We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable”
Review of Port O'Call Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port O'Call Motel
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, Affordable”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Motel has recently been refurbished, the room, and particularly the bathroom, was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Management were very friendly and helpful. Even though it is on the main road into Port MacQuarie there was no traffic noise. The air conditioner is a split system and is very quiet.
There is a Courtesy Bus pickup for the RSL.
I will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishmar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was more than happy with my stay at this motel. Finding family accommodation in peak Christmas season for just 1 night is never easy, but this motel fit the bill perfectly.

Poor area was quite lovely and well maintained. Although on a busy street, noise was not a problem as the bathroom faced out to the street. The owner was particularly friendly and made us feel very welcome on arrival. Although a basic motel, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Good value, very clean motels and friendly welcome. Stayed for one night on our way to Gold Coast , very pleasant, handy to main highway for leaving. Clean and tidy motel and would stay again. Close to town centre with Aldi only down the road

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped off in port Macquarie for a quick stopover otherwise we would have been on a greyhound bus for 15 hours!

On getting to port o,call we were welcomed by Neil and Christine and they were really helpful in phoning a cab for us in preparation for an early checkout and told us as we were hungry of a tavern 3 minutes away that we could eat and the food was good and believe us it was!

We were allocated a lovely room which was very clean with nice hot shower and tv.

There is also wifi along with a pool and even a resident koala!!

Really enjoyed the quick stopover night we had and if I was in PM again I would definitely stay here as its nice and quiet with great hosts and lovely and clean.

FYI- From the greyhound stop/ town it's $12 in a cab

Thanks Christine & Neil.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchandsheyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights whilst my husband and son were attending the NSW Basketball Jamboree Camp. Christine and Neil were just lovely and very obliging. On check-in Christine informed me she would be charging us less than first quoted which was very much appreciated.
The motel was super clean and serviced every day. It is located on a very busy road but noise wasn't a problem. The location was perfect for us as it was less than 100 metres from the basketball stadium. It is a short drive to town but it is very close to a shopping centre called Settlement City which had everything we needed and Panther at Port Club next door.
The room had a lovely little private courtyard and throught the courtyard gate was a pool and bbq.
Would definately recommend this to anyone wanting clean, comfortable accomodation on a budget. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2 & 3 are closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0i1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australis
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This motel looks like (is described as) within walking distance of the town however we had to get a taxi to & from town for dinner etc (& we are very active people!) Not major but an extra $10-12 each way to consider on your rate if you want to put that towards staying more local.

Staff are lovely & the continental breakky was decent (cereal, toast, spreads, juice)

Place was clean. Decor was average old school motel but we didn't care about aesthetics!

I did find I was woken a bit early by people by the pool & general bustle of people but that's average motel noise.

Would recommend if you don't mind the taxi cost into town & if like us it was just somewhere to lay your head for the night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishrose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We found the hosts to be welcoming and friendly, a lovely breakfast brought to our room at a reasonable cost, would definitely stay again if passing through port macquarie!The koala hiding in the tree was a nice surprise for tourists like us!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WHGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.1 mi away
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
#17 of 42 in Port Macquarie
177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#18 of 42 in Port Macquarie
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Aloha Motel
Port Aloha Motel
#22 of 42 in Port Macquarie
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le George Motel
Le George Motel
#27 of 42 in Port Macquarie
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
John Oxley Motel
John Oxley Motel
#31 of 42 in Port Macquarie
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Motel

Property: Port O'Call Motel
Address: 105 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port O'Call Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Port O'Call Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing