We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
“Best of Best Western”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a long arduous trip to Tamworth for a family funeral and chose the Sanctuary Inn for its close proximity to the church. Thankyou for our clean cosy room, hot shower, scrumptious dinner and hot breakfast promptly served after a phone call to announce that it has left the kitchen. Above all - thankyou for your hospitality. Lesleigh and Fred

Room Tip: We had a south side room so it was quiet but we sat next to the window in the dining room on the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    85
    48
    22
    15
See reviews for
40
87
22
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alstonville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am sales rep and stay all over NSW and Qld. This motel was terrible. I booked std room. Chairs were stained and dirty. Cupboards were worn out with veneer lifting away. Laminate in bathroom was coming away from chipboard. Balck mould in bathroom. Cost was far too high for quality of room. Dining room main meals were mostly over $30. Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sgre6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn293, Director of Sales at Best Western Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider, staying with us again, so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Please note our main courses in the Lobby restaurant start at $19.95 and from Mondays to Thursday, we offer a three course set menu for $29.95. If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was sent to this motel on a business trip, coming from the city I was not expecting much, but as soon I arrived I was greeted so nicely by the reception staff and was efficiently checked into my room, which to my surprise was just beautiful! I loved the attention to detail in the decor, the bed was lovely and big and very comfortable. The furniture was stylish and very cosy. Dinner in the lobby restaurant was delish! Very nice wine selection and the food was fresh and soo tastey! My business trip was so pleasant that I have rebooked a weekend for my partner and I for our anniversary. I found the motel to be so elegant and romantic and am having cravings for the delicious meal I had! Can't wait for our weekend :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bently20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here on the way back to Sydney
$135 for an unrenovated room
Issues - poor lighting / noisy airconditioner / howling gale under the door (needs a draft excluder)
Bed was comfortable
However in the morning we discovered that there was only 1 towel

when i raised this with reception on checking out was told that we should have rung housekeeping - yes perhaps we should have but since it was -1C (and it felt not much warmer in the room) i didn't want to sit there and drip while i waited for them - so we used the robe u had in the cupboard.
Why was the room so cold? - see comment about the need for a draught excluder! and the noisy air conditioner.
At 1am when I couldn't sleep with the sound I pulled out the spare blanket and turned the a/c off.
We were warm enough with the spare blanket - but could have done without the dirty / musty smell of the blanket.

The receptionist stated that she would speak to housekeeping - no apology though!
Ate in the restuarant - patchy service but lovely food
expensive - would pay less for the same meal in sydney

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn293, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I was disappointed to read about the incidents that you raised and wish to respond as follows:-

We supply all our guest rooms with a luxurious draft stopper which as stated by you are necessary on chilli winter evenings. All our air conditioners work efficently and quietly and when run constantly on low speed, produce a warm toasty room. Please also not that all our spare blankets are laundered on a regular basis and we consider the cleanliness and freshness of the hotel paramount. We can only apologise for the one towel, human error as there should have been 3 towels in your room. Your feedback helps our team improve their performance to keep our customers satisfied, we strive to continously improve the quality of our services. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next more positive visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My wife and I were traveling to Sydney through tamworth. We choose to stay at the sanctuary because of the wireless to both work from our computer despite of the room chargers being so ridiculously expensive considering we were going to use the room for 7 hrs. The so called expensive "renovated" rooms looks very old, crack in the middle of the room, reverse cycle not even heat properly. Anyway back to wireless we called reception and the old lady answered "we can only give one so one of you can use wireless only and the other have to pay $7" why not advertise???? This same old lady was rude when I walked in for the first time to ask how much was the room was and she replied "there's cheap hotels on the other street. How rude !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PNas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn293, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Sanctuary Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I was unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy our premier room. As of consequence to your complaint all room occupants now receive unlimited compliementry Wi Fi. Unfortunately due to a recent earth quake we have noticed a few cracks in rooms, and our maintenance crew are attending to the continuence up keep of the property. I hope you can revisit us again soon and enjoy the experience. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We passed through Tamworth on our way to a family get together staying one night only. We booked into a premium room and were we delighted and surprised at the decor, quality and exceptional finish the large quiet room provided. King sized bed, fire place, freestanding bath in the bedroom and all the essentials items that a woman needs even bath robes and an ironing board were an inclusion. The restaurant was as good as any in Sydney and the staff were friendly providing exceptional service. Just loved the cocktail area with a fire place and lounge chairs. Wow!! thank you for a great experience and to top it all off a lovely breakfast before we left.. A rare find for Tamworth and a highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: Choose Room 55 or similar for a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this property for one night only while on a recent business trip to Tamworth. The rooms were well presented, modern and clean. We had dinner in the restaurant which is also beautifully presented and for hotel food was quite good.

The location is prefect, close to town and easy to get in and out of. Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allbeefpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
1.3 mi away
Mercure Tamworth
Mercure Tamworth
#11 of 32 in Tamworth
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Tamworth
Quest Tamworth
#4 of 32 in Tamworth
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Tamworth
Ibis Styles Tamworth
#21 of 32 in Tamworth
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#5 of 32 in Tamworth
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ashby House Motor Inn
Ashby House Motor Inn
#9 of 32 in Tamworth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sanctuary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sanctuary Inn

Property: Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Address: 293 Marius Street | New England Highway, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Sanctuary Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tamworth
#12 Business Hotel in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Sanctuary Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Sanctuary Inn Tamworth offering 4 star award winning accommodation and an award winning restaurant Riviera Bar & Grill. The motel is located just a few moments walk from the city centre, Woolworths & Bicentennial Park. The motel and restaurant were the winner of the 2016 Tamworth Chamber of Commerce Quality Business Awards for outstanding customer service in hospitality for Tamworth. All our guest rooms are well-appointed boasting HD LCD large TV’s with 40 free channels of Foxtel, air-conditioning, free high speed wireless broadband internet throughout the motel, King Koil mattresses, crisp white sheets, bath robes & oversized fluffy white towels. Revive, unwind and relax, while indulging in our salt water pool, spa and BBQ area. Our multiple award winning restaurant has something for everyone featuring Italian, Mediteranean and French food open 7 days. Our motel is the perfect place to hold your next conference or business meeting. Featuring multiple convention and meeting spaces with flexible floor plans for your next event to suit your requirements. Our motel has 3 dedicated Pet friendly rooms, so enquire today about taking your best friend on your next trip to Tamworth! The Sanctuary Inn is within a 10 minute drive to the Tamworth Regional Entertainment Centre, Australian Equine Centre, hockey, football and basketball stadiums, the Tamworth Base Hospital and the Tamworth Racecourse. Children under 12 stay FREE and don’t forget to claim your Qantas Frequent Flyer points at check out (conditions apply). For professional customer service and a central location in Tamworth, make a reservation at the Best Western Sanctuary Inn today! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sanctuary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tamworth
Tamworth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing