We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, nice, and central”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed one night at the Normandie. Room was large, comfortable and included tea making, fridge and new TV. Beautiful old hotel. Reception staff was lovely. Very convenient for the North Wollongong rail station (3-4 blocks walk). Quiet and bright. Would recommend again.

Room Tip: Corner room was sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian_from_Tasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review . We are happy that we made you feel comfortable. You are always welcome. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a homely 3-star hotel that is quite the rare thing – not the bland palaces of the big hotels.

This property is nothing flash. If you want flash, go to the Novotel up the road. But it is clean, neat, and comfy.

The couple running it have been there for the last 2 years (I forget their names), and are seeking to carry on the good reputation of the property built up by the previous owners. And they are doing well.

We were on a 2-room suite on the 1st floor (bedroom and lounge room). Everything was comfy and well appointed. There is a bar fridge (empty), enabling us to store sandwich ingredients (there is a general store just across the street and down a bit). The television is an older tube model attached to the wall; but we are not big TV fans, so did not switch it on.

The bathroom is rather small, but again see my statement above – not flash, but clean and comfy. The unguents are liquids dispensed by push-buttons, so you might like to bring your own soap and shampoo if you prefer.

There is PLENTY of car parking if you include the back of the building (and this is pointed out in the room guide).

The property is very handy to the free and frequent Gong Shuttle bus to downtown Wollongong and to the University. The North Wollongong railway station (express trains to Sydney) is about 10 minutes walk away. There is also a taxi rank across the street from the property.

The Normandie is also very handy to North Wollongong Beach, 2 blocks away.

We can’t comment on the restaurant as we did not use it.

The only down side was our mildly noisy neighbours who noisily wandered the corridors conversing as they retired for the night (including one who inexplicably banged on our door). But they settled down by 11pm. Whilst there is no 24-hour reception service, you can still deal with these problems by ringing or sending a txt to the night manager (whose number is clearly displayed at reception and the front door).

All in all, a good choice for accommodation in Wollongong – especially if you are paying your own bill.

Room Tip: The (one) balcony suite is only fractionally more expensive than the other rooms, but has 2 rooms pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandiemotel, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for for taking the time to share your experiences at Normandie . We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are reading our reviews, for feedback as to know what we are doing well and what we can do better. It is a home away from home. It is a small boutique Motel all the rooms are different sizes, being retro built in 1946, it has its own character.
Thank you too for mentioning the area, there are a lot of different things to do in Wollongong. We have an information folder in the rooms highlighting what is around for guests convenience. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We travelled from Brisbane to attend a family wedding in North Wollongong and stayed overnight at The Normandie in early March 2012. We booked a Queen Bed room. It was very small but did the job for what we needed. The linen and room/bathroom were clean. The hotel was about a 5 minute walk from the wedding venue.....and that's where the positives end. The bed was rock hard - we could feel the springs poking into us when we were lying down. The air conditioner was loud. We were advised at the time of booking that breakfast was included in our rate, however when checking out we were advised differently and were charged $50 for two meals of bacon and eggs! All in all the rates were expensive for what we got. I would not recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kopo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Friendly staff, location to the north of city but still walking distance, clean comfortable rooms, overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbc1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We knew we wouldn't get sea views, but we were promised "city views" but all we got was a "view" of a wall. Just as well really, because we couldn't see out the windows, they were so filthy. We selected the wrong place. Too far out of the way. I must say one of the staff, a Latvian girl was very friendly. I suggested to the clerk on duty the following day that we didn't get what was advertised, and he kinda said in not so many words.... So?

Room Tip: Poor quality fittings,hot water in shower intermittent (at best) a/c good, tea making good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynne_bill_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This hotel is now under new management and reviews pre November 2010 may be inaccurate!! It will be interesting to see what patrons think? It is hard to follow such a great reputation.
My husband and I have used this hotel for short stays in the area but sadly no more.

Room Tip: check all others in price range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stillatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farraniii, Owner at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

In response to message from the person who does not intend to come here anymore. Unfortunately we've never met you. We understand that you were the person that e-mailed us asking for accommodation, not advising your circumstances. Yes we are new management and we have a good reputation to follow. We don't know you and not aware of any special arrangement you had prior to us. Our tariffs have not changed since the previous management. We have reduced rates for Seniors and specials from time to time.
The ambiance of our our Motel has not changed. We aim to please and hope people enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed at the Normandie because previous reviews gave it top marks, and it compared favourably in price to the otherwise ludicrous motel prices in Wollongong. This is a tiny city that does NOT cater to tourists but the motels charge top dollar anyway.

To give it credit, the Normandie was quiet and clean and the staff were friendly, but I can't find any other positives, and I am NOT a person who normally complains. In this instance I don't want others to be led astray.

The mattress on my bed was as hard as a rock and lumpy, and an inner spring 'spronged' through the night.

The TV was tiny and a fair distance from the bed on a shelf so was hard to see. The towels were old, and the decor was somewhat dated. Another minor irritation was that no decaf coffee was provided.

My biggest annoyance though was the apparently free wifi access. There was no access in the room due to poor signal strength (unfortunately the only good signal strength on offer was from a neighbour :-) I was told that the signal strength being poor was due to the battery on my laptop not being able to pick it up, which is just a nonsense answer...! Free wifi is a basic requirement for many people now, it should not be so hard to organise.

This could be a good motel easily with a little more TLC and a few more routers for the wifi, but I won't stay there again. Poor value for a highly priced 3 star room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valdajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 2, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

It is disappointing that you had such a negative experience, whilst staying in Wollongong. We would however wish to respond to the comments the guest has made.

Over the past two years Wollongong has increased its sleeping capacity with over 700 new beds, with 4 new serviced apartments & the recent addition of a new International hotel. We are proud of the facilities that Wollongong has to offer to the tourist industry.

As Wollongong moves into its peak tourist season prices increase & we at the Normandie offer competitive rates for a mid range, AAA rated 3 star, motel in the North Beach area.

We would like to thank the guest for the positive feed back regarding the staff & the cleanliness of the motel.

We have undertaken to rectify the issue regarding bedding & new towels are replenished on a regular basis.

Refurbishment of rooms are on going & are currently being undertaken.

The TV in the room occupied by this guest is a 51cm HD LCD TV & whilst it is not a large TV it is situated within 5 mtrs of the bed head.

The Normandie recognises the necessity for Internet access & past guest reviews have commented on the strength or an inability to receive a signal in a minority of our rooms. Due to the age & structure of the Normandie a quick fix is not that simple, we are seeking a solution.
Most of our rooms have excellent access to WiFi.

Battery strength & laptop age can affect the ability to receive a strong WiFi signal. Where guests cannot receive a solid signal the use of the guest lounge is suggested for a guaranteed signal strength, this was offered to this reviewer

We acknowledge that in todays age WiFi access by accommodation providers is a must, unfortunately free Wifi is a luxury

Mark Fisher
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
1,860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmore All Suite Hotel
Belmore All Suite Hotel
#1 of 11 in Wollongong
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range: $91 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing