We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older place - but clean and tidy”
Review of Flinders Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flinders Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Older place - but clean and tidy”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here in late November 2013 travelling with my sister to Canberra. Did not book ahead - were lucky to find this accommodation as there was a concert in Wollongong that night and most motels were booked out. Flinders Motel is an older style motel - but clean and tidy. We had a room with twin beds which resembled a deconstructed bunk bed. The beds were comfy, and the bathroom was clean, albeit with old fittings. The fridge was a bit rattly, but you find that with most motel fridges. The Collegians Club is just up the road (5 min walk) which served a very generous meal for a good price. Overall, a good stay, would recommend if you are on a budget and just need a clean place to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    17
    15
    10
See reviews for
14
21
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The main problems with this hotel are it's age, building construction and location. The rooms are small, the walls allow noise to travel through and the traffic noise from the busy road is constant.

But it was reasonably appointed and relatively clean and the management were friendly.

I thought the price was a but high for what you get, but I have no knowledge of other Wollongong motels to compare it to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBushSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I found the managment very friendly and helpfull, room was clean and tidy. I was suprised that i didnt hear any traffic noise and the motel is a short walk to restaurants and clubs, the best thing as there is a thai restaurant on site. Thankyou for a enjoyable stay.
From cooma nsw

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at the Flinders Motel on a recent weekend away to Wollongong. The rooms were an OK size but unmaintained and dirty. The shower hardly worked and the sheets were stained, gross. The photos on the website are professionally taken and adjusted, and not a real reflection of what they are actually like. We found the staff to be unpleasant and rude.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigfoot80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsby, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This place is situated on a busy main road between used car lots and the like. The entire place is very old, as are the jail cell-like rooms and amenities. Some room numbers are completely unmarked, forcing the guest to ask management where their room is even located after fruitlessly wandering around the premises. What is that all about!?

The female manager is extremely rude and has a serious lack of people skills too.

You can get a LOT better for your money!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here n a busy Saturday night and were in town to attend a function. We found the motel neat, clean and comfortable which is all that you want really for our type of visit. We were initially concerned with some noise from other customers when we arrived (loud talkers everywhere), however at night when it counted, it was quiet and easy to sleep.

Only I real criticism was the lack of ceiling fans in the bathroom so relied on open window to de-steam ashen shower operating. However is only a minor thing and can be expected with this type/age of building.

Overall was happy with our stay and would stay here again if we were back in town for a similar visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

When you book a "single" do you expect to get a working man's quarters?? . I didn't and neither did my husband. I stayed at the Flinders as my husband was away and I needed to be out of our home in North Wollongong for a night while tiling was completed. I was very upset with the starkness and coldness of the room, much worse than my son's Campus Uni accommodation across the road at University House, North Wollongong??!! $80 was too much for this depressing single steel bed. :-(

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2711Keith, Manager at Flinders Motel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
I hold very little credence in remarks made by guests when for some unknown reason they are not prepared to approach management during their stay to make mention of there concerns. The room allocated to you was the same room (Room 15) that was praised in this blog on 23rd January 2012.
"This only proves that one size does not fit all, and that the perception of one guest is different to another".
In regard to the student accommodation your son is enjoying during his stay in Wollongong this I understand is a new complex built with tax payers money, and of course would be of the highest standard, and with no expense spared.
Photos of our property can be viewed on our web page. These photo's clearly indicate the size of room (You booked a single room) as well as the style of bed in the room. Our rates are competative with other properties of "similar star rating" within the area. Our guests include Doctors, engineers, military , government employees, as well as students and, as you mention we even allow "working class".
Most guests stay at this property because it is a more affordable property to stay in. Our rates have not risen dramatically over the past 4 years, despite the upgrades that have occured, and continue to occur around the property.
Your rights to stay at an alternative property in Wollongong is your prerogative and would save you any embarasment should you return to this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.9 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
1,419 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flinders Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Motel

Property: Flinders Motel
Address: 19 Flinders St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flinders Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flinders Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing