We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alabaster Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taree
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average ....”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

When reaching Taree we just wanted to rest up for the long journey home next day. The motels exterior looked reasonable and it was apparent that some renovation/refurbishment was taking place. The owner was on the phone when we went to check in and while waiting we noticed the mess of paperwork on the desk and floor plus an ashtray that needed a good clean, when finally off the phone the owner was very friendly and chatty (perhaps a little too much) and he told us he had had Managers in previously who had let the motel run down and he was now trying to refurbish and build it back up. Our room was spacious, the bed was the most comfy I've come across in a motel as were the pillows (left ours in the car that night), plenty of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate. Carpets were new. The bathroom area is very outdated and the toilet continued to run overnight, however with careful planning there is potential for a large clean and modern bathroom. Owner didn't require payment on check in unless you planned to leave early - as compendium in room said office opened at 7am didn't think we'd be leaving early ..... however at 7 am office was not open, we rand door bell, we dialled from our room, we rang from our mobiles but no answer - son of owner appeared from a top floor unit and even he couldn't get into the office or raise anyone, after wasting 25 minutes we gave the son our room key and told him we would ring through our card details that evening which we did. Three days later payment has yet to go from our card. Whilst management skills seem a little lax, our stay was comfortable and reasonably priced. On the northern side of town there are several eateries opposite.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before checking in - and pay on check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valsie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    24
    10
    17
See reviews for
60
41
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowra, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Recently I booked a room at this motel using the motels own website. On arrival no room was available as the person who deals with on line reservations was away. I was not offered any apology for this mix up and no offer was made to try to ring other motels to see if a room could be found. I find this to be extremely bad (inefficient) service, if a business is going to offer on line service then someone should be available to deal with this service. I do not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taree hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

It all started ok the room we booked was not what we got! The manger took it apon him self to put us in a smaller room and charge us the same rate!

Then only to find out when we went out to a function and leaving the air con on as it was about 35 degrees to come back and have it turned off?? Why did they enter our room at all what else did they take look at?? Creepy!!

Husband and Wife team the are just rude and down right horrid!!

Don't stay here find anything else at all just no this place!!

From
Very Disapointed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sakina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashley m, Owner at Alabaster Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi this is Ashley Moore at the Alabaster Motor inn
we have taken the motel back from the our old tenant after 6 years
we are renovating the motel we are very sorry that you wear treated in that way
because of these reviews we terminated his less VERY SORRY

yours sincerely yours
Ashley moore
alabastermotorinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Inner West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked this hotel for my parents, they said that the stay was great and would stay again without hesitation. Great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank Sephora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxenford qld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Second time stayed here,it is a little old but I found it clean and quite,good restaurant attached with big servings at reasonable price also licenced.
When I went to check out I told manager I had a golden chain card or Racq card but she quickly told me I should have produced it when I booked in and wasn't giving me any discount,thats fine her attitude convinced me that I will stay elswhere next time.

Room Tip: show your discount card when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Manager was satisfactory. we had no complaints about the room warm and clean and comfortable although just a tad tired looking... wonderful little bar and grill attached to the motel that i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just stayed here overnight and it met our needs. Clean, quiet and with places to eat nearby (on-site reataurant closed the night we were there). Easy to find and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taree hotels
1.6 mi away
All Seasons Country Lodge
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Marco Polo
1.5 mi away
Taree Motor Inn
Taree Motor Inn
#12 of 15 in Taree
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 15 in Taree
317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midlands Motel
Midlands Motel
#2 of 15 in Taree
91 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riverview Motor Inn
Riverview Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Taree
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alabaster Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alabaster Motor Inn

Property: Alabaster Motor Inn
Address: 23-25 Oxley St | Old Pacific Highway, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Taree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alabaster Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Alabaster Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing