We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ha Long Bay

Ha Long Bay
Ranked #195 of 418 Restaurants in Wollongong
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Enjoyed a quick Thursday night meal as we wandered back to our accommodation after a little late night shopping. Staff were efficient, there wasn't a long wait for food and there was adequate staff to serve the full restaurant, obviously keeping an eye on each table and responding promptly to guests. Meals were a good size and well priced. I'd be happy to return to Ha Long Bay next time I'm in Wollongong.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    45
    13
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ha Long looks attractive from the outside, and is located in Wollongong's lower eatery district. Unfortunately, looks aren't everything. Despite looking like a mid- to high-class restaurant, it's little more than a fire 'em in/fire 'em out Asian eatery.

Service is perfunctory at best, and rude at worst; we were given three minutes to look at a menu before a sullen waiter asked if we were ready. No drink order offered, no table water, nothing.

We selected a pair of entrees and two mains, and were surprised to be asked if we wanted the entrees first. It didn't matter because one never showed up anyway...

The food is plentiful, but completely lacking in presentation or imagination. Very bland, very middle-of-road stuff. Not what you'd expect looking from the outside in.

It is cheap, and the quantities were large. No thought was given to taking the leftovers home, though.

There are plenty of options at that end of town. Good value and big portions of plain fare, but definitely nothing to write home about.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbo032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

When arriving at the restaurant we were rushed to order & not ready at the time. When we ordered Entree's came out burnt, main meals were ok nothing amazing, Chicken Vermicelli Salad(that had been given great reviews) looked like it had been slapped together by my 4 year old, I am sure he could have done a better job. Overall very disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
715 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Exceptionally authentic Vietnamese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Enjoyed this soon after moving to Wollongong. Great food and service despite the very full restaurant. Bookings a must on Fri and Sat nights

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ha Long-Wait Bay Wollongong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed with our dining experience at Ha Long Bay on Saturday night. After arriving at our reservation time we were ushered upstairs into a different section of the restaurant. We were very disappointed as we were expecting to be seated in the main dining area of the restaurant. Not only was the atmosphere in the room bad, the service was terrible. We were made to wait half an hour before our order was taken, no offerings of table water, and rude service. The food finally arrived, which was amazing but we had to ask for cutlery- no serviettes given at all either. Such a shame as we were looking forward to this meal, and the experience cancelled out how great the food was. If you are going to dine at Ha Long Bay do NOT get seated upstairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnieRoonie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ha Long Bay also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing