We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but bit pricey”
Review of Wallaby Motel

Wallaby Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wallaby Motel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay but bit pricey”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stopped over just for one night and had trouble finding a place to stay in and around Canberra as it was really busy. Enjoyed the short stay, rooms were clean and beds comfy. As most of the motels it looked a bit dated but had new TV, microwave and coffee/tea facilities. A nice surprise were the toiletries which I really liked - herbal shampoo and oatmeal sopa - and cookies were a nice touch with the coffee. Price was a bit high but as I said it seemed very busy everywhere. You could order breakfast and they also had a restaurant but didn't bother to use it. Lots of shopping and dining options in walking distance and Canberra is a 15 mins drive.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thosu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
23
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Wallaby a few times this month on business. The Motel is a pleasant surprise, being well situated to both Canberra and the Queanbeyan CBD. The staff are very attentive and friendly and will go out of their way to help you unlike most other places in this price category.
The room I had was nice particularly the bathroom - I like the large walk in shower which is great to soak up the day's troubles. The hotel has wireless internet but they also provide a LAN cable for better speeds.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcusValarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed here a month previously and made a point of coming back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darcygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The owner (Vincent) was a breath of fresh air after a nine hour trip in the car. I checked in late and he made sure I had a meal sent to the room and breakfast organised for the morning. Most motels just leave a key some where for a late arrival and you are on your own.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, not to mention quiet. One thing for the business traveller is access to internet, in the case it was free and fast with a choice of wireless or ethernet connection.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryfromTecoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallabymotel, Owner at Wallaby Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Thank you for your feedback in recognizing our services. We are looking forward to serve you again. FYI all our Deluxe rooms are recently fitted with new 32 inches Phillips LCD TV Full HDTV. Blu-Ray players will be soon installed in the room to accompany the LCD TV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed in Queabeyan for 6 nights, 4 of those were at the Wallaby Hotel. Accommodation in Queanbeyan was tight and I had trouble booking a room for the whole of my stay. As this trip wasn't planned, I had to make last minute bookings and therefore was not able to stay at my usual places.

The Wallaby Hotel is clean and comfortable and easy walking distance to Woolworths and the bus stop into Canberrra. I arrived before the official checkin time and the staff were friendly/helpful and allowed me to store my bags while I went off to shop. I could have waited about 15 minutes and the room would have been ready but I was in no hurry, but this offer to accelerate my checking in was appreciated. Often motels make you wait until the official time. The owners were helpful with IT matters and it was great to have free wireless broadband. This fact alone would make me come back as I usually have to mix business with family stuff. The Motel is like many in NSW, built in a different era and from the outside it looks like it has been on this street for some time, however, rennovations are taking place which will make this Motel a great place to stay and value for money. While I was staying, new LCD high definition TV's were being installed (the picture quality and reception werre amazing) and bathrooms were being made over.
Cheers

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We were disappointed when we walked in but needed the bed. Following an early night we were awoken by an invasion of our unit at about 11 pm. It was actually water hammer, and it awoke us again about 6 am. Seriously, it was so loud it sounded like someone was trying to bash down a wall.

The shower stall had not seen any cleaning material in many moons. The grout in the wet area was starkly different to the dry area. We attribute this shower to a case of tinea.

A small pack of ice creams we put in the refrigerator had melted by morning. The refrigerator badly needed defrosting.

At $140 for the "deluxe" room it was our poorest value in two weeks of travelling.
We then went to the Olympia, just down the road. At $105 it was good value and we could smell the cleaning materials!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliftonwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallabymotel, Owner at Wallaby Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We admited there was water hammering in one of the room as the result of shower head replacement. Most of the new shower head has water limitation of 9L/min. This water limitation has some problem with our water pressure. The problem had been identified and fixed. Thank you very much.
The shower stall story was not true. Our bathrooms have just been regrouted. Its possible that one could see the difference in old and new grout in wet and dry area.
The ice cream should be placed in the freezer compartment. All our bar fridges are newly replaced. Please show us the melted icecream we will happy to compensate you.
As for the price, if you want to save money make your booking as early as possile not the last minutes. FYI, we are the cheapest Motel in Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queanbeyan hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Although I thought that the $160 per night was already a bit steep for an old motel in Queanbeyan. To make matters worse I was charged an extra $20 ($180 total) for late check in (after 7.30pm) 'which I was supposed to see in the fine print'. If this wasn't bad enough, the real shock was the room was nowhere near worth what I had paid! In fact it was totally run down, grotty and smelly. The only positive I can think of, is that we only had to stay one night; In fact we couldnt wait to get out in the morning... These rooms are worth $100 per night at best... The owner suggest these rooms have been renovated. 'They haven't'! Dont stay here if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stama21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallabymotel, Manager at Wallaby Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. First of all, none of our double rooms is $160/n unless you were booking for the family room in the last minute. Secondly, the $20 surcharge for late check-in is a condition for booking that was not a prepaid booking, otherwise room key can be pre-arranged via SMS. We do not apply this surcharge unless you were checked-in after 9:30PM and did not inform us of your late check-in. Your description of our room condition are not truth. Does the "totally run down, grotty and smelly" room has new split air-cond, new bar fridge, new carpet, new microwave and cutleries, wall was freshly painted, new beds and new lounge suite ?. If you found room was not in the condition that we had described, we are prepared to refund you the money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queanbeyan
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport International
4.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
0.8 mi away
Margeurita Motel
Margeurita Motel
#12 of 13 in Queanbeyan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olympia Motel
Olympia Motel
#5 of 13 in Queanbeyan
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Golden Age Motor Inn
Golden Age Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Queanbeyan
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallaby Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallaby Motel

Property: Wallaby Motel
Address: 88-92 Crawford St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wallaby Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Wallaby Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing