We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's Not to Like” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Centro Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What's Not to Like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

A very centrally located and clean hotel. The staff are extremely friendly without being over the top. The bar is small but cosy. Didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good. We did however, have room service for brekkie which was cheap, delicious and on time. The rooms were big enough as was the bathroom. Due to its newness, the hotel is very clean. Only downfall is the slow lift. Booked on-line at the last minute and saved a bundle which was fortunate because we saw two couples approach the desk during our stay seeking accommodation but were turned away due to a full hotel. Will most definitely stay there again next trip.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Slow lift
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    405
    90
    38
    14
See reviews for
174
394
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Double Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

Our stay was wonderful the room was well above our expectations the staff were very friendly and the food was nothing short of sensational .It was so good we have decided to get married there next year ,could have been an expensive weekend Ha Ha Cronulla conection.

  • Liked — The staff were so friendly and the food was sensational
  • Disliked — The time we spent there wasnt long enough
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RomanticsDoubleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast NSW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

Our stay at the Mercure Port Macquarie was fantastic, we only booked for one night but stayed for two, the loacation in town is great and so close to the water. The restaurant was first class we ate there both nights, the food and service was a real experience we did enjoy. We will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Satch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

A great hotel in a beautiful part of the world.
I stayed at the Mecure with two of my children and my wife. The entire team were committed to make our stay perfect from the moment we walked through the door.
The team that impressed us the most were those fantastic ladies in Housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble with our room on level 3 being the most perfectly presented hotel room we have ever stayed in.
Well done mecure team. We will be back.

  • Liked — Overall service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nev67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

The hotel is situated in the middle of town and quite convenient to everything. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Hotel isnt much to look at from the outside but the room was modern, well appointed and tastefully furnished. We particularly liked the king size bed with the super thick underlay.

Agree with previous review that if one blots out the roof top car park immediately next door, the outlook to the Port and Ocean is quite stunning. We stayed during the week and didnt notice any noise from the car park.

We had brekky on two days while we were there and the food and service was good.

Would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msgoldenhaIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

Newest hotel in the centre of town so thought I would try it. The result, great location, beautiful and clean with modern contemporary design. Staff are the friendliest I have come across in hotels, the restaurant and bar were open early til late and always had great food and a good range of prices and styles of food.

  • Liked — THe beds, the most comfortable I have experienced
  • Disliked — Not 24 hour reception
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaynewsmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

I stayed in this hotel because my usual hotel, The Observatory, only offered minimum 2 night stays over the holiday period. Mine was a one night stopover on the way to Sydney.

This is a new hotel and was suggested by the Port Macquarie Tourist Information Service to meet my 3 requirements – a one night stay, in-hotel restaurant open on a Sunday night and security parking. The hotel is very happily situated in the middle of town and I would think quite convenient to everything.

Check-in service was friendly and efficient although they failed to acknowledge I’d prepaid my accommodation on check-out.

Outside of reception, the hotel has a Spartan look, perhaps the soft furnishings for the hotel corridors are coming later. My room was modern, well appointed, tastefully furnished and had everything one requires in a hotel room including coffee mugs. Sadly, I forgot to tell staff on check-out that the TV required tuning and the fan in the bathroom was very noisy. If one blots out the roof top car park immediately next door, the outlook to the Port and Ocean is quite stunning. I guess the car park next door could make this room noisy of a week day, but on Sunday evening it was deserted and the room pleasantly quiet. There was some noise from the pool area but this area too was deserted and quiet come bedtime. The balcony glazing is soundproof and effectively blocked the sound from the room’s air-conditioning unit located on the balcony.

I didn’t use the pool but it looked lovely and inviting and was clearly being enjoyed by those who were.

The restaurant is pleasant, open plan and inviting. It overlooks the street on one side and the pool on the other. The food was adequate. The service, friendly and efficient to start, had disappeared by bill time. I found all four wait staff chatting to each other by the cashier’s desk instead of on the restaurant floor where they might have been more use to their customers.

The above quibbles did not detract from my experience of this hotel. I’d stay here again subject to getting a competitive rate.

  • Liked — Room comfort, security parking, location
  • Disliked — Loath restaurant waiters who prefer to talk to each other than attend their customers
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Centro Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Centro Port Macquarie

Property: Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Address: 103 William Street, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#14 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Centro Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 hours from Sydney and 6 hours from Brisbane, Mercure Centro Port Macquarie is a perfect getaway for couples and corporate travellers. Conveniently located in the town centre, the hotel is close to the main beach, whale and dolphin watching tours, shopsand downtown nightlife. Features include a restaurant, bar, pool and day spa. All 71 guest rooms are fitted with modern technology for your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Centro Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing