We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Check in was quick & staff helpful. The apartment had everything needed for a comfortable stay. Only downside was the advertised views of city lights, mountain or ocean were non existent-a tip toe glimpse of water was all we had & I think we had the best possible room. Towradgie Hotel next door is worth a visit for a meal & drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Nellie84,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay with us at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands. Our hotel has a number of views depending on the room allocated to you on the day. I’m sorry you felt disappointed with the view from your room. Being a boutique hotel with personalised service, please on your next stay ask my friendly reception team and they will be able to assist further on this.

As you mentioned Towradgi Beach Hotel is close by, with only a 150m walk, serving great meal options for all tastes.
We hope that we see you again at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.
Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were travelling to Wollongong and noticed a Mystery Accommodation on Last Minute.Com for $110 - 4km from the CBD. That suited us so we gave it a go. Plus, of course, $6.50 extra for booking on Last Minute.com.

The location is quite odd - in the burbs, but convenient for us coming in from the north.

Reception very friendly and room excellent. Fully equipped one bedroom apartment. The kitchen was a bonus so we shopped at a local Woolworths and ate dinner in.

The complex does have a fitness centre.

Room Tip: Room 306 was just fine with a view of the residential part of the complex. No noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Trish M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands.

I’m glad our location here in the beachside suburb of Towradgi, Wollongong ultimately suited your needs. Being only a short 4km drive to Wollongong CBD suits most of our guests all of the time. The obviously advantages are quiet and spacious rooms with that new and modern feel.

I’m glad you enjoyed our apartments and were able to fully utilise the facilities.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The room was more like a modern appointed two bedroom apartment. Clean bathroom, kitchens & bedrooms. Both bedrooms were very well sized.

Comfy lounge room.

I also appreciate the undercover high security car parking.

Please note that this isn't actually in Wollongong, but nevertheless a good stay.

The only pity is a rather rushed 10am checkout. Would be nice if it was extended to 11am so that visitors can enjoy breakfast rather than feeling "shoo'ed" out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cktsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear ck74au,

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay with us here at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands. It’s a pleasure to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfy and well sized. Our housekeeping team work hard to maintain our rooms to our 4 ½ star level and it’s always nice to be able to pass these comments onto my team.

I’m sorry to hear that you felt rushed out on check out. Our check out time is 10am, however if needed and availability permits we can offer our guests a later check out of 11am complimentary. On your next stay please ask my reception team and they will be able more than happy to assist with any queries.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got a great deal on Wotif to stay here in a one bedroom suite with a bottle of wine, continental breakfast and late checkout of 12pm included. The service was prompt and efficient on check-in and all staff had a smile. Very refreshing. The suite was clean, spacious and well presented. We had a TV in the lounge area as well as the bedroom which was much appreciated when we needed to lay down after a big meal and catch a movie on Showtime. The noise level wasn't too bad either given the bedroom is away from the front door (the night we stayed there was a girls basketball team staying as well and there was a bit of noise from them but nothing too disturbing). We upgraded our continental breakfast to the hot buffet (available Sunday mornings) for an additional $10 each. Well worth it and again service was with a smile. These apartments are located 4kms out of town but are close to beaches and are on a quiet street. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Christine J,
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments to all our staff. The majority of our rooms have 2 TV’s, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom, being a point of difference to a lot of other hotels in the area which as you mention allows you to relax in bed while watching the TV.
We have worked hard to improve our breakfast offerings and it’s great to hear your positive feedback regarding our hot buffet breakfast. The hot breakfast is available Saturday and Sunday so if you stay again you can enjoy it on a Saturday too.
We hope to see you again at the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Apartments were very clean & spacious. Full kitchen facilities.Friendly staff with undercover carparking.
A short walk to the back of the property with access to the Towradgi Pub. Security access only back into the apartments -which is great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wineanddinensw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear wineanddinensw,
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review from your stay with us. I’m glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and other hotel facilities. You are correct it’s only a short walk to Towradgi Beach Hotel where I’m sure you enjoyed a lovely dinner and drinks. As you mentioned you do need a security card to access the gate as we pride ourselves on providing security for our guests.

Warm regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very big rooms, and pretty soundproof too. A bit of road traffic noise but not too bad. Friendly staff. A little out of Wollongong central, but well served by the free shuttle. My only real gripe was that the mattress was tireder than me.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the eastern side, away from road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Roseserious,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments from your recent stay with us. As you mentioned the hotel is located 4kms out of Wollongong central however the Wollongong free shuttle bus is great as there is a bus stop nearby and takes you right into the CBD.
I’m sorry to hear your comment regarding our mattresses, however in saying that all our mattresses are only 3 years old from when the hotel first opened in 2010, however I do like to hear all guest feedback as it helps us to maintain and improve where possible.

Kind regards,

Leigh Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved this place. We were both recovering from prolonged sickness and needed to get away from it all. This hotel was just perfect for that. Towradgi is far enough from Wollongong that it's really quiet, but close enough that if you have a car you can easily get to see everything. We chose to travel by train and the hotel was an easy walk from the station. The hotel is close to a pub with good pub food and an easy walk to the beach, where the Blue Moon cafe does a delicious breakfast and coffee. The hotel breakfast finishes a bit too early for us - at 9.30am - so we only got to try this at the weekend when it extends until 10.00am. We opted to pay extra for full cooked breakfast and enjoyed this along with the all you can eat continental offering. The apartment was almost perfect and a pleasant place to stay. We're fully intending to come back for a longer stay when it's warmer and we're healthy enough to enjoy the surrounds more.

Room Tip: Any room will do - they're all great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualitySuites1, General Manager at Quality Suites Pioneer Sands, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Jen A,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and I’m glad you were both able to enjoy your stay with us. As you mentioned Towradgi train station is close to the hotel being only a 5-10 min walk which makes it easy for guests without a car.
The close-by Towradgi Beach Hotel is a great friendly neighbour serving great pub food and again only a short walk from the hotel (150m) but far enough that you can’t hear any noise.
I’m glad you did get to try our breakfast on the weekend and enjoyed it as we have worked hard on extending our offerings to cater for all our guests.
I look forward to seeing you again at the hotel in the warmer months and I hope you both get well soon.

Kind regards,
Leigh Evans
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
230 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Pioneer Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Pioneer Sands

Address: 19 Carters Lane | Towradgi, Wollongong, New South Wales 2518, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range: $116 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Pioneer Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wollongong's boutique accommodation & conference and events. The Quality Suites Pioneer Sands - is ideally located on the Sydney side of Wollongong at only 55 minutes drive from Sydney Airport. We offer One and Two Bedroom Apartments with large open plan space flowing onto balconies with escarpment or Wollongong skyline views. All apartments feature modern finishes, Austar cable on LCD TV's, internet, air conditioning and fully self contained kitchen facilities. Other facilities include a cafe, outdoor pool, gym spa and onsite business services. This could be your next stop for your business or leisure trip to Wollongong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Pioneer Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing