already.
131500 website of NSW showed there is a train from Hurstville around 12:44 PM.
You should board any train from central to Kiama and get down at Unnandera/Kembla Grange.
Unnandera to Nan Tien temple is 15 minutes walk.
Kembla Grange to NanTien temple needs a bus in between.We got bus 57 from Kembla Grange station.Bus stop from Kembla Grange station is less than 50 metres.But bus frequency is an issue.Check 131500. If you want to get down at Unnandera/Kembla Grange station bard the rearmost carriage in train and inform the guard about your stop.

I managed to reach the temple by 2:49 PM.So I had 2 hours 11 minutes to complete my trip.I prefer reach there before 1PM atleast.Temple closes at 5 PM.Opposite to the temple there is a deserted bus stop.You will surely loose the trust that bus may stop there.Bus 34.It was at 5:36PM and will take me to Wollonggong.From Wollongong I need to board a train to Sydney.I decided to walk to Unnandera and board the 5:41PM train from there.I reached Unnandera by 5:26PM.Reached Rockdale by 7:19PM.

Its very easy to visit the temple if you have a quick visiting guide.Once you enter ask someone about the Dining hall.Go there and pick a mini booklet.You can complete everything in order.

Loved each and everything there.The Pagoda,Museum,hymns,Gratitude Bell,Main shrine,Green Valley ,Cute statues..everything.Planning to go again.This time before 12PM.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank debopriospeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nan Tien Temple also viewed

 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Nan Tien Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing