We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you paid for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Tamworth
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You get what you paid for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

For the price we did not expect much.The rooms were clean and simple, with heating, electric blankets and all working items.

The one downfall was the service. Upon arriving we gave the name and there appeared to be a problem with the room-the wrong room had been assigned. When I offered to find our booking reference sheet from wotif I was cut off immediately.

We were assigned our room and that was the last point of contact or staff that we saw in the two nights that we were there.

A budget motel, yes, but if they want people to come back a smile or polite service would help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel25081985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    17
    16
    31
See reviews for
29
24
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Evelyn, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We just wish we had read the reviews first before booking this place. The lady at reception seemed to be annoyed at our presence. The milk was off and the wi if password was out of date and there was paint all over the tiles. It wasn't very clean but on the upside the bed was comfortable. We just felt like we weren't welcome which was the opposite of everywhere else we stayed on our recent trip.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Leef21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tamworth hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were shocked mostly by some of the conditions of the room however the worst was the attitude of the hosts as if they really couldn't care less , very bad ,will never under any circumstances stay there again so disappointing, "paint" (bad job of covering old tiles) was peeling off the shower tiles the air conditioner hose outlet dripped out into the shower unit the bottom of the toilet was leaking in the bathroom as well horror!! The air conditioner was just one speed that was just going then stopping none of the controls worked and the wierdest thing the taps in the sink were back to front The pool floor was covered in a thick layer of dirt no one would be able to swim in it these people are lazy and dirty should not be in the hotel industry I was desparate to lose our money and go somewhere else but really couldnt afford to just throw our money away and we were only there to sleep really thank God.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have just made a booking for tonight at this motel through Wotif. There seemed to be a delay with the email confirmation. Called the Colonial Inn Motel, Tamworth and was referred by a very rude lady to follow up the booking with Wotif, which I did. They were great at sorting out the issue. I called Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth again trying to confirm the booking and was rudely told that I must call Wotif and to stop wasting their time, they are very busy and short staffed and do not have time to confirm bookings for these cheap rooms. I really regret booking at this motel!.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

1st bell..... on arrival our name was on a piece of paper in the window at reception informing that key was in the door of the room.......'room door was wide open

2nd bell... eventually found room round the back next to a rubbish dump consisting of broken furniture and general debris..no allotted car space. (worth a photo so we took one)

3rd bell.... entered room to find maggots crawling thru the woodwork round the bathroom door.

went to reception to complain.... woman very rude and said she hadnt time to inspect room as she was to busy

we went back and took pictures of the room to report to NSW health and safety

woman turned up with a spray can and sprayed the maggots!!!!!

we asked for another room. she said she was fully booked out but offered room 31 upstairs.

we inspected room....it was worse.... there was spray can graphiti on the stairs telling the owners to fix the outside light.

we left the premisis and booked somewhere else...if you are contemplating staying here I suggest you do the same no stars

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank pat658994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Another disgraceful response to a very offensive human being who I have had displeasure of wasting my time with over this posting. She turned up early in morning and expected a room ready, we were full the night before and this person wasn't happy about what was offered. We had been rang from a local fundraiser to donate a room for this person who was singing in town, she didn't like that we could not give her a room and seems to think it is ok to post a slanderous offensive response full obviously of lies from a warped individual.

By the way of course no maggots in room and when I asked to see these pictures no surprise there was none , how about posting this tripadvisor !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are you kidding me, I should be able to post this person name so you can all view her website but apparently she has rights ?????????????????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kEMPSEY nsw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Arrived about 4pm on a 42 degree day - given keys to room 30 at the back of the motel -room smelt musty, looked like it had just had repaint. Started up the wall air conditioner and bells should have rung from then on, It was l-o-u-d had to turn up the TV to hear over Aircon.

Should have requested another room. Endeavoured to sleep however air con was too loud ,turned it off and discovered the fridge ran continually [noted it did freeze every thing including the complementary milks]. It appears the cleaner could not look up when clean the toilet as poo splash and nose pick on the wall behind the toilet.
The 7.30 am breakfast was adequate. However the last straw when checking the room to leave was a cockaroach under the doona.

Not a good moteling experience.

Room Tip: stay as a last resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Overall it was a decent motor inn for its price range, close to the New England highway. I booked with Wotif.com for comparison purposes. Amenities include: bar fridge [medium sized], toaster, kettle, coffee/tea facilities [with mugs, teaspoons], iron and ironing board, Austar TV with flat screen and dvd player, hair dryer, assorted towels, A/C, complimentary breakfast and guest laundry room. My friend and I were here for a University extramural, we did not take up the complimentary breakfast as we left before it was open for service. The guest laundry room included a washer and dryer, which should be open from 8:30 am to 8:30 pm.

The room itself was overall clean and was checked by the staff each morning [whilst we were gone]. There were extra pillows and a blanket placed in the wardrobe for our convenience. We were there during a slower period, so there was plenty of parking. Although the inn was right by the highway, the noise level didn't really bother us.

I think the only major complaints was:
1. The bathroom - it wasn't cleaned thoroughly on the day of our arrival. I had found a travel shampoo packet on the soap rack. Also the [facial] tissue dispenser wasn't refilled when it had emptied.
2. The door - it didn't bother us most of the time. Maybe it was a really hot day, but it was a bit difficult opening it one arvo.

Though there were dispensers for soap and some in the bathroom, I reckon those weren't in use anymore? We were offered travel sized bar soaps, though. Also to note, in the fridge they also provide 2 glasses, a water jug and milk for the tea/coffee.

Room Tip: I believe the single digit room numbers are situated further from the highway, however I'm uncer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I appreciate time taken to respond and hear your concerns (as well as other comments) At least yours is a sensible review and one worth following through with, thank you again for time taken and I am taking your comments seriously. We know we are not perfect, it is an old property with a lot of work spent on it and we try hard to look after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Tamworth
Econo Lodge Tamworth
#10 of 31 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#2 of 31 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stagecoach Inn Motel
Stagecoach Inn Motel
#5 of 31 in Tamworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Almond Inn Motel
Almond Inn Motel
#24 of 31 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.1 mi away
Motel 359
Motel 359
#21 of 31 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Gate Motel
City Gate Motel
#27 of 31 in Tamworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth

Property: Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth
Address: 519 Armidale Road, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Tamworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing