We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service :)”
Review of Le George Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le George Motel
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I travel for work up & down the NSW Coastline, my company puts me in motels/hotels from 2 through to 5 stars. In previous years I had stayed at Le George Motel & thought it was ok.
My company placed me there again for two nights this past November, on arrival I noticed two new faces in the office, the new couple that have since taken over, They were so lovely & accommodating. The rooms had been refurbished & decked out with new manchester, curtains & the carpets were noticeably cleaner. The lover lady who now runs the Le George with her Husband are great people - sharing local secret location & cooking a great Breakfast!

I have since booked in for a 5 night stay in February for my family!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

We appreciated the value for money for a clean place to rest our travelling heads which left more money to spend on our travels. Owners very friendly and willing to lend a hand when needed as was our case with a flat tyre.Easy walking to what ever you need in Port.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor better for the older travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have been coming to port for over 26 years, this time we got our motel wrong and have learned our lesson, stay with what u know and don't try different motels when booking on line absolutely shocking even for a 3.5 star rated motel

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peakey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The motel is located very close and within walking distance of the CBD. The hot all inclusive breakfast was excellent and the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Not far away too is the Westport Bowling Club where you can find anything from a snack to a hearty meal and all at reasonable prices. We will certainly stay again when we next visit Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFoxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Due to the favorable reviews on the Internet we have booked family room (2 rooms with door in between). When we walked in after a full day of driving we were tempted to leave the rooms and continue the trip, as everything but location was disappointing. Rooms were dusty (particularly carpet) and not refurbished for more than 30 years. Beds were short (not king size), uncomfortable and with cheap pillow. Almost every piece of furniture was chipped and broken, bathroom doors couldn't be closed properly, Shower head was falling down. TV reception was terrible. Acoustic insulation was inappropriate.

Photo on the Internet is not the proper representation of the motel; I almost took photos to put it on the Internet to show how our rooms looked like. Do not be tempted to come to this nominally 3 star motel. I personally wouldn't give it a single star.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vmstajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
legeorge, Owner at Le George Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

We appreciate all feed back from customers good and bad, and thankyou for taking the time to review. This is the 1st time we have had such a review and feel just a few points should be made. We do not cater for Familys , groups or people under 40 years old, thus the Golden Chain logo, Senior logo and the fact there is nowhere to add children to any internet booking.
When presented with a Family as occainionally does happen we open 2 large double rooms with 2 bathrooms 2 lounge rooms and 2 balconies with 100% waterview over Port Macquarie.
and full breakfast for 5 delived to your room for $129 per night. All but these two rooms are Theme rooms completed early 2010 with artworks and decoration valued at $20,000 per room.
The risk of damage is too high to have children at the motel. Not all guests like our contingency plan however I beleive it is fair. That said we will look at a standard renovation for these rooms. Thanking you. Aus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

Another brief stopover for us on our drive from Sydney to the Sunshine Coast - Le George Motel was very central to everything in Port Macquarie and such good value for money !
We stopped at the Information Centre and they recommended the motel to us and it proved to be a good one. We basically only wanted a bed for the night but could see that it would be so handy for a longer stay.
The motel is an older one and the decor reflects this but we were made very welcome by management and everything was very clean. We had a ground floor unit that overlooked the pool and Hastings River and was within walking distance of Woolworths supermarket, and also the sea-front. The pool looked nice and clean but unfortunately the weather wasn't conducive to swimming ! There was a restaurant at the motel which we didn't sample but would be great if you didn't want to go far from base.
A choice of cooked breakfasts was included in the price of the room ( A$89 ) and we could specify what time we wanted it. It was delivered through a little cubby hole by the front door and our eggs were perfectly cooked, very impressive.
If you want somewhere handy to everything and keep within a budget then Le George is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kiwibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

My fiance and i have stayed at this little cute motel and have found nothing but courtous staff , who truly give you a holiday feel

Walking distance to the town centre, and with a lake as a backyard (great for fishing for the part timers like myself this is has been just perfect for all our 3 visits to Port Maq

Great range of DVD hire, this small and very cosy hotel is great value for money

If youre lucky , you can spot dolphins swimming in the lake, which in our case we thought was just magic

Warm friendly fun and inexpensive (especially for returning guests) and with adeqaute car parking this was just perfect for us

Great that the breakwall path leads right into the backyard of the hotel also

Will be back

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.5 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Motor Inn
Palm Court Motor Inn
#23 of 42 in Port Macquarie
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Motor Inn
Excelsior Motor Inn
#30 of 42 in Port Macquarie
60 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
#21 of 42 in Port Macquarie
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Paso Motor Inn
El Paso Motor Inn
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le George Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le George Motel

Address: 4 Hollingworth St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $81 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le George Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le George Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing