We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Koalas are cute”
Review of Koala Hospital

Koala Hospital
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's first hospital dedicated to these creatures.
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Koalas are cute”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a great place, they do a fantastic job & it is great to be able to see what they do to help our koala population & learn so much about how we can help the koalas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    313
    76
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great cause”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second trip to the Koala Hospital (our first being four years ago) and again we loved it. The Staff at the hopsital are some of the most dedicated you will find.

Staff provide a talk about the hospital and koalas in general each day at 3pm. A great opportunity to ask some questions and to learn more about the work the hosital does.

We 'adopted' our second koala whilst there; a great way to support the hospital which relies on donations for it to continue.

A great place to take children who can see the koala up close and learn more about them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We spent an hour or so visiting and enjoyed the whole thing. The dedicated staff are obviously very passionate about their work and it's a joy to see such well cared for animals. All donations go towards the work of the hospital but there is no pressure to donate. The care these people provide is around the clock for many months or years so every little the public can give will keep them going.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A chance to see koalas up close and help an excellent cause with a donation. Adjacent is the historic Roto House and grounds, also worth a visit to get an idea of lifestyles in old Port Mac.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Such good work”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

These people do such good work, for sick or injured koalas, and nurse them back to health and look after them. The ones we saw were recovered or recovering and seemed relaxed and happy. Worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koala Hospital also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Koala Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing