We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible - Better off staying in Canberra or a well known chain hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkway Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - Better off staying in Canberra or a well known chain hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We arrived and the woman that I had been dealing with through email, as our booking changed several times due to people backing out and then being added, and the service was prompt and friendly though email.

Everything was agreed upon prior to arrival, as there were 7 of us we had all put in for the share of accommodation. When we arrived they wanted to charge us an extra $60 for a room that we didn't want nor need as the room we had booked slept 6 and we agreed to put a rollaway bed in the room rather than having 2 rooms. Payment was also required when checking in not checking out.

After saying that this was what was agreed upon they quickly backed down and charged us the agreed amount, and i'm glad this way the case.

The room was cold, we had to ask for more towels, even in a family room that slept 6 they gave us a two towels. Even though we were only staying for the night, we ran out of toilet paper. The hot water was obviously turned off at night and was not turned on till late the next morning, so many of us had ice cold showers on a -1 morning in Queanbeyan.

The beds were not the greatest, but the pillows needed replacing, as do the heaters which although warmed the room (after some time) were loud and would circulate cold air for periods of time instead of warm.

The TV had no remote, although the signal and quality was good. The accommodation looked completely different to what was shown on their website, which appeared to be fully furnished and cosy accommodation.

Next time i will do proper research in accommodation, as i think i had some friends that weren't too impressed. I will definitely opt to pay slightly more money (even though they were on par in terms of cost) for a more respected and well known hotel brand such as Best Western rather than book accommodation purely on the photos and descriptions on their website, as they are clearly just for show.

Will not be staying or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    8
    22
See reviews for
18
5
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medowie, New South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Room was clean enough, but had dated furniture.
Bed was hard as a rock.
Pillows lumpy.
TV in 1 room was OK, but no remote control and TV up quite high. TV in second room had terrible reception.
Aircons old and loud and did not function effectively. No controls for aircon, so had to stand on furniture to adjust.
Bedside light didnt work.
Wall paint peeling and damp behind shower. Bathroom had terrible smell.
Water pressure unstable - took 10 mins to get luke warm, then burns in 2 seconds..then cold again...then hot...
No electric blankets, very cold.
No telephone in room, No alarm clock in room.
Water turned off at night?. I went to get a glass of water and couldnt get any. No toilet flush...!!!!!!...
There was a loud "boiler" type noise all night which cut in and out at verious intervals. Therefore, I got no sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniechook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queanbeyan hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I read previous reviews of this "motel" and arrived at the property with trepidation which was quickly and unfortunately realised. Initially no one in reception and after 5 minutes a woman looking a little worse for the wear arrived and quickly gave me my keys. On driving around to my room were several "guests' who appeared to be staying there due to a shortage in accomodation within the local mental health or crisis accomodation centre. I mean this with respect to these people but it had the air of a half way house.

Please note there is no dinner facility with this motel nor a dining room but they do offer a "breakfast pack" if you are so inclined so rember to dine out or grab takeaway for dinner and breakfast. There was no milk in the fridge nor in my case any tea bags. I suspect they ran out or the cleaners forgot to replenish both.

My room was very dull with a musty smell which was not repulsive but certainly not welcome. A notice in the room informs that since recently they no longer clean the rooms on a weekend including not changing bed linen so buyer beware here if you like your motel stays to come with clean linen. The notice said it was to cut costs.....it appears as if they have done plenty of that here believe me!!!

The cistern in the toilet was hanging off loosely and no toiletries are provided...see i told you they were cutting costs. so bring your soap and shampoo!

The air conditioning is old and noisy and the bed fairly uncomfortable. No iron was in my room for ironing and the permanently open louvre windows in the bathroom allow plenty of noise in and probably an easy way in for anyone willing to break in.

Frankly this is the worst place i have stayed in either here or overseas and was happy to make my exit next morning.....EARLY!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We arrived very tired after a full day of travel. The room was small and dingy and the painting on the walls looked very unprofessionally done (maybe the renovations weren't as substantial as mentioned), however the staff seemed pleasant and nice. The air conditioning didn't work and blew out cold air all night. It was noisy and clunky. We froze in the beds all night (in both rooms). I have been to many 3 star motels before but I wasn't impressed with this one (sorry!). It made it easy for us to leave very early the next morning for the snow.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Parkway while on a driving holiday. Due to the crazy prices of most places in Canberra we chose to stay in Queanbeyan.

The Parkway Motel has had some bad reviews in the past and I think for the most part the motel is pleasant.

Location: Close to the main parts of Queanbeyan, there is a Woolworths and plenty of food places near by. The motel is only a short drive (10-15mins) from Canberra city, so no real worry if you wanted to stay here rather than in the city.

Reception: No problems with check-in, quite friendly and efficient. Helpful with maps and places to stay.

Rooms: The rooms are a little tired but will be fine for people who are planning on shopping/sightseeing all day. The pillows in the room definately need to be replaced, they are so uncomfortable and lumpy, I got a sore neck from them. Other than that the bed was soft enough. Facilities are a little dated, takes a couple of minutes to work out how to turn on the TV (the switch is on the bedhead!), there is No FOXTEL, so you are stuck with the Free-to-Air. There is a decent sided fridge in the room, plus a microwave.

Bathroom: Large bathroom with plenty of bench space, the shower is a little ordinary - the water temperature can fluctuate a little bit, so you get it perfect then turn around and it is freezing cold or very hot.

Overall: For the price the motel is very good value, whilst it might not be the most modern place, it is comfortable enough for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaverickRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed at hotel to visit friends in Canberra. Read the reviews on trip advisor but when booking the room, was assured that the motel had undergone a significant facelift. The room was very clean and the bed was new and very comfortable. The pool was excellent for a very hot weekend and the staff were friendly and courteous. Another great plus was the high speed wireless internet which was available in the room. Would highly recommend, particularly if you enjoy a walk through a beautiful park, which is located opposite the motel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberravisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Worst accommodation I have ever had in Australia!
2 nights booked for myself and overseas friend for two nights. Reception poor, uncommunicative, demanded full payment in advance. My room: no hot water, tv.not working, electrical wiring dangerous - wires, plugs, sockets all over the place, dank smell in bathroom - no exhaust fan, no shampoo or tissues in bathroom, no microwave as had been advertised. 2nd. room - no hot water, no toilet paper!! and no staff available to supply more, no shampoo, tissues, electricals as bad as in first room, had to stand on furniture to operate a/c.
We had no option but to stay first night, asked for refund for second night - it was refused due to "policy" by day staff who at least were pleasant. However, owner could/would not be contacted!
Definiely not 3.5 star!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghoome, Owner at Parkway Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2008
We had staff at the motel who were under training but who have since been relieved of their positions. One of these staff members had had a tough time in his young life and we were giving him an opportunity in getting his life in order by employing him.

It obviously did not work as we lost a lot of business as well as good will in our quest to help a young man.

We have now employed new staff and they are all under hospitality traineeship as well. The rooms have been fully painted and new bathroom and toilet also installed.

Please accpet our sincere apology but we have taken pro active moves to ensure that the motel now lives up to its 3.5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queanbeyan
9.1 mi away
Canberra Carotel Motel & Caravan Park
0.0 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Queanbeyan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
#3 of 13 in Queanbeyan
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Age Motor Inn
Golden Age Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Queanbeyan
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margeurita Motel
Margeurita Motel
#10 of 13 in Queanbeyan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Motel

Property: Parkway Motel
Address: 8 Lowe St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very well presented family run motel opposite a beautiful park but within walking distance to the shopping centre and restaurants. All rooms ahve been renovated with new carpet, vanity, tiles, bedding and beds. A true home away from home experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Queanbeyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing