We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location, good value and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our drive from Sydney to Byron. We arrived close to midnight and I called beforehand and reception arranged for the keys to be left in their after hours safe.

The room was not the Ritz but it was clean and serviceable and the bed comfortable. Small balcony with glimpse of the water the next day. Great blackout curtains so you could sleep in despite the room being quite sunny.

We booked the B&B option so in the morning, checked out, had a great breakfast at the hotel cafe and then off we went.

It was a great pit stop location:
1. Secure underground carpark
2. Clean and comfortable stay
3. Great breakfast and coffee
4. Good location - we walked around in the morning and stock up on supplies before driving further north.

I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review! We value your detailed review and comments about your stay and appreciate the time you have taken to write them. We hope Port Macquarie will be on your agenda when next travelling to Australia and we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 678 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We only stayed here one night, but the spacious apartment and excellent location would have made it a great place to stay for a few days. Initially, I thought the room rate was expensive, but when I saw the apartment, not "room", I realized that it was great value. Our one bedroom apartment with its bedroom, lounge/dining area and full kitchen was more than adequate for our brief stay. It even had a washer and dryer, which was just what we needed after two weeks of non-stop travelling.

A little disappointed with the view, but the terrace outside the room would still have been a pleasant spot to relax if we'd had the time.Very clean, friendly staff, underground parking, restaurant on site. A minute or two from lovely walks along the front or into the commercial area of this sparkling and spotless little town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekimbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback about your nights stay at Macquarie Waters. We appreciate your comments and that you chose to stay with us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bdrm apartment for 3 nights and were very disappointed.
After reading great reviews on here we thought this would be an awesome place to stay.
When we first walked through the apartment door we were pleased with the size and the fact that the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery and bits and pieces but that's where the good review ends.
The view was obstructed, the mattress was hard, the bathrooms had soap scum, broken tiles and rusty taps. The carpet and curtains were dirty and the sofa was very old and uncomfortable.
I have no idea how this property has achieved a 4.5 star rating as I have stayed in 3 star apartments that are nicer.
To top off our bad experience we found the reception staff to be very rude.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryntrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We apologise your experience at Macquarie Waters was not as you had expected given our great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled we could provide you and your family with a complimentary upgrade to a room with a view. Our view rooms have the view from on the balcony as we are not directly located on the water, but perfectly located between town beach and the town center. We are sincerely sorry the furniture was not to your standard, however the chaise lounge, tub chairs, coffee table and entertainment units in every apartment are brand new and only installed in December, 3 short months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a great value hotel - close to the beach, restaurants and entertainment. The reception is friendly, rooms are comfortable and pool and spa area are lovely. We've stayed here a few times, and this is the first time we've got a view - nice, as are the balconies. Also, LOVE the restaurant - excellent menu.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side area also a little warmer - great for winter, but maybe a bit hot in January...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and your return stays with us. We are so thrilled you have a hotel that is perfectly suited to you. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Have just spent 3 days in a one bedroom spa apartment. The aprtment is well appointed and clean.
From the balconey (we were on the fifth floor) you get views north up the beach.
The cafe (restaurant) downstairs does a great breakfast and coffee.
The apartments are well located only two blocks from many other places to eat and shop.
Would recommned this apartment to anyone.
The staff should also be complimented. Sarah, the manager was easy to deal with. She recommended a local hairdresser for my wife as we attending a wedding. I have already received an email from her thanking us for staying with them, now that would be a first. The other staff we spoke to all were all very helpful and friendly.
Would have given it a 5 but had just stayed at an amazing apartment in another town. Maybe this is not fair, but this was a great room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We cannot thank you enough for your fantastic review and great comments about your stay. We are thrilled every aspect of your stay at Macquarie Waters was enjoyable and that the team were able to assist with recommendations on local businesses. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Had high expectations. Reception nice. Room very good. it was raining so could not use pool or rooftop area. View from was disappointing. Overall good value. would come back again but would ask for better view.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Angus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback about your stay. We look forward to your return visit with us and hope the weather is better for that visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times over the past few years. Usually I am quite happy but this time I was disappointed. You are never quite sure what kind of room you are going to get. We had a spa view room the first time and even though you can sit in the spa and look out the window I do like my privacy in a bathroom and do not want to get changed in the cramped shower area. There was also no where to put your clothes or toiletries. The room on the return trip needed a good spring clean and maintenance. The chairs and lounge were stained. Apparently we were upgraded as it was two bedroomed. I know why,no one else wanted it. The t.v in the bedroom didn't work and the bed was extremely uncomfortable with a mattress that you rolled into the middle and into your partner. I had a terrible nights sleep.It was also extremely noisy with the garbage truck and general road noise all night and birds etc. You had to leave the windows open in the bedroom as there was no air conditioner in there. Only a noisy fan. Macquarie Waters please maintain your rooms and check them for cleanliness. Usually I am happy with the good location of this hotel, the friendly staff ,secure car parking and 5 star restaurant. Sorry,not this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xena100bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay. We are spending time looking into the issues raised in your review for both rooms you stayed in. We pride ourselves on ensuring the highest level of product and cleanliness and apologise it was not this way for this stay. We have different room types at Macquarie Waters to offer different needs and we encourage our regular guests to let us know their preference of room type so we can best meet their needs when staying with us so frequently. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.8 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments

Address: 11 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $132 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macquarie Waters is a multi-award winning 4.5 star boutique apartment hotel conveniently located in the heart of Port Macquarie & just a short stroll to the waterfront, beaches and shopping. Choose from stylish hotel rooms or 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained apartments - spa and ocean view rooms are available. Perfect for corporate and leisure travellers, all rooms feature large TVs with 80+ Foxtel channels and FREE Wi-Fi. Experience our friendly, professional service and FREE secure car parking. Relax in the heated outdoor pool & spa or hot tub on the roof deck with water views. During the warmer months we also screen movies by the pool! Eat at our popular restaurant, The Corner open daily from 7am for casual dining (closed Sunday from 3pm) or enjoy FREE room service delivery. 2015 Sydney Morning Herald Good Food Guide & 2014 Gourmet Traveller 1 Glass Award. Proud winners of the 2014 NSW Tourism Awards - Gold for Deluxe Accommodation and 2014 Australian Tourism Awards - Bronze for Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Waters Hotel Apartments
Macquarie Waters Motel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing