We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Aston Hill Motor Lodge(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$88
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Koala Tree Motel(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rydges Port Macquarie(Port Macquarie)
$179
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
East Port Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Paso Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid Pacific Motel(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$117
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra The Observatory(Port Macquarie)
$129
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
461
214
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
214
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom apartmentrooftop spahot tubboutique hotelplace to staysecure underground parkinglarge balconygreat accommodationfull kitchenair conditionerclose to shopshotel roomwater viewthe location is perfectwould definitely stay here againtown centrestayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 711 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bdrm apartment for 3 nights and were very disappointed.
After reading great reviews on here we thought this would be an awesome place to stay.
When we first walked through the apartment door we were pleased with the size and the fact that the kitchen was well stocked with cutlery and bits and pieces but that's where the good review ends.
The view was obstructed, the mattress was hard, the bathrooms had soap scum, broken tiles and rusty taps. The carpet and curtains were dirty and the sofa was very old and uncomfortable.
I have no idea how this property has achieved a 4.5 star rating as I have stayed in 3 star apartments that are nicer.
To top off our bad experience we found the reception staff to be very rude.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerryntrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

We apologise your experience at Macquarie Waters was not as you had expected given our great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were thrilled we could provide you and your family with a complimentary upgrade to a room with a view. Our view rooms have the view from on the balcony as we are not directly located on the water, but perfectly located between town beach and the town center. We are sincerely sorry the furniture was not to your standard, however the chaise lounge, tub chairs, coffee table and entertainment units in every apartment are brand new and only installed in December, 3 short months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a great value hotel - close to the beach, restaurants and entertainment. The reception is friendly, rooms are comfortable and pool and spa area are lovely. We've stayed here a few times, and this is the first time we've got a view - nice, as are the balconies. Also, LOVE the restaurant - excellent menu.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side area also a little warmer - great for winter, but maybe a bit hot in January.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your review and your return stays with us. We are so thrilled you have a hotel that is perfectly suited to you. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Have just spent 3 days in a one bedroom spa apartment. The aprtment is well appointed and clean.
From the balconey (we were on the fifth floor) you get views north up the beach.
The cafe (restaurant) downstairs does a great breakfast and coffee.
The apartments are well located only two blocks from many other places to eat and shop.
Would recommned this apartment to anyone.
The staff should also be complimented. Sarah, the manager was easy to deal with. She recommended a local hairdresser for my wife as we attending a wedding. I have already received an email from her thanking us for staying with them, now that would be a first. The other staff we spoke to all were all very helpful and friendly.
Would have given it a 5 but had just stayed at an amazing apartment in another town. Maybe this is not fair, but this was a great room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandybillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We cannot thank you enough for your fantastic review and great comments about your stay. We are thrilled every aspect of your stay at Macquarie Waters was enjoyable and that the team were able to assist with recommendations on local businesses. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Had high expectations. Reception nice. Room very good. it was raining so could not use pool or rooftop area. View from was disappointing. Overall good value. would come back again but would ask for better view.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Angus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback about your stay. We look forward to your return visit with us and hope the weather is better for that visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times over the past few years. Usually I am quite happy but this time I was disappointed. You are never quite sure what kind of room you are going to get. We had a spa view room the first time and even though you can sit in the spa and look out the window I do like my privacy in a bathroom and do not want to get changed in the cramped shower area. There was also no where to put your clothes or toiletries. The room on the return trip needed a good spring clean and maintenance. The chairs and lounge were stained. Apparently we were upgraded as it was two bedroomed. I know why,no one else wanted it. The t.v in the bedroom didn't work and the bed was extremely uncomfortable with a mattress that you rolled into the middle and into your partner. I had a terrible nights sleep.It was also extremely noisy with the garbage truck and general road noise all night and birds etc. You had to leave the windows open in the bedroom as there was no air conditioner in there. Only a noisy fan. Macquarie Waters please maintain your rooms and check them for cleanliness. Usually I am happy with the good location of this hotel, the friendly staff ,secure car parking and 5 star restaurant. Sorry,not this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xena100bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay. We are spending time looking into the issues raised in your review for both rooms you stayed in. We pride ourselves on ensuring the highest level of product and cleanliness and apologise it was not this way for this stay. We have different room types at Macquarie Waters to offer different needs and we encourage our regular guests to let us know their preference of room type so we can best meet their needs when staying with us so frequently. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews