We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for Lunch and Dinner!”
Review of The Stunned Mullet

The Stunned Mullet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Must try the Crisp Prawns and Milly Hill Lamb, both dishes are sensational. Wine list is extensive although I was more involved with the boutique beers- wicked elf pale ale is a favorite. Recently dined for my daughter's 8th birthday and they made her day- sparklers and service to match
GREAT location for a long and leisurely lunch as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Owner at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thanks for your review Danny H. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our restaurant and the specialty beers. I remember your daughters birthday - she was a lovely little girl and deserving of the sparklers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 882 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We will have to come back here many times to do justice to such an extensive wine list.
The freshly baked bread is light & crisp & doesn’t spoil the appetite for what is to come. Choice of oysters either natural or with a selection of zesty dressings.
Mozzarella di Bufala Fritta is a tasty blend of mushroom, smokey tomato & mozzarella, and is very large for an entrée.
For main my husband had the Panfried Panko crusted fish but liked mine better - the steamed fish (barramundi) accompanied by kumera & coconut curry sauce which offered wonderful Thai flavours. Mum-in law had the hormone free Porterhouse cooked spot on Medium rare & served with crisp thick fries. Desserts sounded so delicious that we will have to return another time to give them a go. This time our meals were all too big to manage it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Marketing at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thankyou so much for your wonderful review Oldandnew. We are so pleased that you had such a great time with us. Have a Happy Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant after reading the incredible reviews on here. The ambiance is nice; directly opposite the ocean, the wine list is among the best I've ever seen for a restaurant this size, the service was warm and polite, the food was exquisite.
Down side to this was the very limited menu. I assume this is likely the case as what they do, they do exceptionally well, however, really, there was a choice of only half a dozen mains and entrée's and unfortunately, none of them really appealed to us.
If the menu is available online, I would advise anyone planning on visiting to check it out first - most restaurants will have something to suit everyone, but this may not be the case with such a limited menu here.
If they do have something that appeals to you on the menu, I think it most likely that it will be wonderful and they will certainly have a wine to go with whatever it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam_David_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Marketing at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your review. Thanks for your appreciation of our extensive wine list. Thankyou also for your feedback in regards to our menu. You are right that it is not an extensive menu, however this is because we love to use the freshest local produce possible and make the dishes we serve the best they can possibly be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We eat here whenever we can find an excuse to splurge a little. The Killer Margaritas are enough to get me back each time!!
Thanks guys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CMCS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Marketing at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thanks for your great review - we look forward to welcoming you back here for another of our 'killer margarita'!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I recently dined at the Stunned Mullet and felt compelled to write a review. I rarely do but this experience warranted one. The view across to the ocean is unbeatable, the service was amazing and the food was right up there with high end city restaurants. A contemporary menu with items to suit any taste is complimented by an extensive wine list. All this in a relaxed atmosphere where anybody would feel comfortable. Do yourself a favour and try the pork bellies, they are sensational!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JasonBourne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THESTUNNEDMULLE... P, Marketing at The Stunned Mullet, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thanks so much Jason for your excellent review of our restaurant. We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience at The Stunned Mullet. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
The Stunned Mullet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stunned Mullet also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to The Stunned Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing