We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wollongong Keiraleagh Backpackers
Reviewed February 16, 2012

A welcome change from the usually sterilized experience of staying at a "YHA". This place seemed to be an older property, but had nice rooms which were both comfortable and affordable. The kitchen area was functional and the back courtyard was a great place to hang out and get to know fellow travelers in a few common areas. Free internet was a great help as well. Our first night was spent in a 6-share dorm room out back, which had the same bunk-style beds found in most YHAs, We then switched to a double room to get to bed early, and it was lovely and quiet, overlooking the street. When we woke each morning, it appeared that the kitchen and bathrooms had been freshly cleaned. This beautiful character home was a relaxing setting to unwind and recharge. Be sure to admire the beautifully-carved tables and benches in the courtyard!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, the double was a great value and added an extra level of coziness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

Worst backpackers I ever stayed in , rooms are so old and run down ,bedding stunk carport dirty and windows broken smelly place

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WollongongNewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The only positive thing I can say about this place is that it was cheap. I wouldn't stay here again. They take advantage of travelers or students on a budget and provide low grade, poorly maintained accommodation. Here's why:
There was no flywire on the window - I actually went to the hardware store and bought some to put up so I wouldn't get bitten. Unfortunately there was about a dozen mosquitoes already in the room.
There were cockroaches (big ones) in the shower stall.
They promised free internet with the room (probably the main reason I booked) and when I couldn't get online I asked for help and none was forthcoming - the woman on duty just shrugged her shoulders and basically hoped I would go away.
The room had inadequate curtains and virtually no privacy or ability to shut out outside light.
It was noisy and uncomfortable.
When I decided to leave after one night i went down to reception to pay and they said I would have to pay for 3 nights because that was what I booked on the internet. When I said that I expected cleanliness and internet access as advertised they had zero sympathy and just sent me on my way.
NEVER AGAIN - I've stayed in lots of backpackers and this one is LAME.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Lisandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank elpirataAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.4 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,872 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
5.7 mi away
Bulli Beach Tourist Park
6.5 mi away
Southview - Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wollongong Keiraleagh Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wollongong Keiraleagh Backpackers

Address: 60 Kembla St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Wollongong
Price Range: $43 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing