We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Edward Parry Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edward Parry Motel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopping overnight with a family of four, it was a pleasure to stay in such a clean and comfortable motel. We'll be back again. Excellent beds and facilities. Only complaint is that we booked for four but the kitchen only had settings for three.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks very much for taking time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and well appointed.

Please accept our apologies for the oversight in regard to the number of cutlery sets in your apartment. I quick call to reception,and we could have remedied that for you.

We continue to invest in our rooms and apartments, and we have literally just ordered new leather lounges to go into our self contained apartments.

We hope that you might choose to stay with us again , when you next need to overnight in Tamworth.

Regards
Kay Sweeney
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    85
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
103
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Sticking with our recent rural theme we found ourselves needing a night in Tamworth. Lived in Gunnedah for several years back, but Tamworth has grown since then and become a focus of a range of activities most notably the Tamworth Country Music Festival.

With its popularity has come numerous accommodations options and all not that inexpensive. Onto the web and ended up at the Edward Parry Hotel. It's one of many roadside motels in Tamworth. We rang as we approached Tamworth to confirm our early evening arrival time and were assured there would be no problems. We arrived to an empty office, but before we had opened our car door we were greeted by a smiling and welcoming face not behind the counter, but at their office door. We were quickly booked in complete with advice for eating options and felt like we had caught up with an old friend. The 4 1/2 trip advisor rating framed on the back wall of the office seemed to be worthy from our first impressions.

They were reasonably busy but had still tried to spread the booking out with a vacant room between the guests. The rooms modern, tidy and well appointed with hanging room, the beds super comfortable, A/c, bathtub/ shower, bar fridge, mirrors and free wireless that worked. Only problem the iron was sus as they nearly always are. Sure they would have swapped it if we had asked. The rooms were also quiet from traffic, though you could hear each guests leave in the morning. There is plenty of room for a lounge (fold out) and a table and chairs in the room The flat screen tv also had Foxtel.

We were impressed and understand why it's getting its trip advisor rating. Well deserved from what we experienced.

Room Tip: I would take a room at top of the block so people are less likely to be walking past in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks so very much for your generous review.

We pride ourselves on the genuine hospitality we offer our guests, and hope that people feel as though they are a welcomed, and valued, guest when they choose to stay with us.

We are also proud to offer guests - rooms that are clean, comfrotable and well maintained, with additional complimentary services such as wireless internet, gym passes and Foxtel.

We hope to see you back here again when your travels take you through Tamworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Quick overnight stay in Tamworth - very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. Bonus when the wife found the room had a bath!!! Easy to find location & very straight forward check in. Beds were extremely comfortable. Can't rate the breakfast as we didn't order it. One small issue was due to the front window not having an keyed internal lock - our 6 y/o son somehow got up during the night & opened it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneP290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. As owner operators, we take great pride in the cleanliness and presentation of our rooms. After our housekeeping staff have been through and cleaned, the room is then rechecked by management to ensure nothing has been overlooked.

You have mentioned the lovely comfortable beds. The majority of our beds are less than 6 months old and are luxury pillowtops. The feedbnack from guests have been fabulous. Although, we still have a couple of rooms where we can offer guests beds whom prefer a firmer option.

In regard to the window, the windows do have a locking mechanism on them and they can only be opened from the inside. For people with children, the locking mechanism can slide all the way up to the top of the window (approx 7" from the floor), out of reach of children.

We hope that you would choose to stay with us again when you are next in Tamworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

On a recent road trip, we pre-booked a room at the Edward Parry Motel in Tamworth, and on arrival found the reception by Kay, the owner of the business, to be most welcoming and warm. She recommended to us, in a courteous manner, that if we had time we should take a drive up to the look-out at Tamworth as the view at sunset would be worthwhile. As we had not done this on previous trips, and did not know of its existence, this was a good tip. We were pleasantly surprised and it is only a short drive from the motel. From our observations, the lookout has had a recent make-over. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We would certainly re-book on any other time we needed a motel room in Tamworth. Free wi-fi is available.

Room Tip: Rear rooms would be advisable, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the visit to our lookout (you are right, it has undergone a recent rejuvination and is a great vantage point overlooking town and the surrounding landscapes). We hope that you would choose to stay with us again when you next travel through Tamworth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had the fortunate experience of staying in Tamworth as part of our road trip holiday. We had picked the Edward Parry because of the consistent ratings on Trip Advisor.
That was a good move. The rooms are immaculate , the beds are comfortable , the rooms were quiet which belies the fact the motel is on the main highway.
We took full advantage of the shaded pool area and BBQ facilities, which were not used by any other guests only the owners. Shame as the area is again clean and well maintained.
Would gladly stay there again , being a bit out of town is not much of hassle, the place itself makes up for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Rene V for your encouraging review.

We are pleased that we lived up to comments in previous reviews, and that you too were pleased with your stay.

Our goal is that every guest, regardless of how they came to find us, enjoys their stay with us. Whilst we realise we can't be "all things to all people" we hope that when guests leave us, they leave with the impression that they have received great service, been offered a clean, comfortable, well maintained room and paid a reasonable price for it.

Thank you for your comments regarding the presentation of our rooms. To use your words "Immaculate". We take great pride in not only the cleanliness of our rooms, but also the continuous schedule of refurbishment we are able to offer in such a small motel. Most recent updates include the new pillowtop beds (sept - Dec 2012) and new glass pivoting showscreens in the bathrooms (Dec 2012).


We hope to see you again when next you need to overnight in Tamworth

Regards
Kay Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

went for one day to tamworth; stayed three as the motel was so clean, and tidy and matthew and kay so friendly and helpful.

nothing was too much trouble for them to help us out when we extended our stay, firstly by one night, and then another night. best three nights away in a long time. bed very comfortable, well appointed room.

Room Tip: room towards back reduces what little highway noise there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you Susan4456 for your encouraging review.

We were thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your trip to Tamworth so much that you decided to extend your stay. We hope that you finally got to enjoy your meal at the venue you travelled up to Tamworth to visit.

We hope to see you again when you next need to overnight in Tamworth. You can be assurred that if we are still here, you can rely on the fact you will get the same genuine hospitality and be offered a clean, comfortable , well maintained room.

Regards
Kay Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Hills NSW Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our room had to be the cleanest and best maintained accommodation we have stayed in for some time. The bed was so comfortable and inviting and the lady at reception was extremely pleasant and very helpfull indeed. We will definitely stay here again, hopefully on a night when their in-house meals are served - we unfortunately visited the Wests League Club where the food was abominable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesandSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardParryMotel, Owner at Edward Parry Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks LesandSusanne for your lovely review.

Thank you so much for noticing the level of refurbishment we have invested in our property, It is quite unrecognisable from the property we bought some 5 years ago. Our recent investments include changing out the shower curtains in the bathroom and replacing them with pivoting glass screens (dec 2012) . Changing out the majority of beds for luxury pillowtops (Sept -Dec2012). The feedback on the new beds has been fantastic. Never complacent, we have, just today, decided to upgrade our range of guest bathroom ammenities to the Amenita range, and we hope to have these in rooms very shortly.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal out at one of the local leagues clubs. Whilst we do not have a restaurant, we provide meals to rooms Monday through to Thursday nights and breakfast 7 days a week.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next need to stay in Tamworth

Regards
Kay Sweeney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
0.8 mi away
Mercure Tamworth
Mercure Tamworth
#11 of 32 in Tamworth
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#5 of 32 in Tamworth
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quest Tamworth
Quest Tamworth
#4 of 32 in Tamworth
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
Best Western Sanctuary Inn
#12 of 32 in Tamworth
267 reviews
3.7 mi away
Stockman's Motel
Stockman's Motel
#7 of 32 in Tamworth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edward Parry Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edward Parry Motel

Property: Edward Parry Motel
Address: 261 Goonoo Goonoo Rd, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edward Parry Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edward Parry Motel is four star rated with accommodation options including either motel rooms or self contained apartments. The rooms and apartments have all been refurbished to a high standard and are suitable for either the corporate traveller or leisure travellers looking for good quality accommodation in Tamworth. Why choose the Edward Parry? Because you will ALWAYS be offered a quiet, clean and well appointed room, and ALWAYS be made to feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Edward Parry Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing