We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dennis Yarwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Age Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Dennis Yarwood”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I always stay here when visiting the Canberra region and have done so for many years. Staff are friendly, rooms are above average in all areas and the cooked breakfast is superb and well priced. The dolls and teddy bears located around the motel and in some of the rooms are a nice touch. This is a great motel.

Room Tip: The deluxe queen rooms are roomy and well thought out in terms of space and furniture etc. A very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mr Yarwood,

We are pleased that you choose to stay with us each time you are in Canberra and that you enjoy the rooms & breakfast offered! Thank you for taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback. See you next time you visit Canberra!

Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
50
66
14
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoalheven
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently stayed at this motor inn with my 96 year old aunt. The facilities were outstanding for all aspects of our stay especially for disabled or elderly folk. The bathroom facilities exceeded my expectations, the room was very comfortable as were the beds. The staff could not have been more helpful and the cleanliness was exceptional. I would not hesitate to recommend this motor inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsieShoalhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy that the handicapped room meet your needs for your stay, and that you enjoyed the service from our team. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great motel, wonderful home style meals with every need or wont catered for; tremendous staff & management personality & service with many extra personal touches around motel. Easy vehicle access, ample parking in quiet part of town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThereseWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mrs White,

So nice to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you found the service, rooms & meals to your liking. We hope you stop by The Golden Age next time you are in town. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback!

Kind regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at the motel. The room was very clean and spacious. Great shower. We went to the restaurant for dinner as we wanted to have a few drinks and not have to worry about catching a taxi back. There was a great selection of dishes. Our meals were delicious and the waiter, Daniel, did a really great job.
There are a lot of motels to choose from around the area, but I would have no hesitation in booking The Golden Age again, and recommending it to my friends.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room away from the main road.......very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, dinner and the service in the restaurant. We look forward to your next stay!

Kind Regards, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Due to house renovations and a relocation to Queanbeyan for work, I've had a prolonged stay at the Golden Age Motel. During this time the staff have been absolutely fabulous. They're friendly and very flexible in accommodating the various things that have arisen in that time. The on site restaurant is fabulous boasting an array of food and wine to suit all palates.The rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable queen sized bed. Dont go past the Golden Age next time you're in Queanbeyan.It's the place to be seen in Queanbeyan.

Room Tip: Room 40 and those on that side stay very cool in the hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! It has been great having you stay with us and we hope to see you around Queanbeyan once you move in to your new place! Thanks again for recommending our motel and we are pleased that you have enjoyed our Food & Service during your stay.

Kind Regards,

Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellha
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for a couple of nights , while sight seeing Canberra . We found the motel to be in a great location , was extremely clean and well appointed with large T.V and comfortable bed .The motel is a short easy walk into the centre of town and if your looking for a quick snack there is Dominos pizza , KFC and macca's across the road .The motel provides a nice continental breakfast or a cooked full breakfast for a modest charge . We won't hesitate to stay again and we have no hesitation in recommending the Golden Age to any traveller .

Room Tip: The room we stayed in(no:44) faced the highway but thanks to double doors on front we were could bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Lawrence,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the new double doors have an effect on the noise from the road! Thank you so much for your feedback on this and hope to see you again if in Queanbeyan.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My young son and I stayed there for one night whilst sightseeing in Canberra. The hotel was in a great location, Hungry Jack's, Domino's,Macca's and KFC all across the road. My son loved the choices. The RSL was also just a short stroll over the bridge on the left.

The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable. The rooms had a larger sized flat screen tv, table and chairs, desk, queen sized bed and also a single. The bathroom was large and accomodating. All appliances and electrical fitments worked. The unit we stayed in was on the ground floor facing the street but I could not hear any disturbing traffic noise. The rooms were clean and well kept.

We only had dealings with the one young lady at reception who was very obliging,and friendly. I asked when reception closes and was told to contact any time as she lived on site. A very refreshing attitude. There was also a DVD player in the room and the lady allowed us to chose a couple of movies from their selection for my son to watch. It also had Foxtel but I couldnt work out how to use it.This place had a nice homely feel about it.

I would highly recommend this place as a place to stay, the tariff was reasonable, the staff friendly and accomodating, the room spacious and clean. It ticked all of the boxes for me. Even my son liked it because he wanted to leave the patio door open all night so he can smell the food across the road.

Room Tip: Try where possible to get a ground floor unit. We stayed in a unit on the ground floor, facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that the facilities & service we provide were to your liking! Only a bonus that your son likes the smell of Maccas :)

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queanbeyan
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport International
4.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Canberra Airport
0.6 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
#3 of 13 in Queanbeyan
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Queanbeyan
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Manor Motor Inn
Grand Manor Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Queanbeyan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Motor Inn

Property: Golden Age Motor Inn
Address: 56 - 58 Macquoid St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Age Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is a modern soundproofed full brick 2 storey building. We are 100% Australian owned and operated. We have been providing hospitality here for over 13 years to date. Our hospitality is second to none and we invite you to stay and experience country comfort 10 minutes from the heart of Canberra. All rooms are spacious,our beds are extremely comfortable pillow top models with lots of comfort layers. You can enjoy our big screen televisions with free to air and many Foxtel channels for entertainment. We have free wired internet available in all rooms. Breakfast is available 7 days to your room or in our sunny breakfast room. Dinner is available Mon to Thursday evenings in our restaurant or as room service. There are stacks of eateries a short walk into the main street of Queanbeyan available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Golden Age Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Motor Hotel Queanbeyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing