We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Age Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenience & Comfort”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were in Queanbeyan for the birth of our grandchild and wanted a place with a bit more room and comfort than our small caravan in which we had traveled across the country. The Golden Age was a perfect choice for us, close to the new grandchild and the many sights around Canberra and big enough for us to stretch out and relax.
The room, although typical of motel rooms, was comfortable, clean, roomy and well serviced during our stay. We had a King sized bed, two comfortable recliner chairs and a large flat screen TV with Foxtel.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and were quick to replace the kettle which failed during out time there.
The meals in the breakfast room and the restaurant were good value and quality.
Overall our experience was pleasant and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the eastern end and southern side of the motel are quieter and away from the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philmar167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and you found the meals, service and rooms to your liking. We hope to see you again in the future when visiting your grandchild. Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    80
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
50
66
14
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was working in Canberra and needed somewhere reasonably priced to stay. Parliament was sitting so Canberra hotels were booked out - I turned to Queanbeyan with some trepidation.

What a great find at the Golden Age. Everything was just right. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and warm with all the nice little touches like decent cookies, plenty of tea bags and free internet and foxtel. There was a microwave and plates/cutlery if you wanted to prepare something quick and easy.

The cooked buffet breakfast was served in a very bright and pleasant breakfast room and there was a restaurant on site. Plenty of choice and all served hot which is always something I appreciate and don't always find.

The motor inn is actually on a busy road but I found my ground floor room to be really quiet and with the car parked outside my room it was ideal for loading things up for work.

I would certainly stay at the Golden Age again and would recommend it for people looking for a reasonably priced stay near Canberra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comment. We are really pleased to hear that our service & facilities made your stay enjoyable. We appreciate that you took the time to comment, and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On a Saturday evening in the Canberra/Queanbeyan region we found ourselves in need of a room at the Inn quite last minute. After a drive along the main strip in Queanbeyan we found ourselves outside ‘The Golden Age Motor Inn’ and saw a ‘Vancancy’ sign and a ‘Foxtel’ sign underneath. Our salvation was at hand.

We parked outside and in the din of the streetlights we booked a room via ‘Lastminute.com.au’ for a good price.

We then drove in and rang the outside phone as Reception was unattended. The line was engaged. For a terrifying moment …all was lost.
I kept my head and called again and… A voice. Friendly and accommodating.

We were not able to check in right away because we were politely advised that the booking from ‘Lastminute.com.au’ takes a while to come through the Interwebz.
No matter. Across the road we wandered for some local take away.

We were politely checked in by the night manager who’s Saturday night Rugby was possibly being interrupted but.. he was super friendly and directed us to our room.
We were in an upstairs room and parked right below out balcony. The motel was very secure.

The room was more like a suite that a room. It was huge with a lovely little balcony. Very neat and clean and cosy. The bathroom was recently renovated and really nice. I had a bath.

The bed was dreamy and snuggly. Pillows from heaven.

The couch/coffee table was lovely. The desk was serviceable. The TV was great and the air conditioning was nice and warm.

The one downer was the toilet ran a little. It took some fiddling but it was manageable.

I have to mention the little porcelain style dolls that sat around the motel. One on a seat at the end of the hall and then one on a shelf in our room. Ummm A little creepy. But a fun memory.

We were so comfortable and happy with our room. We have such fond memories of that trip and especially our golden night and the Golden Age.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful comment. We are pleased to hear that you found your stay at our hotel to be so memorable. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Cheers to the Golden Age Motor Inn for a wonderful stay. The rooms were clean and roomy. The service was impeccable. Fabulous home made breakfast to finish our lovely stay. We would definitely recommend this motel and plan to stay here next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jander45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the great review on our Motel. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, rooms & our service, and are glad to hear that you plan on retuning to us next time you are in Queanbeyan. See you on your future stay.

Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, very comfortable beds, great location and great food. What more could you ask from a budget hotel?

Ambience....the place had a very homly feel to it that will remind you of the Golden ages

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ongoncatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you loved our meals and that you had a great sleep in our new beds! Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this Motel over the weekend and had a very pleasant experience. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious,and were fully stocked with everything we needed. There was ample parking, right outside our room, and the motel is located close to the cbd.
They have a lovely, clean breakfast room with a buffett stocked with everything you could possibly want to pick from, our hot breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious. The owner is an amazing woman who we had the pleasure of meeting over breakfast. She told us her goal is for people to feel this was their home away from home, she certainly has achieved this.
We have stayed at alot of Motels in the Canberra/Queanbeyan region and this one certainly is above the rest! The tarrif was very very fair, infact I would have definately paid more for my stay. We will definately be returning to this lovely Motel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Point
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night this week. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, very presentable furnishings etc. Had restaurant quality meals in dining room, delicious food, good menu choices and very generous servings. The staff we came in contact with were extremely pleasant and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queanbeyan
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport International
4.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Canberra Airport
0.6 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
#3 of 13 in Queanbeyan
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#4 of 13 in Queanbeyan
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Manor Motor Inn
Grand Manor Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Queanbeyan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Motor Inn

Property: Golden Age Motor Inn
Address: 56 - 58 Macquoid St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Age Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is a modern soundproofed full brick 2 storey building. We are 100% Australian owned and operated. We have been providing hospitality here for over 13 years to date. Our hospitality is second to none and we invite you to stay and experience country comfort 10 minutes from the heart of Canberra. All rooms are spacious,our beds are extremely comfortable pillow top models with lots of comfort layers. You can enjoy our big screen televisions with free to air and many Foxtel channels for entertainment. We have free wired internet available in all rooms. Breakfast is available 7 days to your room or in our sunny breakfast room. Dinner is available Mon to Thursday evenings in our restaurant or as room service. There are stacks of eateries a short walk into the main street of Queanbeyan available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Golden Age Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Motor Hotel Queanbeyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing