We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sandwiches but very slow”

Colonial Kitchen Coffee Lounge
Ranked #7 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Tamworth
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Great place to sit down for lunch when you have time.
Good well made sandwiches.
Reasonably prompt for order taking.
Very slow on preparation of food however with only a moderate level of business.
Do not recommend for take away and definitely not the place to go if you are in a hurry.
Would also prefer not to be called "Honey" by service staff and especially by one so young.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank AusBear2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2019

We always try and eat here when we are in Tamworth, so on our way home we had breakfast here. My husband had a big breakfast and I chose pancakes. It was explained to us that they couldn't serve them exactly at the same time but after cooking the big breakfast they would clean up the hotplate and then cook mine. We both enjoyed our meals, and there wasn't much time between service as my husband was still eating when my pancakes arrived. the pancakes were very delicious and my husband really enjoyed his big breakfast

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudeNorthernNSW_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

We often stop here for coffee and something to eat when we are in Tamworth. The place is always spotlessly clean, service is great, which makes it a great stop.
We have noticed that lots of places serve very thick raisin toast but when we ordered the thin sliced raisin toast it was cut to suit us. There is nothing worse that trying to eat the very thick raisin toast that is common in today's menu but here it was sliced thin to perfection

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudeNorthernNSW_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Great people service great coffee good but cash only which was annoying. Great value for money cant complain. Burgers for sure.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bailongsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

The lady who took our order was nice enough, went downhill from there. The tea cup and cutlery presented to us was dirty. When the waitress was asked for a clean cup, you could see she wasn't happy about it. Not a word was spoken, no apology, nothing. When our Quiche Lorraine & salad arrived, the salad looked limp, and was quite warm. Appears to have been out of the fridge all day. Lacked any sense of freshness or crunch. The quiche was a bit disappointing, one of the smallest serves I have ever had.
Bring cash if you dare to try, they don't do EFT of any sort.
Over all, a Colonial Like it or lump it attitude.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin_551491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Kitchen Coffee Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Kitchen Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing