We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ath01 Excellent value great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ath01 Excellent value great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at The Observatory Hotel for one night last week, the room was lovely and met all of our expectations as outlined on the hotel web site. We chose the couples indulgence package which was excellent value. The staff were friendly and professional, from the booking person through to reception and cleaning staff. We will be re-visiting Port Macquarie and look forward to staying at The Observatory Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ath0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review! It's great to hear that we met your expectations on every level and that you enjoyed the Couple's Indulgence Package.

Your feedback abour our staff is very much appreciated. We will certainly pass that on.

We are very pleased that you plan to visit us again and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    361
    93
    15
    5
See reviews for
267
733
30
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend Friday through Sunday. Great Location right opposite Main Beach with an easy walk into town if you didn't feel like driving either by the street or along the break wall.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is in a little short supply so if you don't want to have to park in the street I suggest leaving your car in its spot and having a walk. The room itself is not to bad with average size (except for the bathroom - definitely only one person at a time and don't turn around to quick). See the photo of the room. Our room had a closed in veranda with louvred windows which turned out to be a blessing as there were major storms on the weekend so we could still get fresh air without getting wet.

The bed was comfortable with enough pillows for 2 to 3 each. The room was clean.

The indoor pool was good along with the spa and sauna.

WiFi was a pain - not easy to connect to and a weak signal for IPADs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased to hear that you loved the location and the view from your ocean view hotel room. Sorry the weather wasn't the best for you during your stay.
It's great that you were able to enjoy the indoor pool, sauna and spa. Thanks for your comments about the staff, we will pass on your feedback to the team.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Observatory Hotel in Port MacQuarie in January 2013. From the description of the hotel on their website I was expecting a lot. However, it didn't live up to my expectations and I would stay elsewhere if visiting Port MacQuarie again.
Pros:
Good size overall apartment (1 bedroom)
Good furnishings

Cons:
Extremely small bathroom
No air-conditioning in bedroom
A good 20 minute walk to heart of town
Extremely noisy
Indoor pool should be re-named "Kiddie" Pool

We stayed on the first floor, so very little view. Couples above us stayed out on balcony past midnight (which is fine by me as it was a beautiful night) but they were so loud we couldn't hear ourselves speak on the balcony below so had to retreat indoors and shut the french doors.
We visited Rydges whilst in Port MacQuarie and we would stay there next time, closer to town, on beach.

Room Tip: Don't start on Level 1, too noisy and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lea52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on every level, however, we are pleased to hear you liked your apartment and the furnishings. January is certainly the busiest time in Port and being school holidays it is more noisy than usual. We do, however, have a 'No Party Policy' and an after hours on-site manager to deal with any noise issues should you encounter them during your stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your feedback. We will pass on your suggestions to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

loved the size and feel of our apartment. Great location over looking water. My concern is the room was not cleaned properly, there were bits of soap on floor in shower (dont know if it was cleaned) the floors were filthy especially the rugs. the whole apartment need a thorough spring clean. I wrote this on feedback form however yet to hear from them. Other than that enjoyed our stay, well equiped and spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illawarrasteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment, the location and views, however, we are sorry to hear about your comments regarding the cleaning. I have passed on your feedback to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this issue is rectified. We sincerely apologise.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have just enjoyed a 4 day stay to the Observatory. Twelve months ago stayed in a comfortable Hotel room. This time a friend and I had an Ocean View two-bedroom apartment on the sixth floor.What a superb, totally unspoilt view - just pure nature! The staff are cheerful, helpful and efficient. The pool even enticed this usually reluctant swimmer. It's a bonus having the "Cafe" and "Scampi Restaurant" in the same complex plus the delightful, Scandinavian shop "for Good". Another real treat is the highly regarded restaurant "TheStunnedMullet" a few metres up the road. Some handy shops are only a short walk away as well. I can't imagine anywhere better to stay in Port Macquarie. Only one problem - the bedroom blinds clatter when the sliding doors are open - curtains would solve this annoyance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with Ocean Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review!! It's great that you loved you view and location.

We're pleased to hear you had the chance to enjoy the pool and the onsite cafe and restaurant. We are also very lucky to be so close to The Stunned Mullet Restaurant - a top spot for a special meal.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Forth floor apartment with beautiful balcony staring at the ocean- magnificent.

Cafe's down stairs sell horrific coffee but the food on the strip was quite good albeit expensive.

Will return here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the view and the location and the nearby restaurants. Sorry to hear the coffee wasn't to your liking.

Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our first visit to the Observatory and was a great experience, we had an Ocean View apartment for three days and it is a very short walk to town for shopping etc. and just around the corner is a great deal for buffet meals at the bowling club and below for other meals and drinks, the staff are very obliging and pleasant.
The apartment was very clean and well maintained.
The only minor downside is there is only one lift in each tower which can make for a long wait at times but we were on holiday so this wasn,t a major problem for us.

Room Tip: Try for a high ocean apartment they have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NswOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Property: Mantra The Observatory
Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. At Mantra The Observatory you’ll enjoy an excellent range of facilities including a heated lap pool, spa, sauna, BBQ area, and onsite dining options. Sample the region’s freshest seafood at Scampi’s Seafood Bar and Grill, or visit The Observatory Milkbar for a refreshing holiday beverage. A day spa is situated onsite for your convenience if you’d like to treat yourself to massage or facial during your stay. If you’re planning to soak in the sun there are countless beaches and picnic spots to explore, or for a little retail therapy the town centre is just a short walk away with a collection of boutique stores and retail chains at your fingertips. There is an abundance of activities on offer from the more adventurous including kayaking, fishing, horse riding and camel safaris, to family friendly activities such as wildlife and nature parks, local markets, golf, and ten pin bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing