We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bowers Cafe - CLOSED

Bowers Cafe
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bowers Cafe & Gallery is set overlooking the rolling hills of Kolodong with a peaceful rural outlook. Bowers delights in making all food in house, using the freshest local produce and serving locally roasted coffee. Perfect for functions and intimate weddings. Only 5 minutes from Taree and Wingham.
Taree, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We used to frequent here many times and food was good. Visited after new owners took over and the food was fantastic and despite being full service was a lot quicker than it used to be. I had grilled fish and rice pilaff with Bisque sauce. Fish was a tad over salty but was so yummy. After school holidays finish we'll be back and i hope the fish is still there :) I love the outlook and on sunny days the kids can run outside - though i do love just when hubby and i go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taree
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The food here is incredibly reasonably priced, and tastes fantastic! Also loved looking out over the countryside - cows included :). What a lovely lovely place with fabulous food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

A friend and I went to Bowers on a Sunday morning. I'm not sure if the breakfast buffet was only for Mothers Day or if it's a usual Sunday thing, but if so I highly recommend it. The bacon, scrambled eggs and thick toast were great, and so filling I didn't eat for the rest of the day. It was so nice sitting by the window, with the sun on my back, gazing at the rolling fields and display of autumn leaves, while eating breakfast and sipping a cappuccino. The service was friendly and the views stunning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Bowers Cafe and Gallery is a hidden gem in the Manning Valley. It’s tucked away on Kolodong Road just off Wingham Road between Taree and Wingham which means it probably gets overlooked by visitors and locals. If that’s the case then they’re missing out on one of the finest outlooks in the valley and one of the best cafe experiences they could have.

The laid back atmosphere is the ultimate in relaxation and I visited here recently on a lazy Sunday afternoon with friends. You can’t help settle in to relaxed mode and delay leaving, especially when the weather is great. From experience, the weather can be anything and it’s a treat watching the changes from the verandah with closed in full view glass doors or open option.

The menu is quality cafe range and the standard is typically spot on. The specials are always worth waiting for. On this last visit I opted for a simple chicken, avocado on Turkish sandwich. The chicken was sliced and grilled to perfection and sandwich assembled and served with a garnish of salad on the side. Just simply and beautifully done. Water to the table without question and bright, friendly, capable staff who never have a problem with any request. If you’re a dessert person, get in early in the day. They seem to go quickly because they’re made in house and they’re good – slices of tart, cheesecake etc. Lounges in the cafe also give you the option of the very laid back option of a catch up with friends over coffee. On the way in I think I noticed a coffee/tea and a muffin deal. I can highly recommend the lemon and coconut muffins – warm with butter. Divine.

Children are welcome and strangely enough, I've never noticed ‘unruly’ ones getting too unruly for too long. I think it must be the atmosphere and the fact that there is a large expanse of grassed area outside that they can stretch their legs on if they feel like it in full view of their parents.

Bowers always has a local artist exhibiting their work in the cafe which makes each visit interesting and often colourful. It’s great to see locals supporting locals I think.

Bower’s Cafe and Gallery is definitely worth a visit for visitors and locals alike. Great food and great value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“gorgeous place to meet up with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had brunch, the food was excellent, service excellent and the view beautiful and relaxing. We have enjoyed many lunches, dinners and functions at the wonderful Cafe and we can recommend it highly, it is one of our favourite places.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenniferC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowers Cafe also viewed

Taree, New South Wales
Taree, New South Wales
 
Taree, New South Wales
Taree, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing