We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel! Very Clean, Friendly Staff and Great Price!”

Aussie Settler Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aussie Settler Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Queanbeyan B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Its a great little motel, though of the rooms are up stairs and there aren't many rooms but its got everything you could need, table and chairs, tv, small kitchenette, fridge microwave and multiple cups, plates and cutlery, wrapped in paper bags to ensure cleanliness! was really surprised at how good it was. The staff were friendly and helpful! Its an older style motel but has been recently refurbished so looked new and clean. The shower was the best shower ive ever had and bathroom spotlessly clean.
Only thing I would say against it is very small and picky but they have older style taps with separate hot and cold spouts and very narrow so hard to fill a bottle up and also hard to wash hands in warm water as it comes out very hot, its a small thing and nothing that would stop me staying there if I had the chance. I think its about a 10 minute walk to the Queanbeyan town and a minute drive, so many fast food eating places within a minutes walk too! Couldnt really ask for anything more here! WiFi was a little confusing so we didnt use it but at the price it didnt matter and had great mobile internet reception from in the room. Had better facilities and extras that are in most expensive hotels since many of those cut corners to save money but this was a quarter of the price of an expensive hotel!
Very impressed

Room Tip: If you you have mobility problems it could be a problem but im sure they could tell you if you phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Triphappenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Check out the price and know that at the very least your room will be clean. I have stayed here twice and love the fact that it is excellent value. I work long days so the bed is very important and great!! Firm and immaculate linen.
Have been in two different rooms now. It appears that whilst there is need for more improvement in renovation and refurbishment the essentials have been attended to.
Everything works and all is definitely clean.
Did find a fridge with wire shelving that had lost its plastic covering and rusty.
Felt really comfortable and really did enjoy the attention to presentation of new towelling and soaps etc.
Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SEN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nothing like a traditional motel.
Access is from what appears to be the rear and a shared car park with the health & fitness centre next door.
Stairs to the office and stairs to some of the rooms.
Suggest this is made clear at time of booking if any mobility issues.
We really didn't know what to make of this motel!.
It was a bit like a rabbit warren.
Whilst the staff were very nice and helpful, the room was pokey and we just
didn't feel comfortable.
Plenty of fast food outlets within walking distance if you don't want to drive.
We would certainly pay a bit more in future just for that extra comfort - even for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Well looked after every time we have stayed there, the staff very friendly and helpful whenever asked anything,nothing was ever a problem i would highly recommend the motel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The "Motel" was nothing like it appeared in the net [photos] when initially searching for somewhere to stay in Queanbeyan. It was a huge disappointment on arrival; greeted with a telephone booth type check-in/key collection. It seemed as though we were entering through the back door of the place. The room was only just ok...the bathroom only half renovated. The 'tea/coffee facilities' were balanced on and behind the microwave. The whole establishment had an unkept appearance, as if the owners just didn't care.

The Motel didn't look like a motel..just a collection of rooms. We would NEVER stay there again; it was worth no more than $70-00 per night NOT $115! We moved into Canberra the next night (we were intending to stay two nights at the Settler) and stayed at a beautiful 4 star 'olde world' Hotel for $200 per night with a magnificent buffet breakfast included. Oh, and there was an extremely pleasant and friendly young lady at Reception to check us in !!

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardBBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The room was just OK, The toaster and the jug were perched behind the microwave on top of the bar fridge.
They have this ATM style auto check - in, what its not a personalised business any more? Machine didn't issue the keys. we didn't enjoy the view of the bins also. tidy the place up is a good start.

Room Tip: Keep looking for an alternative
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

There are times when it seems impossible to get a reasonable hotel room for a reasonable price in Canberra and the surrounds, including Queanbeyan. What I paid for this night was what at other times I would pay for a much larger and more pleasant accommodation experience in the area.
Does that mean this was all bad. By no means. The room was clean and adequate. It was just that it was very small and felt old and tired.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstrav255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queanbeyan hotels
0.7 mi away
Margeurita Motel
Margeurita Motel
#9 of 13 in Queanbeyan
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Age Motor Inn
Golden Age Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Queanbeyan
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crest Motor Inn
Crest Motor Inn
#8 of 9 in Queanbeyan
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Queanbeyan
32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Country Plaza Queanbeyan
0.7 mi away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aussie Settler Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aussie Settler Motel

Address: 5 High St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Queanbeyan
Price Range: $69 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aussie Settler Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Aussie Settler Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing