We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Port Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Port Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Roomy, comfortable, clean, having a good laundry for those on the road was good, room was warm on what was a cold winter night, good parking, great service, and good value, a good location in town, walk to bowls club for cheap food, quiet

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate your time taken to review East Port and thank you for joining us during your journey. It was a pleasure to be of service and to provide a clean, comfortable and convenient lodging.
As you note, Port City BC is very convenient to East Port just 475m away. Just another 50m and you have the choice of two fine seafood restaurants: Scampis and Stunned Mullet. The Milk Bar is here also for coffee, tea and breakfast.
Hopefully we will see you again in our beautiful town, Port Macquarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    182
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
71
227
43
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Narrabri, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed 3 nights recently and it is really good value for money. It is what it is, a clean and tidy motel in a quiet location at good rates. Rhys in reception was very friendly and helpful. Wi fi not that brilliant in all sections of the motel but ok in the guests lounge, but Rhys told us this on booking in.
Would definitely stay again but get a ground floor room if you don't like dragging luggage up stairs as there is no lift.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't like stairs, no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate you joining us for your stay in Port Macquarie and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences.
We have had much difficulty trying to establish WiFi in each room with our double brick walls and slab floors. Consequently, we offer free WiFi in our Guest Lounge as you have noted. We will be doing more work here moving our Hotspot to the lounge to ensure connection here is strong. Plans to refurbish the lounge are also underway.
We look forward to being of further service when you next visit East Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel was clean and tidy and looked recently pained and carpeted. However it would be fair to say it is a fairly basic level of accommodation and for a Superior Queen room it wasn't that big. We only stayed for two nights which was enough given we could hear the gentleman in the room net door snoring like a locomotive. My opinion is there are better value hotels in Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at East Port it is very much appreciated. We are truly sorry to hear that your sleep quality was interfered with by your neighbour.
It is indeed fair to say East Port offers basic accommodation. After all, we are a 3 1/2 star motor inn. Compared to that class, our Standard & Superior Queens represent great value for a night or two. For those wishing to spread their wings a little more we would recommend one of our Balcony rooms.
As you have noted, our Superior rooms have been completely renovated including new cabinetry, curtains and paint. We are upgrading three more rooms in this fashion in August.
Thank you for your patronage of East Port Motor Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Clean basic rooms, a microwave oven is located in a communal guest room (one for each floor). Quiet location a few streets away from the beach, if you want ocean views, this location does not supply any.

Only minor issue was the bright orange glow coming through the gaps of the curtain rod, this light stays on all night and might annoy guests who like to sleep in a pitch black room (pack your sleeping mask if that is the case).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeenJay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are truly sorry that you found your experience at East Port to be an average one.
Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about our location but it is worth mentioning that the absence of ocean views saves our guests around $50-$100 per night. We hope this represents great value.
Likely it is council lighting that affected your sleep quality but we will immediately investigate improvement to the curtains in your room for our future guests.
Thank you for staying with us, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's great when you arrive at a hotel you booked online and have never stayed at and have it be exactly what you needed. East Port Motor Inn was a nice, cosy place to stay with little touches provided by the owners that really made a difference. It was so close to the main areas, with a comfy bed and movie channels available to fall asleep to after exploring Port Macquarie. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeny3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of East Port Motor inn. We have worked diligently in providing detail of our lodgings online and are happy to hear that it is reflected in reality. Likewise we work hard to make your stay a little different to others to enhance your comfort and experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay all round, it was a pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

After travelling throughout eastern and central Australia for a month, we just wanted a place to stay on our last night before returning home. We arrived late in the afternoon to a warm welcome from Rhys who arranged a superior room on the ground floor at a very reasonable rate. The room was large and very comfortable with a little courtyard. The location was very convenient for a stroll to the beach where we had a very good meal at Scampi restaurant. What had started out as just a stop over on the way from Brisbane turned out to be one of the best nights of our trip. My wife accidentally left her phone in the room when we left. We received a phone call from Rhys in the car telling us that he had found the phone and that he would send it on to our address. That is service. Would definitely stay there when next in Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevearmstrong2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for joining us in Port Macquarie on the last leg of your trip. We are very pleased to hear that it was a highlight and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the nearby restaurant 'Scampis'. We hope that you might have the time to enjoy more of Port Macquarie on your next visit and if so we look forward to being of service again.
Thank you for taking the time to review East Port, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently stayed here on an overnight visit and found the Motor Inn to be very clean. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip through Port Macquarrie.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys and Larysa H, Owner at East Port Motor Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We thank you for your patronage of East Port and taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again and being of further service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Paso Motor Inn
El Paso Motor Inn
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Port Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Port Motor Inn

Property: East Port Motor Inn
Address: 56 Burrawan St | Corner of Lord & Burrawan Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Port Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to East Port Motor Inn, a AAA rated 3.5 Star property. Service, quality and convenience await you at East Port Motor Inn, Port Macquarie. We highly value your patronage and will endeavour to make your stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible.Please note that East Port Motor Inn is proud to be a non smoking property inclusive of all indoor areas, balconies and public areas on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Port Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing