We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #48 of 215 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Sadly Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went here with friends. Took forever to get our drinks ordered. The waitress was quite rude. After 10 mins our drinks came then we ordered, all steaks.
Took around an hr for food to come, nothing wrong with waiting if we could get another drink. The steak , for the price, were quite disappointing. Very fatty and nothing special.
For almost $40 I got a steak and a coke.
The service needs to improve as with the meals. Won't be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Young_and_Free_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    90
    47
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
2,126 reviews
1,299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 830 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided to give this place a try for dinner. The theme of the décor is basically designed to look like a trucker's or biker's watering hole from what I could tell. The service was actually pretty good and all of our entrees were quite tasty. The prices were not bad. We started with the cheese bread which was a good choice. For a main, I had the Calamari Balsamic salad which was terrific. I would recommend this spot if you want the soup, salad, steak and chicken type of fare.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong t Hogs Breath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you been to one you've been to them all, famous for the 18 hour cooked steaks, great place to eat but you pay for it, can be expensive for families to eat .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maced28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As an earlier reviewer has stated disappointing food. This was our experience also. The squid arrived which should have been crispy on the outside as was breaded, but arrived limp and soggy, chips/fries overcooked and dry. partners steak .. well a good vet good have revived, but as partner ordered medium not ideal. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ffhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

They pride themselves on quality meat but the steak in your burger is far from being of good quality. Nice fries though but no sauce with it you have to ask for ketchup and no dressing with your salad either. Good service and frequently staff overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Titothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing