We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northpoint Apartments
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Location”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights over the Christmas/New Year break. I made our reservation a month or so prior to our holiday and that process was easy and friendly. I was somewhat surprised and a little disappointed the family/management were not very personable during our stay there. The kitchen was well equipped, the only negative being the knives were all blunt. The master suite was very spacious and comfortable but the second bedroom was below par. The room was small with 2 single beds which would only be comfortable for children. A good layout with the living area creating good separation between the bedrooms which are positioned on either side.Bedrooms and living area all have access to the balcony. The location is fabulous, walking distance to everywhere you need to go. I would rate very good to excellent if the 2nd bedroom was larger with king singles or queen bed.

Room Tip: if you don't have children and like peace and quiet request a room that doesn't overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneMontvilleQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    48
    24
    12
    2
See reviews for
81
54
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having read the mixed reviews of this establishment my partner and I decided to try it anyway, and BOY are we glad we did!

Top level apartment provides a FULL kitchen, which is so very handy when deciding not to splurge on take out as your able to cook a full meal with ease. Apartment was clean and crisp in presentation, must have been privately owned because the diverse arrangement of utensils and furnishings was a sight to behold. Beautiful views outside at all hours of the day when you can peel your eyes off the massive plasma screen tv. Much appreciated the King bed in the master bedroom, soooooo comfortable! And had a plasma on the wall as well!

Being frequent visitors to Port Macquarie sometimes it was just nice to rent a movie and relax in the apartment rather that go out and explore the area outside like we have done so many years in a row. We love the BBQ area by the pool on the bottom floor and its a pleasure to bask in the sun on your particularly large private balcony!

Having tried and tested many of the accommodaiton options in Port Macquaire, we come back to this one every time. Whether it be a long weekend away or an indulgent week or more spent winding down, simply wonderful experience always!

Room Tip: Pure luck that we have gotten the same room the 'Wilgadene' got in their review, our definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights in an 8th floor apartment. Secure under building parking. Large apartment with very large balcony overlooking the beautiful waterways of Port Macquarie. Apartment furniture a little tired and in need of replacement. Comfy bed and big screen TV. Our west facing balcony got a little hot and glarey during late afternoon - so ask for north or east facing if available. Check in was late - 3:00pm and check out way too early at 9:30am. Very strange when the office didn't open till 10:00am on Sundays.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hs656409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We just had 2 nights at Northpoint. We only decided to go away at the last minute in the peak holiday season. So we choose this accommodation in a bit of a hurry. We rang to do the booking and the manager told us we had a penthouse apartment well it was on the 8th floor with great views but definitely not a penthouse apartment. The owner also likes a big deposit like $300 so beware if you did change your mind you will loose the deposit. Most travel booking websites these days need no deposit. Also on arrival he wants the full balance. Also another weird thing is the opening hours of the office for check in and departure. So don't be late you will be locked out. Check out of the apartment is 9-30 in the morning which tends to spoil a weekend escape when its that early and the manager is not even at the office till 10am. On the plus side apartments are very spacious and most have wonderful views of port Macquarie and the location is very good. The furniture is a little on the shaby side for what they are charging and towels very thin and old. I think in Port Macquarie you can do better than Northpoint apartments.

Room Tip: I would choose an apartment that is North East facing. We had west facing and the afternoon sun made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed in apartment 903 (3 bedroom 2 bathroom) a number of times now and it impresses everytime. On our last visit we were pleasantly surprised to find new beds which included a king in the master bedroom. A brand new 42" plasma screen TV with blu-ray DVD player and wall mounted plasma in the main bedroom made watching television, especially the tennis and cricket in January, enjoyable. With its generously equipped kitchen - no shortage of cutlery, plates, cooking utensils,quality pans, sharp knife block set and steak knives it was easy to whip up a meal when required. Coupled with the modern furniture and motel style decor (white striped sheets with bed runners and lumbar support pillows on the beds, the expansive water views from the living area and balcony and 2 of the bedrooms, we thought this unit was good value for money. The location, cleanliness, friendly management and your own laundry with washing machine and dryer, along with the facilities of the Northpoint Apartments all made for a very relaxing stay. The designated BBQ area with community kitchen and table tennis table was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Apartment 903 is on the top floor and has excellent water views up the Hastings River and along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilgadene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very good security and great location for shops and restaurants which are all within very easy walking distance.
If you want a nice view then you need a high floor and the best units for views (in my opinion) are XX1 and XX7 the higher the floor the better the view.
Water pressure is a problem and also the hot water temperature has not been set high enough to have a good shower. It is not possible to adjust the temperature higher yourself as it is thermostatically controlled at a low temperature to save electricity.
Under building secure parking is free. Internet fee is charged if you require a Wi Fi connection.
Rooms are a very good size and the very large balcony is excellent.
You must remember that all units are individually owned so they will all be furnished differently so some units will be in excellent condition and others not so good as it just depends on the owner of the unit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff couldn’t do enough to make our stay most pleasant. We spent 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom ocean view. Very well maintained, clean accommodation both internal and external. Pool area has ample deck chairs to cater for all, pool maintenance everyday very visible. Perfect location, great facilities and caters for all requirements from restaurants, cafes to shopping centres etc. I have stayed at most properties in Port Macquarie over the years and the new owners at Northpoint have the best staff and service standards. Congratulations to the management and staffs for caring about your guests and making them feel welcome. Keep up the great work. If you’re looking for a fantastic experience, excellent service and accommodation you cannot look past Northpoint.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.0 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northpoint Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northpoint Apartments

Property: Northpoint Apartments
Address: 2 Murray St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Northpoint Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northpoint Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing