We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliscious”
Review of The Bar Restaurant and Cafe - CLOSED

The Bar Restaurant and Cafe
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurant and cafe offers a large range of menu items giving you a variety of options to choose from whether it be something simple or something different. We specialise in seafood and steak sourcing the best produce available. We have a large selection of Beer, wine , spirits and cocktails from our licensed bar. We are family friendly and can cater for all size groups and occasions. We are open from 5pm for Dinner. Our restaurant seats up to 120 Guest with indoor seating as well as alfresco dining. Come and relax, unwind and let us take you into culinary heaven.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deliscious”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Have been here several times and each time the food has been absolutely beautiful!! Everything is cooked with love and alot of skill. Best chicken snitzel ever!!! Develop some more atmosphere and will be one of the best restaurants in port. Will definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fartho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchall A, Owner at The Bar Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at the bar restaurant and cafe

we have since change our menu for winter and we hope to see you again here to try it out.

we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    13
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port macquarie
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delicious!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What an enjoyable night!! We were greeted with a friendly smile and fantastic customer service! The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. The salt and pepper squid for entree was the best I have ever tasted and just melted in my mouth. When speaking with the lovely waitress I was pleased to hear that the chef uses a lot of local ingredients and makes all his sauces and marinades from scratch (probably why they are so yummy!!). I would definatly recommend the bar to all my family and friends and am looking forward to returning when their new winter menu is released!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle_hazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchall A, Owner at The Bar Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at the bar restaurant and cafe
we have since change our menu for winter and we hope to see you again here to try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointed..”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We had heard some great reviews from friends and saw some lovely meals on their Facebook page. Unfortunately the food we were served wasn't anywhere near the advertised standard..

The entree was a bruschetta which I can't fault, nothing special but nothing terrible either. No complaints there.

Our mains ordered were the 500gm Rump Steak, One rare, One medium rare with Vegetables as a side. Both steaks we received were completely cooked through, even enough to become quite difficult to cut. The steamed vegetables consisted of an extremely wilted bowl of mixed items. No flavour and after a quick taste was pushed aside not to be touched again. We also both ordered Diane Sauce for the meals but only received one, when staff were prompted, we got the second serve, after around five minutes..

The desert in their defence was absolutely amazing, we ordered the Honeycomb Soufflé and it was certainly the highlight of the meal.

Being we only get out from time to time being a young family, I don't think there's any chance of us returning any time soon. Not sure if we got the chef on a bad night but the main course certainly wasn't up to standard for what I would prepare. Not very good value for money unfortunately.

Helpful?
9 Thank ItsTristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchall A, Owner at The Bar Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are sorry to here your dining experience wasn't as expected. We take all feedback quiet Seriously good and bad.
We are happy you enjoyed your first course and dessert
we are unsure what may have happened with your mains
hope to see you again here at the bar restaurant and cafe so we can hopefully change your mind in regards to your last visit.
if you would like to discuss this further please contact us on 6583 5477
we have since change our menu for winter and hope you will give us another try

we have noticed that both your wife and yourself have left a 1 star review and we hope we can change your opinion of our restaurant
please contact us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I had been told the bar was amazing, so decided to go for dinner with a few girls from work. After waiting a long time for our orders we were disappointed when our meals were cold and unappealing. The staff weren't friendly and were rushing us to order. I won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elle399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchall A, Owner at The Bar Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are sorry to here your dining experience wasn't as expected. We take all feedback quiet Seriously good and bad.
We are having trouble identifying the night of your visit with your friends. As we have gone through to try and find what may have happened that night.
hope to see you again here at the bar restaurant and cafe so we can hopefully change your mind in regards to your last visit.
if you would like to discuss this further please contact us on 6583 5477
we have since change our menu for winter and hope you will give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally enjoyable night.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

First time trying out this restaurant and we all loved it. Great food and wonderful service. Highly recommend the bruschetta, sticky date pudding and souffle. We will definitely be back to try more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchall A, Owner at The Bar Restaurant and Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at the bar restaurant and cafe.
We would like to thank you for choosing the bar to dine at. We are so happy you night was to your expectation as we strive to ensure our food and service is memorable.
once again thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bar Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing