We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, disappointment”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced, disappointment”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Dark, dated, dinghy. Uncomfortable double bed. Paint peeling in sheets off the ceiling and cornice, chipped paint on the wardrobe, brown plastic light switch shedding its white paint 'makeover'. Tap that dripped no matter what, shower door that would not close. Very noisy bathroom fan. Thin, tired looking green towels, dinghy decor in the room. dirty and threadbare carpet in places and on the stairs and back entry. Blanket thin and felt like sackcloth. - Did not promote their restaurant - which was very pricey considering alternatives by the water. On the plus side - two spare pillows, good location, clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We acknowledge, that an upgrade is needed an ongoing issue that may take time to resolve. We do not know if you did come to our restaurant. We hope you still enjoyed your stay. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel we offer good value given our location and facilities. However in your case it appears we failed to meet your expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    34
    17
    10
See reviews for
12
37
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here for a concert. The motel is a lot older than it looks in the pictures - I think showing pics at night makes it a bit deceptive. Lady at front desk was nice, the room was quite old and small for a family room. Really needs updating. The street noise was terrible, I had a great deal of trouble sleeping as did my young children. The shower was a positive - awesome water pressure :) tv's desperately need updating, ours only had 3 channels that worked, one was fuzzy still. Made for a long night! Location is convenient. I wouldn't stay here again, would rather pay the extra and stay at the Novotel etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solemn-Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our location close to the beach and easy access the the City,can mean extra street activity on weekends. as much as we try to contain it. Renovation is an issue with the age of the building , it may take time to resolve. Sorry you have left wth a negative impression of our motel. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Easily found in Wollongong, this motel was somewhat disappointing. The hallways and room were very dated and old fashioned and were in need of refurbishment. The bathroom, although of a fair size, was dark and dingy and could also do with some work. The room, though, was clean and tidy, the Air Conditioning worked fine and the bed was comfortable, although a little small. I'm afraid that I found the foreign lady on reception a little scary and not very welcoming, but that may be just her way, I suppose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We do have an old motel, changes are an ongoing issue which may take some time to resolve. We are glad that your room was comfortable. We always try to make our guests feel welcome and have a home away from home experience. We are sorry that you felt somewhat intimidated. It is not in keeping with how we greet our guests. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I travel a lot for both work and pleasure & I have to say that the bed in this motel was the worst I have ever slept in. It was hard & uncomfortable.The room was also very small & the shower screen very dodgy but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that you did not feel comfortable,we apologize. We take our feed back seriously, and try to make it as comfortable as possible, changing things is ongoing and all areas may take time to resolve. We are truly sorry that you left with a negative impression. Kindest regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
977 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This motel is advertised with words such as clean, friendly, homely, comfortable. I found the claims to be true when I stayed for two nights while attending a conference at Wollongong University.
The building dates from the 1960s I'd guess, and can't have been the best to start with, and while it's kept in clean and neat condition it's far from flash. Noise levels would depend upon who was in adjoining rooms and how many cars were coming and going. The bathrooms, paint colours, fittings etc are all dated. My shower didn't work too brilliantly (hot water is slow to arrive). So if you want to feel great about your deluxe hotel vacation, don't go here. But if you're OK with provincial motels you'll probably find this quite OK, and the price is about right for what you get.
To access the uni and the city you have a shuttle bus that stops nearby; North Wollongong station is a five to ten minute walk (about four blocks, on other side of highway); and there's a taxi rank opposite. The beach is close.
I tried the restaurant for an evening meal and had good service despite the staff being busy looking after a big group of locals having a pre-Xmas celebration. The menu features the tried and true e.g. fish and chips, cheesecake.
The proprietors are pleasant and unassuming and do their best to be helpful.
Overall I agree with KFP777 and Stephen R.

Room Tip: Talk to the proprietors about your preferences. (I phoned before booking.) Note there is no lift (el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alys-Schatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We understand we may not have met with your expectations. We are taking note of our reviews as where we can do better. The motel was originally a Private Hotel built in 1946 and is in keeping with its original look. Renovation is an ongoing issue that may take time to resolve We are glad that the location was convenient for you. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

While in need of a makeover,the hallways are rather dingy, the owners were very friendly and helpful, and the location was exceptionally convenient. Our room was comfortable and we had a good stay overall. There was free wi-fi in the lobby which was a really rare and nice thing. If you do not have unreasonably high expectations this is a nice place to stay. I'd call it 2 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlanticTyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad that you were comfortable. We acknowledge that the motel need some upgrades. It is an ongoing issue that may take some time to resolve.You will be happy to know that since your visit we have upgraded the Wi Fi, which allows good reception in all of the guests rooms and any part of the motel. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My second stay at the Normandie and I was just as happy as the first time. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The owners are super-nice and helpful. I felt like I was staying with them rather than just staying in their hotel. The restaurant downstairs is decent and I love hanging out in the bar. The downstairs bar and small family run hotel give me a slightly European feel which I really enjoy. And it's all very affordable!

Room Tip: The road is not busy at night, so I'm not sure this matters much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vbinCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It feels rewarding to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the feel of the place. It has always been a home away from home and we want to keep the character of the place with gradual changes in keeping. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Beydon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
1,517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Park Motel
Beach Park Motel
#9 of 15 in Wollongong
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Property: Normandie Motel
Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing