We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverview Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Taree
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate for an overnight stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to break up the long road trip from Sydney to Brisbane. There a quite a lot of motels in Taree, and we chose this one for its good reviews and apparent proximity to the highway. For the price paid, we found it to be adequate for our needs.
The owners and staff were extremely helpful and polite at check-in, and in fact at all times. We decided to eat at the little restaurant since we were too tired to go out, and since it was very quiet, the staff offered to bring our dinner up to our room. We enloyed a very nice steak dinner, complete with a bottle of red whilst sitting in our little room overlooking the river.
The room itself was quite spacious, typical of a roadside motel - not luxury by any means but comfortable. The bathroom was spotless, the bed was comfy, with soft sheets( always a winner for me) and flat screen tv added a modern touch. The only negative thing about the room was that the little couch was very grubby and in fact smelled rather bad - but nothing that a good steam clean wouldn't fix. Everything is just a bit mismatched, but that just adds to the charm!
The continental breakfast was fine - just what you would have at home - coffee, cereal, fruit, toast etc all as a help yourself buffet. Again not luxurious, but at $89 a night breakfast is an absolute bonus.
In summary, if you want luxury - go elsewhere, but if you just need a place to crash for the night and have realistic expectations as to what a country roadside motel is all about then this one will do quite nicely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank myoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    19
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
60
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked two rooms in late January for an overnight stay on our way North and enjoyed our brief stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the Motel people were very friendly and helpful. In the morning we had a free breakfast, which was fine. You can pay a little extra for a full cooked breakfast but we were happy with fruit, cereal, juice, coffee etc. I cannot understand the recent bad review here, as we found this stopover to more than acceptable and worth the price. I guess there's no pleasing some people!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just read the last review and find the comments extremely surprising as I found the owners to be a complete opposite of the description given. I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights and found the owners to be extremely helpful and friendly. The motel room was excellent, very spacious and clean. The lounge alcove was fantastic with river views and lots of room to work on my computer. The free wifi was a good speed which is a bonus for someone travelling and working. The shower was great with excellent pressure and temperature. Sleeping was not an issue as the bed was very comfortable. Overall I was very impressed by the facilities and service and will definately stay here next time I come to Taree.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Revoltingly rude,stupid and unhelpful staff.Was unfortunate enough to stay very recently,and was disgusted.Told that room unavailable for many hours (despite previously mentioned check in time) due to a full house night before.Was told that staff were working to get it clean,and "that's pretty good in this heat" (NOT MY PROBLEM.I BOOK AND PAY,YOU PROVIDE.My frtiends and i forced to stay in 45+degree heat due to this.Then,a bunch of people came in that night,made a racket,yet MY HUSBAND was accused of being the noisy one,and my friend (who has a learning disability) was asked if he was drunk,as he locked his keys in his room.Lastly,a receipt was asked for in the morning (as it was a tax reason we were unfortunately here) and it was rudely declined and no real resolution was offered.The owner don't have any sort of people skills,are rude in the extreme and you just feel as though you are the biggest imposition to them.DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR...IF YOU HAVE TO BE IN THIS GODFORSAKEN PLACE,GO ELSEWHERE.

Room Tip: IF YOU HAVE TO BE IN THIS TRAUMATISING part of the planet (and iv'e been to Eastern Europe and A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancaisChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewTaree, Owner at Riverview Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Madam
Check in is 2.00pm. Not 10am. Yes we had a full house the night before and guests were still leaving. You were previously told check in is 2pm yet you still arrived early???
As other guests complained about the loud noise that your party was making .Anti social behaviour will not be tolerated that is why you were asked to quiet down. We were close to calling the police to help have you removed. Your friend with the learning disability was pestering other guests and it was them that insulted him . I don't know how that's my fault. perhaps you could look after him a little better. As far as locking himself out of the room if I had to get out of bed one more time to let him in charges would have applied.
Tax invoices are issued in the office during office hours not in the breakfast room during the peak rush.
Please do me a favour and go elsewhere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I booked online using Trip Advisor and eas impressed that by the time i had arrived all was taken care of. I was greeted with a smiling face and welcoming demeanor. Room was clean and homely. Breakfast was adequate and overall good value for money. I would recommend this motel to any over night stayer.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltonjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here twice to break up the Chritmas Sydney trip (one night each way), this property is really nice, clean, nice rooms with a loverly view. Very friendly owners. This is a very relaxing stop over. Will now always be part of our sydney journeys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karuah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed at the River view with the wife and and a friend. Everything was first class and will be staying there again. Terry, the owner/manager was very welcoming, offered us a choice of rooms, we opted for one upstairs with a lovely river view. The room was a standard level of quality, beds were comfy, nice LCD tv, shower was superb, tons of pressure with no hot/cold issues. We had the free breakfast each morning in the restaurant, coffee/tea cereal, toast, juice, yoghurt, fruit etc. Very well located motel, newsagent across the road, pub and shops are a short walk. Missus loved the free wi-fi, even the room service staff were super nice. For the budget price, It's well worth a visit, Thank's Terry & Girls, see you next time.

Room Tip: Upstairs room had a lovely breeze from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 887john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taree hotels
7.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Marco Polo
8.4 mi away
All Seasons Country Lodge
8.5 mi away
Taree Motor Inn
Taree Motor Inn
#12 of 15 in Taree
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Crescent Motel
Crescent Motel
#1 of 15 in Taree
341 reviews
8.7 mi away
No photo provided
Taree Country Motel
#10 of 15 in Taree
27 reviews
8.0 mi away
In Town Motor Inn
In Town Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Taree
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Motor Inn

Property: Riverview Motor Inn
Address: Pacific Hwy (North Side) | 8 Crescent Avenue, Taree, New South Wales 2430, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Taree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Taree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverview Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taree motel accommodation on the mid north coast of NSW. River View Motor Inn provides 20 spacious motel style units overlooking the magnificent Manning River approximately 3½ hours north of Sydney. At the River View we have a range of modern comfortable units ranging from single to double room family units as well as some self contained with cooking facilities. All units are serviced daily. Discounts available for group bookings. Breakfast & dinner are available directly to your room or from our fully licensed restaurant. As the new owners of the River View Motor Inn we would like to welcome you to our establishment. Our main focus is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation complimented by personal service in a friendly atmosphere. Terry and Barbara Cook ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riverview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing