We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only as a last resort”
Review of The Windmill Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windmill Motel
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Canberra
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only as a last resort”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed 1 night, would not stay any more than that. Very dated furniture and appliances and certainly not worth the advertised price. There would be much better options available in town, but this was a last minute thing for us. No comment on staff as we didn't need to interact with them. I'll sum up by saying we kept our shoes on at all times for fear of the condition of the carpet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wannagoagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    12
    7
    19
See reviews for
14
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very outdated rooms, musty smell, cockroaches. Unfriendly service. We were put out the back of the building where it seemed no one else was staying, was a little weird.

Best thing was the cooked breakfast.

Had to stay in 8 different hotels on our trip and this was definitly the worst but not the cheapest.

Was close to shops though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a dump honestly the taps leak the toilet leaks the bathroom is horrible and so small you could sit on the toilet and wash your hand sin the basin at the same time. The door to the bathroom does not fit the doorway and falls off the track if you can get it to move. The rooms smells is dark and the furniture was purchased from st Vincent de Paul 20 years ago I think going by the stains and wear and tear. The fridge rattle when you walk past it and the air con roars at leaf it works I suppose. If I could give this a minuse rating I would.

Room Tip: Check out the reviews on this website before booking in to any motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

It was dirty, unhygienic, falling down in some places, dirty dishes in cupboard, the only good thing was the movie channel

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Reemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

its a bit shabby and old but not that bad if your not fussed. wouldnt recommend for a romantic getaway or anything fancy but its not too bad just for a place to stay. service is good though!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbie_skuxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
5.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.9 mi away
Flinders Motel
Flinders Motel
#11 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill Motel

Property: The Windmill Motel
Address: 491 Princes Highway, Wollongong, New South Wales 2517, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windmill Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Windmill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing