We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Understandingly the room rate reflected the season. Unfortunately the service and food & drink quality in the bar and restaurant didn't. Happy hour consisted of the worst cocktails available in Port Macquarie. The breakfast was busy and by 9:30 there was no coffee, no milk, no musli, no plates, no pastries and a 20 minute wait for pancakes!

The staff did try their best to make the situation better, however, it looks like the management didn't think that more than 2 staff was necessary to manage an entire hotel having breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crustybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, General Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Crustybit:

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Centro Port Macquarie. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    424
    98
    40
    15
See reviews for
181
408
54
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived after driving down from Brisbane (we stayed at the Mecure Clear Mountain Lodge, which we highly recommend) before heading to Canberra in the morning. Everything was going well until we turned in for the night and realised what we had thought was street noise was actually a party on the top floor of the hotel. The manager (who failed to introduce himself) blamed his staff for not advising as per his policy, which was very awkward and unprofessional given his team were standing next to him and then proceeded to suggest it was somehow our fault, which is just plain weird. He ended by pointing out that it was the party season, so we should've expected it and took $60 off the rate. We will never stay here again and do not recommend this to anyone, regardless of the circumstances. However he has taught us to ask more questions on check in, such as " are you hosting a rock band this evening that will undoubtedly disrupt our stay?" Try the Rydges instead.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Faulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, General Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment.
Unfortunately no matter how hard we strive to make our guests stay a pleasant one, it is inevitable, regardless of the amount of training our staff have, there will be a breakdown in communication.
Having said that, as I relayed to you at the time, we except full responsibility.
We are a family run business and value our guests highly and also have a policy that our guests, first and foremost, are always right and are entitled to enjoy their stay.
We take this opportunity to offer yourself and your husband a week stay in one of our luxury spa suits. We sincerely hope this offer will in some small way help you overcome your disappointment and allow you to consider staying at Mercure Centro again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a good quality, modern hotel with very friendly staff at front desk. Rooms are spacious and clean. It's located in a central part of the city so it is a bit hectic and somewhat noisy. Its not to far from the waterfront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centrohotel, Front Office Manager at Mercure Centro Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your response.

Next time you stay we can allocate you a quieter room if requested.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

If u say something wrong abut this hotel u never been there Friendly clean and in the Centre my 3 Time stay the there and only say good thing I hope a lot of hotel Will look at you THNKS we start from parking rooms bar and food only one think will she'll say try to avoid the smoking in the front it's look bad

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zvika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Centro Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Centro Port Macquarie

Property: Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Address: 103 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#14 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Centro Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 hours from Sydney and 6 hours from Brisbane, Mercure Centro Port Macquarie is a perfect getaway for couples and corporate travellers. Conveniently located in the town centre, the hotel is close to the main beach, whale and dolphin watching tours, shopsand downtown nightlife. Features include a restaurant, bar, pool and day spa. All 71 guest rooms are fitted with modern technology for your business needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Centro Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing