We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windmill Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Windmill Motel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smelly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Rooms were smelly. We stayed for 2 days, when asked if anyone will clean our room while we were out, owner said no he is the cleaner. Rooms were not serviced properly. Baby cockroaches found under the sink, slug trail behind bed also saw a spider.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammyanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    11
    7
    18
See reviews for
13
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I had driven to Kiama for the day and decided to find somewhere to stay the night because we were too tired to drive home to Sydney. This was the closest motel we could find with availability. It was early Jan and school holidays. We booked froma cafe in Kiama using bookings.com. We drive 30 minutes to the motel and the lovely lady told us there were no vacancies. I told her that I had already booked and paid through Bookings.com. She felt bad for us, and eventually confessed that she had let the cleaner go home early and there were some room available but not clean. She asked us to come back in an hour so she could clean it. Lucky for us the local RSL was a 5 minute walk. We had dinner and went back at 8pm. I must say we paid $259 because it was peak season, and while there is nothing wrong with the room, it certainly wasn't worth $259. Anyway, the room was clean and decent for travellers looking for a restful night, not somewhere I would recommend for a holiday, but nice enough for a drive through.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyleeduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Goodness knows where the picture used for this motel was taken. Whilst staying at the motel I saw no such rooms, capable of providing anything near a sea view! The room was very dark and pokey. Bare brick walls inside made you feel like you where sleeping in a garage. There was a musty smell which seeped into all our clothes. The dining and kitchen area was so old it looked like an electrical hazard. The furniture was very outdated and the beds felt like they should have been replaced years ago.

All in all this was a nights sleep I would rather forget. I believe the motel has been taken over recently so hopefully the new owners can give people something more reminiscent of what is shown in the picture!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frabo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is Woonona, and the photo currently displayed is certainly not taken at this place! Everything was very old (except microwave And tv) and stained with age. We paid extra, $170, because the room had a stained old spa bath in it. Too expensive! The shagpile carpet, and decor, looked 40 years old, furniture was chipped. The staff were lovely, but obviously don't want to spend any money on modernising, and take advantage of those who have few other options and need a room. The bathroom tiles were sticky and we were also scared of touching the carpet, the beds are sagging. I had to laugh at how old it was. It's crazy! On the upside the shampoo and conditioner was good.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Bluemoonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here passing through on long road trip. $145 per night for an outdated (albiet very clean!) room. The furniture was falling apart, the fridge, which looked like a relic from the early '70's made horrid, loud shuddering noises every 30 mins, the bathroom sink was actually not in the bathroom but placed handily under the television in the main room? If I was charged $60-80 for this I wouldn't have minded but I was certainly expecting more for $145, had I not been exhausted I would not have stayed. Positives were it was clean and the staff seemed ok.

Room Tip: I'd be asking to inspect the room before handing over any $$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for a last minute thing, and this was the only place available, no way so it worth the price! If I had paid $60-80 I would not have minded. But not worth the $154 per night, it was very dated, dirty and no was effort made at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katesh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stay in Wollongong often as daughter attended Wollongong University and now works in Wollongong. This trip we left it very late to book O/N accommodation (the day before) and this hotel was the only accommodation left! (Novotel had a room available for $380 !!!!) We had driven past it before and had a bit of an idea about it, so it was offerred was ezactly what we expected.

Firstly, good accommodation in the Gong is very limited and often very expensive, especially on Saturday night. We paid $143 for our stay: usual tariff is much lower at the Windmill but we have seen it even higher on previous online searches.

It met our expectations: the room was clean and comfortable with a good bed (no extra pillows though). Combination sink/vanity in bedroom area a little odd but functional. Shower was huge but a lot of wasted area that could be improved upon with a bit of work.

Traffic noise was better that I thought it would be but a fair bit of other noise from other rooms etc but it was Saturday night in the Gong!!!!!

Staff friendly but offerred no information about breakfast, nearby restaurants in area etc although this is covered via in room information.

Overall, okay for an O/N stay, which is what the motel is setup for. It is pretty typical for lower price Gong accommodation but book early. Better still avoid Saturday nights in the Gong if you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whakatipu2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongong
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
4.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
5.4 mi away
Marketview
Marketview
#7 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill Motel

Property: The Windmill Motel
Address: 491 Princes Highway, Wollongong, New South Wales 2517, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windmill Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Windmill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing