We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place for a relaxing holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
The Hideout in its beautiful rural setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hideout in its beautiful rural setting
South facing deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Hideout in its beautiful rural setting
South facing deck
Comfortable lounge area with TV/DVD
Master bedroom with large walk-in robe, TV
Bedroom 2 with double single beds,  built-in wardrobe and TV.
Luxuriously appointed bathroom and laundry.
Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Open plan dining/kitchen
Fun for all the family in the 15m solar-heated pool.
Dine or relax on the large verandah
Expansive rural views - no neighbours!
Experience the serenity.
Catch a fish or just relax by the Hastings River.
Have a plane? Fly right in to the private airstrip.
Our location
Stunning sunsets
Lotus-covered dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Port Macquarie, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniw
Upper Hunter, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Beautiful place for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for one week at The Hideout and loved it. The location is perfect, out of town but close enough to go into Wauchope or to drive to Port Macquarie. The cottage is perfect, very well thought out, plenty of room and so comfortable. My kids (aged 14 & 8) loved the pool (just a shame it rained a lot during our stay) but they made the most of it when they could swim. We walked down to the river which was lovely for some fishing. Enjoying a quiet drink on the verandah of an afternoon was so relaxing, we didn't want to leave. A big thankyou to Sue & Clyde who made us feel so welcome and sharing their beautiful peace of paradise with us. We have stayed at a lot of different holiday houses and this is by far the best, I would highly recommend The Hideout, loved it.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location and the lovely hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete_T_19...
Greater Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not ask for more - just perfect for the whole family”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived we were welcomed with perfect homemade wood fire pizza's in the best pizza oven ever seen. The kids were welcomed with open hands by Sue and Clyde which allowed our children to be kids from playing in the beautiful pool to guided tour of the resident aeroplanes. The property had everything required for a young family which allowed a awesome but inexpensive family holiday. Looking forward to our return visit in the very near future. Thanks again Sue and Clyde for being such great hosts

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCBizz
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ticks All The Boxes & More.”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed for just a couple of days in Sept 2014 and were so impressed with 'The Hideout'. Sue and her family are lovely people and made us extremely welcome during our stay. How rare it is to find such gracious and congenial hosts. The Hideout itself has been meticulously planned and designed for comfort and relaxation with everything you could need available. It is by far the best set up I have ever seen in ALL the holiday rental properties I have stayed at over the years. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed at their choice in staying here.

Our normally well behaved 10 month old Frenchie just loved the space to run around and check out the birds and cows. I was apprehensive about him following Sue about and his over friendliness, but they took it all in their stride and welcomed him as much as us.

Loved the peace and quiet, the walks, the beautiful sunsets. I do wish we had the time to stay longer.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverGle...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“An amazing retreat in the hinterland of Port Macquarie”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2012

My Wife and I stayed here for ten days as a getaway just prior to Christmas. The location was perfect; close enough to Port Macquarie to enjoy the sights and a night out but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet of a country setting. The views here are amazing, and we enjoyed waking up every morning having a leisurely coffee on the huge deck, looking out over the vista. The house itself was a home away from home. Beautifully styled with a stocked pantry of snacks, teas and expresso coffee. The hosts are great and have really gone the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. We'll be staying here again for sure and have already recommended the Hideout to a bunch of our friends.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very Merry Christmas with a beautiful view”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at the Hideout with friends for the Christmas and New Year period. Our stay was sensational, the views were gorgeous, especially the sunsets, the place was so new and clean and really well appointed. We took our precious dogs and they were made to feel so welcome too. The Hideout is out of town and so quiet but easily accessible to so many lovely spots like the Strawberry Farm and Bago winery as well as the beaches in Port Macquarie. We would totally recommend it and plan to go back soon!

Date of stay: January 2013
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most peaceful, serene and scenic experience ever”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

There is nothing missing from this accommodation. You can immediately tell from all the 'little' extras that the main concern from the owners Sue and Clyde is your comfort. From the first booking experience to our last moment on the property there was an air of friendliness and concern for our ability to enjoy each moment. The accommodation itself is amazingly comfortable and clean and sits on the most fantastic property. It is not far from anything if you want to be active and yet far enough away to have totally peaceful real if this is your aim. We would absolutely recommend trying out this hidden gem, you will come back again and again.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayBr...
Bright, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - could not be bettered - a fantastic place”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We travel constantly (we are in the travel business) and when we find a gem we are incredibly impressed as they are few and far between. THIS PLACE IS A GEM. Everything spotless, everything new, delightful hosts, sublime setting, it just goes on and on.

Outside the lounge your view is over the most beautiful pond with a dinky little bridge to get to the other walks. The birdlife is abundant - flitting about - swooping down, doing tricks. You walk to the end of the garden and there is the most tranquil wide river which you just stare at in its peacefulness.

The photos don't do it justice. It is fully equipped with best quality fittings and fixtures. Great bed - good quality toiletries.

We were there in winter so didn't want the pool and the heated spa.

Meanwhile there is a billiard table and all sorts of other stuff. It would suit everybody - couple, families, travelling friends.

I hope this place succeeds because it deserves too.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All new quality property in a magnificent setting
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing