We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and size but unclean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

loved the size and feel of our apartment. Great location over looking water. My concern is the room was not cleaned properly, there were bits of soap on floor in shower (dont know if it was cleaned) the floors were filthy especially the rugs. the whole apartment need a thorough spring clean. I wrote this on feedback form however yet to hear from them. Other than that enjoyed our stay, well equiped and spacious.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illawarrasteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your apartment, the location and views, however, we are sorry to hear about your comments regarding the cleaning. I have passed on your feedback to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that this issue is rectified. We sincerely apologise.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for Mantra The Observatory
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have just enjoyed a 4 day stay to the Observatory. Twelve months ago stayed in a comfortable Hotel room. This time a friend and I had an Ocean View two-bedroom apartment on the sixth floor.What a superb, totally unspoilt view - just pure nature! The staff are cheerful, helpful and efficient. The pool even enticed this usually reluctant swimmer. It's a bonus having the "Cafe" and "Scampi Restaurant" in the same complex plus the delightful, Scandinavian shop "for Good". Another real treat is the highly regarded restaurant "TheStunnedMullet" a few metres up the road. Some handy shops are only a short walk away as well. I can't imagine anywhere better to stay in Port Macquarie. Only one problem - the bedroom blinds clatter when the sliding doors are open - curtains would solve this annoyance.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with Ocean Views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your amazing review!! It's great that you loved you view and location.

We're pleased to hear you had the chance to enjoy the pool and the onsite cafe and restaurant. We are also very lucky to be so close to The Stunned Mullet Restaurant - a top spot for a special meal.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Forth floor apartment with beautiful balcony staring at the ocean- magnificent.

Cafe's down stairs sell horrific coffee but the food on the strip was quite good albeit expensive.

Will return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottdamion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your great review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the view and the location and the nearby restaurants. Sorry to hear the coffee wasn't to your liking.

Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our first visit to the Observatory and was a great experience, we had an Ocean View apartment for three days and it is a very short walk to town for shopping etc. and just around the corner is a great deal for buffet meals at the bowling club and below for other meals and drinks, the staff are very obliging and pleasant.
The apartment was very clean and well maintained.
The only minor downside is there is only one lift in each tower which can make for a long wait at times but we were on holiday so this wasn,t a major problem for us.

Room Tip: Try for a high ocean apartment they have less traffic noise
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NswOldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent 2 nights there and it was very enjoyable. I was staying in one of the rooms facing the ocean. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. They have a swimming pool (about 1.2 metre deep) and a sauna.
The room was on the smaller side but apart from that it was all good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceh_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you were able to enjoy the onsite facilities and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. You stayed in an ocean view hotel room which is ideal for 1-2 night stays. We also have self-contained apartments which are very spacious and are fully-self contained if you are interested in a larger apartment.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Port Macquarie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had the special and a wonderful two bedroom apartment on 6th floor for bargain price. Very spacious with folding glass doors to balcony. Everything you need with great takeaway breakfasts and meals from the cafe and restaurant downstairs. Helpful staff and location, location, location. We loved the Port and the Boardwalk is spectacular.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased to hear that you loved the location and the view from your apartment and that you also enjoyed the Milkbar cafe and Scampis seafood bar and grill on site.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Port.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. Booked a garden room as all the ocean facing were gone. For the 4 of us it was great. Plenty of space a nice kitchen for a quick breakfast to start the day and very clean.

Short walk to Town beach and easy stroll to the restaurants and shops. Simple check in and secure parking make this convenient and worth it if you need the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay again at The Observatory. We're pleased you and your family enjoyed the spaciousness of your garden apartment. If you would like an ocean view apartment next time please try to book ahead before they book out.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
1.3 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $139 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Otel, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing