We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that exciting”
Review of Ha Long Bay

Ha Long Bay
Ranked #166 of 433 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not that exciting”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Average food, over priced, restaurant is clearly Chinese style but sells itself as Vietnamese, service was average and staff were not informative about the menu items.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    48
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great lunch!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a fabulous lunch~ crab and sweet corn soup, Special Fried Rice (which includes beef, shrimp, chicken) and Mongolian Chicken. It was excellent!
Service was a bit slow, I don't know how much English our server spoke, but she was friendly.
This is a small restaurant in town, not a lot of ambience, but the food is awesome! So for people giving poor reviews for ambience, this place isn't set up to be romantic or intimate.
Didn't really find many romantic places in Wollongong.
Will definitely return to Ha Long Bay!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4pamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not the greatest Vietnamese restaurant you will ever eat at but defiantly a step above anything else in the area.
The food tastes great and very fresh. Service is a little lacking and the seating area a little cramped but I always come back ()which should speak for itself).
All in all, would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plumbuma n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed a quick Thursday night meal as we wandered back to our accommodation after a little late night shopping. Staff were efficient, there wasn't a long wait for food and there was adequate staff to serve the full restaurant, obviously keeping an eye on each table and responding promptly to guests. Meals were a good size and well priced. I'd be happy to return to Ha Long Bay next time I'm in Wollongong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average service, average food”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ha Long looks attractive from the outside, and is located in Wollongong's lower eatery district. Unfortunately, looks aren't everything. Despite looking like a mid- to high-class restaurant, it's little more than a fire 'em in/fire 'em out Asian eatery.

Service is perfunctory at best, and rude at worst; we were given three minutes to look at a menu before a sullen waiter asked if we were ready. No drink order offered, no table water, nothing.

We selected a pair of entrees and two mains, and were surprised to be asked if we wanted the entrees first. It didn't matter because one never showed up anyway...

The food is plentiful, but completely lacking in presentation or imagination. Very bland, very middle-of-road stuff. Not what you'd expect looking from the outside in.

It is cheap, and the quantities were large. No thought was given to taking the leftovers home, though.

There are plenty of options at that end of town. Good value and big portions of plain fare, but definitely nothing to write home about.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbo032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha Long Bay also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing